ABO 宣布 2021 年藻类行业大奖

海藻网   藻类妇女
T藻类生物质组织 (ABO) 最近在 ABO 年度大会期间表彰了 2021 年藻类行业奖的获奖者 藻类生物质峰会. 执行董事 Rebecca White 博士宣布了今年杰出的领导者、公司和创新成果,所有这些都处于为藻类衍生的可再生和可持续产品开发新技术和商业市场的最前沿。

今年,ABO 增加了一个额外的奖项——Pinnacle 奖,以表彰在推动藻类行业发展的超乎职责范围内的卓越奉献和服务。 为了进一步表彰首届获奖者的服务,该奖项的全称被选为 Barb Scheveel Pinnacle 奖。 它将作为 ABO 授予个人或组织的最高荣誉授予未来的获奖者。

藻类行业奖表彰以下领域的卓越成就,2021 年的获奖者是:


巅峰奖

Barb Scheveel,行政协调员, ABO
Barb 很简单,是 ABO 的核心和灵魂。 她见证、记录并分享了这个组织和我们行业从一开始的故事。 ABO 最初主要专注于生物燃料,后来发展到包括所有藻类和所有产品,支持各个部门的商业化。 Barb 拥有大量的机构知识和记忆,她几乎可以用它们来解决任何问题。 成员将 Barb 描述为 ABO 的支柱、巢母、关键、骨干,最令人痛心的是,它是 ABO 的灵魂。 用 John Benemann 的话来说,“我可以说没有她,我们就不会在这里,很可能根本不会。”


突破性产品

藻类-C, API平台
Algae-C 开发了一个独特的平台,可以使用“设计师藻类”为制药、营养保健品和美容行业生产重要分子。 该创新允许以低成本和环境可持续的方式生产这些分子或成分。 此外,这项创新将使所有藻类行业受益,因为它是一种平台技术,通过合作伙伴关系将为行业带来更多高价值的产品和收入。


年度产品奖

PhycoTerra® ST(种子处理)来自 海利亚科
PhycoTerra® 是 Heliae® Agriculture 微藻产品系列的一部分,该产品系列已应用于全球超过一百万英亩的农田。 这种全球影响不仅在土壤健康和再生农业实践方面取得了突破,而且有助于将微藻带到与行业领导者和政策决策者讨论碳和气候变化的前沿。


中期职业卓越奖

扎卡里·约翰逊教授, 杜克大学
Johnson 博士的团队广泛研究海洋微生物的丰度、多样性和活性,他的研究重点是海洋蓝藻原绿球藻。 该菌株是公海中最丰富的浮游植物,也是一种极好的海洋微生物模型,约翰逊博士的小组在杜克大学尼古拉斯环境学院的海洋实验室开展工作。
 


无名英雄奖

Max Gangestad,首席运营官, 格温科技
Max 从一开始就在 Gross-Wen Technologies 工作,并将他的职业生涯奉献给了公司的成功。 他在困难时期和情况下的指导是许多项目的关键,如果没有他,GWT 不会有今天。 Max 的同事说他配得上无名英雄奖,因为他是让团队团结在一起的粘合剂。 如果不是他对 GWT 的奉献和在困难情况下的毅力,GWT 今天会大不相同。 GWT 的成功显着提高了藻类在废水处理中的地位,这对整个行业来说都是成功的。


对行业的杰出贡献

Glenn Jensen,运营副总裁, Cyanotech公司
Glenn Jensen 自 1984 年成为位于夏威夷大岛科纳海岸的 Cyanotech Corporation 的第三名员工以来,一直在螺旋藻的商业化生产方面处于领先地位。 作为一名工程师和企业家,Glenn 作为制造和运营主管的职业生涯有助于 Cyanotech 成为螺旋藻和雨生红球藻虾青素生产领域的世界领导者。


终身成就奖

Ami Ben-Amotz 博士,CSO NBT有限公司, 以色列, 名誉教授
1981 年,Ami Ben-Amotz 成为 Nature Beta Technologies Ltd (NBT) 的创始人兼首席科学家,这是位于以色列埃拉特的杜氏杜氏菌商业工厂。 2012 年,他与以色列电力公司联合成立了 Seambiotic Ltd,利用脱硫燃煤烟气和涡轮冷却海水来种植微绿藻。 今天,Ami Ben-Amotz 是以色列海洋学和湖沼研究所以及以色列韦茨曼科学研究所的名誉教授; 以色列NBT首席科学家; 日本日建总本社首席科学家。


终身成就奖

Amha Belay 博士, Algae4All 首席执行官
Belay 博士担任 Earthrise Nutritionals 的高级副总裁兼首席技术官超过 25 年,40 多年来一直从事用于食品、饲料和营养品的户外螺旋藻生物质生产。 在 Earthrise,他负责监督螺旋藻生产的所有科学、技术和监管方面。 他出版了许多出版物,包括一本关于螺旋藻的权威书籍,并被认为是微藻及其用途方面的杰出全球专家。 2014 年,他获得了国际应用藻类学会颁发的杰出应用藻类学家奖,以表彰他在应用藻类学(藻类科学)领域做出的重大且持续的杰出贡献。


服务领导奖

Charles J. O'Kelly 博士,应用研究总监, 氰技术
O'Kelly 博士获得了博士学位。 华盛顿大学植物学博士。 他在夏威夷的工作始于马诺阿夏威夷大学,在那里他管理了 1500 株蓝藻、异养细菌和藻类的集合。 他的专业知识扩展到藻类菌株的分离和表征,以及有害藻华。 在 2015 年加入 Cyanotech Corporation 之前,他曾担任 Cellana LLC 的研究总监,在那里他创立了研发部门,并支持其支持 Cyanotech 螺旋藻和雨生红球藻微藻生产各个方面的使命。


藻类冠军

马克·艾伦,总裁, 加速器
Mark Allen 是 ABO 的创始成员之一,曾两次担任该组织的董事会主席。 在过去的 15 年里,马克一直是藻类行业最热情、最有效的倡导者之一。 他是 ABO 成立和启动的关键参与者,并在推进政策努力和帮助藻类行业获得数百万美元的资金方面发挥了重要作用。 马克帮助 ABO 度过了过渡时期,在一年多没有执行董事的情况下介入领导该组织。 他为该组织提供了稳定和一致的领导,并在政策领域担任行业的热情代表。


 

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 editorial@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

广告
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

ABO Announces 2021 Algae Industry Awards

algaeurope.org   Women of Algae
The Algae Biomass Organization (ABO) recognized the winners of the 2021 Algae Industry Awards recently, during ABO’s Annual Algae Biomass Summit. Executive Director, Dr. Rebecca White, made the announcement of this year’s outstanding leaders, companies, and innovations all at the forefront of efforts to develop new technologies and commercial markets for renewable and sustainable products derived from algae.

This year, ABO added an additional award, the Pinnacle Award, to recognize exceptional dedication and service, beyond the call of duty, to advance the algae industry. In further recognition of the inaugural winner’s service, the full title of this award was chosen going forward as the Barb Scheveel Pinnacle Award. It will be given to future recipients as the highest honor the ABO bestows on an individual or organization.

The Algae Industry Awards recognize excellence in the following areas and the 2021 winners are:


Pinnacle Award

Barb Scheveel, Administrative Coordinator, ABO
Barb is quite simply, the heart and soul of the ABO. She witnessed, recorded, and shared the story of this organization and our industry from its beginnings. Originally focused primarily on biofuels, ABO has blossomed to include all algae and all products, supporting commercialization across the various sectors. Barb has an incredible amount of institutional knowledge and memory, which she uses to solve virtually any problem. Members describe Barb as the pillar, den mother, linchpin, backbone, and most poignantly, the soul of the ABO. In the words of John Benemann, “I can say that without her, we would not be here, most likely not be at all.”


Breakthrough Product

Algae-C, API platform
Algae-C has developed a unique platform to produce important molecules for the pharmaceutical, nutraceutical and beauty industry using “designer algae.” The innovation allows for production of these molecules or ingredients at a low cost and in an environmentally sustainable manner. Additionally, this innovation will benefit all the algae industry as it is a platform technology that through partnerships will bring more high value products and revenue to the industry.


Product of the Year Award

PhycoTerra® ST (Seed Treatment) from Heliae
PhycoTerra® is part of Heliae® Agriculture’s microalgal product family that has been applied to over a million acres of farmland worldwide. This global impