2021 年:藻类年,以及 22 年的去向?

  海洋农业 2022 欧盟

H祝大家新年快乐。 我们 Algae Planet 希望您进入新的一年,身体健康,繁荣昌盛。 很明显,2021 年是藻类产业建设的关键时期。 在今天的主要专题中,我们回顾了一些反映行业增长和新领域被打破的故事。 在过去的十二个月里,有许多令人兴奋的发展,从将海藻变成塑料,到使用海藻缓解甲烷,再到挖掘海藻的医疗益处,再到海藻养殖进入快速增长和发展时期。 是的,海藻是 2021 年藻类中的重头戏,而且在整个 2022 年的新闻中似乎也不会如此。

但这并不是唯一的故事。 其他引起注意的创新包括越来越多地尝试使用藻类来模仿流行食物的质地和风味。 业内一些最聪明的人正在继续研究使藻类燃料可行。 创新的藻类纺织品、可穿戴设备和时尚材料正在加速发展。 甚至还推广了针对 Covid 的藻类疗法。

2021年是行业持续多元化、发现更多应用、支持更多业态、展现更多创业愿景的一年。 我们都知道藻类可以并且正在为地球的健康和福祉做出重要贡献。 正是藻类的敬业先驱使这成为现实,我们 Algae Planet 向您致敬。

请欣赏 2021 年的这些亮点,以及对来年的提示:
 

在能源

科罗拉多州立大学动力站

CSU Powerhouse 池塘中生长的藻类。

  • 美国能源部拨款 61.4 万美元,用于开发生产低成本、低碳生物燃料的技术,为飞机和船舶等现有技术难以实现电气化的重型车辆提供动力。 -阅读更多
  • 科罗拉多州立大学的一个工程师和生物学家团队正在努力设计藻类菌株并改进种植操作,从而将生物量产量提高 20%。 -阅读更多
  • 研究人员开发了一种方法来分析不同藻类的特性,以选择最好的藻类作为能源。 它考虑了生物、经济和环境方面。 -阅读更多
  • 中国科学家创造了一种“基因组手术刀”,可以快速、创造性地将微藻基因组修剪为“最小基因组”,作为合成生物学家的“底盘”菌株。 然后他们定制生物分子的生产,如生物燃料或生物塑料。 -阅读更多
  • 海洋生物实验室的第一个海藻养殖场安装在波多黎各和美国热带水域。 它旨在进一步设计和开发热带海藻近海养殖系统,以支持生物燃料生物质的大规模生产。 -阅读更多
  • 日本的两个商业航班使用了一种含有由微藻制成的可再生喷气燃料的混合物。 这是首次将新的 ASTM D7566 附件 7 标准用于商用喷气发动机燃料。 -阅读更多

在食品和饲料

苏菲的生物营养素

苏菲生物营养素联合创始人兼首席执行官 Eugene Wang

  • 在塔斯马尼亚,海藻生产商 Sea Forest 宣称自己是世界上第一家芦笋海藻饲料补充剂的商业生产商。 作为澳大利亚和新西兰水域的特有种,芦笋作为牲畜甲烷减排的一个关键组成部分正在迅速流行。 -阅读更多
  • 总部位于新西兰的 CH4 Aotearoa 宣布扩大其研发业务,因为它利用其芦笋种植专业知识来解决甲烷排放问题。 他们计划在四个沿海地区建设至少六个芦笋试点农场。 -阅读更多
  • 澳大利亚弗林德斯大学海洋生物产品开发中心 (CMBD) 的研究人员正在响应消费者日益增长的兴趣,他们寻求更健康、更环保、可持续和合乎道德的动物蛋白替代品。 -阅读更多
  • 位于檀香山的可持续藻类成分开发公司 Kuehnle Agrosystems 宣布授予其通过暗发酵从衣藻中生产藻类蛋白质和其他产品的专利。 -阅读更多
  • 可持续食品生产技术公司 Sophie's Bionutrients 宣布,它已开发出世界上第一种基于微藻的牛奶,乳糖不耐症患者可安全食用。 其他食品很快跟进。 -阅读更多
  • 剑桥大学的研究人员表示,全球营养不良可以通过种植螺旋藻、小球藻、家蝇等昆虫幼虫、真菌蛋白(来自真菌的蛋白质)和海藻等大型藻类等食物来根除。 -阅读更多

在健康与营养

皮亚·温伯格博士和戈登·华莱士

Venus Shell Systems 创始人兼董事 Pia Winberg 博士与 ACES 主任 Gordon Wallace 教授。

  • 史密森尼国家自然历史博物馆的一名研究人员观察到,在佛罗里达州南部的一种蓝藻物种中发现的一种化合物 gatorbulin-1 (GB1) 可能具有显着的抗癌益处。 -阅读更多
  • Lumen Bioscience 发表了描述 LMN-201 的研究,这是一种用于预防艰难梭菌感染 (CDI) 的研究性口服生物鸡尾酒。 LMN-201 结合了四种治疗性蛋白质——在可食用微生物螺旋藻中制造和交付。 -阅读更多
  • 3-D 生物打印藻类可以用作工程血管化组织中人体细胞的可持续氧气来源。 哈佛医学院和布莱根妇女医院的研究人员在《物质》杂志上报道了这一点。 -阅读更多
  • 来自澳大利亚 ARC 电子材料科学卓越中心和卧龙岗大学的科学家与他们的海藻生物墨水合作者维纳斯壳牌系统公司合作,发现绿藻类 ulvan 有助于人类伤口愈合。 -阅读更多
  • 意大利的一组研究人员研究了大量微藻衍生化合物的存在,这些化合物表明富含微藻的饮食具有潜在的抗病毒益处。 -阅读更多
  • 昆士兰大学的一个团队正在利用绿藻吸收太阳能和二氧化碳的天然能力来生产可能有助于解决全球健康和环境挑战的分子。 -阅读更多

在行业

质量明拉夫

Qualitas 在德克萨斯州、新墨西哥州和墨西哥经营藻类设施。

  • Qualitas Health 在由食品科技风险投资家 PeakBridge 领投的一轮融资中筹集了 10 万美元,投资后 Qualitas 的公司估值为 73 万美元。 -阅读更多
  • Algalif Iceland 宣布了一项 30 万美元的扩建计划,用于其在冰岛的可持续虾青素生产设施,将虾青素的年产量从 1.500 公斤增加到 5.000 公斤。 -阅读更多
  • ABS 和 AlgalBBB 在 2021 年保持虚拟。当然。 -阅读更多
  • Viridos Inc. 前身为 Synthetic Genomics,与埃克森美孚研究与工程公司签署了一项联合开发协议,将 Viridos 的低碳强度生物燃料推向商业水平。 -阅读更多
  • 欧洲海藻联盟成立,共有 30 个成员,跨越海藻价值链的 10 多个欧洲国家。 该联盟打算推动可持续海洋经济的发展。 -阅读更多
  • 英国海藻养殖业已获得苏格兰海洋科学协会 (SAMS) 的资助,为该行业开展培训和业务发展。 -阅读更多

研究中

生物反应器 ATMOS 火星上的生命

生物反应器 ATMOS(火星有机系统大气测试仪)。

  • 一项研究表明,用红海藻补充肉牛的饮食可以在不影响肉质的情况下将甲烷排放量减少一半以上。 其他研究表明缓解程度要高得多。 -阅读更多
  • 科学家们首次表明,鱼腥藻蓝藻可以仅使用当地的气体、水和其他营养物质在低压下生长,使其成为支持火星生命的良好候选者。 -阅读更多
  • Galdieria 是一种最初从火山泉中分离出来的极端微生物,可能会成为一种更便宜、更容易种植、甚至比螺旋藻更有营养的超级食物。 -阅读更多
  • 印度国家海洋技术研究所的科学家使用海藻和聚乙二醇 (PEG)-3000 开发了一种生物塑料薄膜。 他们认为这可能会对限制使用不可生物降解塑料产生巨大影响。 -阅读更多
  • 通过将产油微藻的“底盘”与来自 Cuphea 植物的基因相结合,科学家们将藻类变成了微生物“细胞工厂”,可以生产具有不同特性的各种油。 -阅读更多
  • 特拉维夫大学的研究人员发现,从可食用海藻 ulva(又名海生菜)中提取的 ulvan 可以防止细胞感染冠状病毒。 -阅读更多

在环境中

Posidonia Oceanica 海草

根据一项新的研究,Posidonia Oceanica 海草可以去除污染海洋的塑料材料。 信用:维基百科

  • 在澳大利亚国家科学机构 CSIRO 进行的测试中,给奶牛喂食仅包含 0.2% 红海藻的饮食,可将甲烷产量降低 98%。 -阅读更多
  • 一项研究表明,Posidonia Oceanica seagrass 是一种在海洋环境中具有重要生态作用的地方性海洋植物(一种产生种子的植物),可以去除留在海中的塑料材料。 -阅读更多
  • 为了增加土壤中自然产生的肥料,MyLand 的土壤即服务从农场采集土壤样本,提取本地微藻,在现场繁殖,然后将大量藻类重新引入田间。 结果表明作物产量大大增加。 -阅读更多
  • Sway 是一家位于加州伯克利的材料公司,生产基于海藻的、可家庭堆肥的一次性塑料包装替代品,已宣布其首轮融资为 2.5 万美元。 -阅读更多
  • 英国跨国包装企业 DS Smith 正在探索如何将海藻纤维用作纸张和包装产品的原材料。 这项研究是在客户对可持续产品的需求不断增加的情况下进行的。 -阅读更多
  • Notpla 的使命是通过使用海藻为塑料提供可持续的替代品,从而使包装消失。 他们新的 10 万英镑 A 轮融资将使这家伦敦初创公司能够提高其制造能力。 -阅读更多

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

藻类妇女

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

2021: The Year in Algae, and Where to in ’22?

  Algae Europe December 2022

Happy New Year to you all. We at Algae Planet hope you are entering a new year of good health and prosperity. It’s clear that 2021 was a critical time in the building of the algae industry. In today’s main feature, we look back at some of the stories that reflect the industry’s growth and areas where new ground has been broken. There were many exciting developments over the past twelve months, from turning seaweed into plastic, to using seaweed for methane mitigation, to mining seaweed’s medical benefits, to seaweed farming moving into a rapid growth and development period. Yes, seaweed was the big story in algae in 2021, and it doesn’t look like it will be any less so in the news throughout 2022.

But it wasn’t the only story. Other innovations that drew attention included the growing attempts to imitate the textures and flavors of popular foods using algae. There was continuing research into making algal fuels viable by some of the industry’s brightest minds. Innovative algal-based textiles, wearables, and fashion materials are speeding up their development. Even algal cures for Covid were being promoted.

2021 was a year that the industry continued to diversify, find more applications, support more business types, and demonstrate more entrepreneurial vision. We all know that algae can, and is, making critical contributions to the health and wellbeing of the planet. It is the dedicated pioneers of algae that are making this a reality and we at Algae Planet salute you.

Please enjoy these highlights from the year 2021, and a hint at the year to come:
 

In Energy

CSU Powerhouse

Algae growing in ponds at the CSU Powerhouse.

  • The U.S. Department of Energy granted $61.4 million for developing technologies that produce low-cost, low-carbon biofuels to power heavy-duty vehicles that are difficult to electrify with current technologies, including airplanes and ships. —read more
  • A team of Colorado State University engineers and biologists is working to engineer algal strains and improve cultivation operations that will increase biomass production by 20 percent. —read more
  • Researchers developed a methodology to analyze the properties of different algal species to select the best one for use as an energy source. It takes into account biological, economic, and environmental aspects. —read more
  • Scientists in China created a “genome scalpel” that trims microalgal genomes rapidly and creatively to a “minimal genome” as a “chassis” strain for synthetic biologists. They then customize production of biomolecules such as biofuels or bioplastics. —read more
  • The first seaweed farm by the Marine Biological Laboratory was installed in Puerto Rico and U.S. tropical waters. It is intended to further the design and development of a system for offshore cultivation of tropical seaweeds to support large-scale production of biomass for biofuels. —read more
  • Two commercial flights in Japan used a blend containing renewable jet fuel created from microalgae. It was the first use of the new ASTM D7566 Annex 7 standard for fuel used in commercial jet engines. —read more

In Food & Feed

Sophie’s Bionutrients

Eugene Wang, Co-founder & CEO of Sophie’s Bionutrients

  • In Tasmania, seaweed producer Sea Forest is billing itself as the world’s first commercial producer of Asparagopsis seaweed feed supplements. Endemic to Australian and New Zealand waters, Asparagopsis’ popularity is exploding as a key component of livestock methane mitigation. —read more
  • New Zealand-based CH4 Aotearoa announced a scaling up of its R&D operations, as it leverages its Asparagopsis cultivation expertise to attack methane emissions. They plan to construct at least six Asparagopsis pilot farms in four coastal locations. —read more
  • Researchers at Flinders University’s Centre for Marine Bioproducts Development (CMBD) in Australia are responding to growing interest from consumers looking for healthier, more environmentally friendly, sustainable and ethical alternatives to animal protein. —read more
  • Kuehnle Agrosystems, a sustainable algae ingredients development company in Honolulu, announced the allowance of its patent for producing algal proteins and other products from Chlamydomonas by dark fermentation. —read more
  • Sophie’s Bionutrients, a sustainable food production technology company, announced that it has developed the world’s first-ever microalgae-based milk, safe for consumption for people with lactose-intolerance. Other food items soon followed. —read more
  • Researchers at the University of Cambridge say that global malnutrition could be eradicated by farming foods such as spirulina, chlorella, insect larvae such as the house fly, mycoprotein (protein derived from fungi), and macroalgae such as sugar kelp. —read more

In Health & Nutrition

Dr. Pia Winberg and Gordon Wallace

Venus Shell Systems Founder and Director Dr. Pia Winberg with ACES Director Professor Gordon Wallace.

  • A researcher from the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, observed that a compound – gatorbulin-1 (GB1) – found in a cyanobacteria species in south Florida, may have significant anti-cancer benefits. —read more
  • Lumen Bioscience published research describing LMN-201, an investigational orally delivered biologic cocktail to prevent C. difficile infection (CDI). LMN-201 combines four therapeutic proteins – manufactured and delivered in the edible microorganism spirulina. —read more
  • 3-D bioprinted algae can be harnessed as a sustainable source of oxygen for human cells in engineered vascularized tissues. This was reported by researchers from Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women’s Hospital in the journal Matter. —read more
  • Scientists from Australia’s ARC Center of Excellence for Electromaterial Science and the University of Wollongong, in partnership with their seaweed bioinks collaborators Venus Shell Systems, have discovered that the green algal species ulvan aids wound healing in humans. —read more
  • A group of researchers in Italy studied the presence of a large number of microalgal-derived compounds that suggest the potential antiviral benefits of a diet enriched with microalgae. —read more
  • A team at the University of Queensland is harnessing the natural ability of green algae to absorb solar energy and carbon dioxide to produce molecules that may help to cure some of the globe’s health and environmental challenges. —read more

In the Industry

Qualitas Minrav

Qualitas operates algae facilities in Texas, New Mexico and Mexico.

  • Qualitas Health raised $10 million in a financing round led by food-tech venture capitalist PeakBridge, giving Qualitas a company valuation of $73 million, after the investment. —read more
  • Algalif Iceland announced a $30 million expansion plan for its sustainable astaxanthin production facilities in Iceland, tripling production from over 1.500 kg to 5.000 kg of astaxanthin annually. —read more
  • ABS and AlgalBBB stayed virtual in 2021. Of course. —read more
  • Viridos Inc., previously Synthetic Genomics, signed a joint development agreement with ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company to bring Viridos’ low-carbon intensity biofuels toward commercial levels. —read more
  • The Seaweed for Europe Coalition launched with 30 members, spanning 10+ European countries, across the seaweed value chain. The Coalition intends to advance the development of a sustainable ocean economy. —read more
  • The UK seaweed farming industry has received funding from the Scottish Association for Marine Science (SAMS) to develop training and business development for the sector. —read more

In Research

Bioreactor ATMOS Life on Mars

Bioreactor ATMOS (Atmosphere Tester for Mars-bound Organic Systems).

  • Supplementing the diet of beef cattle with red seaweed can more than halve methane emissions without compromising meat quality, according to a study. Other studies show much higher levels of mitigation. —read more
  • Scientists showed for the first time that Anabaena cyanobacteria can be grown with only local gases, water, and other nutrients and at low pressure, making it a good candidate to support life on Mars. —read more
  • Galdieria, an extremophile microalga originally isolated from volcanic springs, may become a superfood that’s cheaper and easier to grow, and even more nutritious than spirulina. —read more
  • Scientists at India’s National Institute of Ocean Technology developed a bioplastic film using marine seaweed and polyethylene glycol (PEG)-3000. They feel this could have a huge impact on limiting the use of non-biodegradable plastics. —read more
  • By combining the “chassis” of an oil-producing microalgae with genes from a Cuphea plant, scientists turned the algae into a microbial “cell factory” that can produce various oils with different properties. —read more
  • Researchers at Tel Aviv University have found that ulvan, an extract from the edible marine algae ulva (AKA Sea Lettuce) prevents cells from being infected with the Corona virus. —read more

In the Environment

Posidonia oceanica seagrass

Posidonia oceanica seagrass can remove plastic materials that have been polluting the sea, according to a new study. Credit: Wikipedia

  • In tests performed at Australia’s national science agency CSIRO, feeding cows a diet that included just 0.2% red seaweed reduced methane production by 98%. —read more
  • Posidonia oceanica seagrass — an endemic marine phanerogam (a seed-producing plant) with an important ecological role in the marine environment — can remove plastic materials that have been left in the sea, according to a study. —read more
  • In an effort to increase the naturally occuring fertilizer in soils, MyLand’s Soil-as-a-Service takes soil samples from a farm, extracts native microalgae, reproduces those on-site, and then reintroduces the algae back into the field in mass quantities. Results reveal greatly increased crop yield. —read more
  • Sway, the Berkeley, CA-based materials company producing seaweed-based, home-compostable replacements for single-use plastic packaging, has announced its initial funding round of $2.5 million. —read more
  • DS Smith, a British multinational packaging business, is exploring how seaweed fibers can be used as a raw material in paper and packaging products. This research comes amid increasing demand for sustainable goods from customers. —read more
  • Notpla’s mission is to make packaging disappear by providing a sustainable alternative to plastic using seaweed. Their new £10 million Series A financing round will enable the London startup to grow its manufacturing capacity. —read more

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

SeagricultureAPAC
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide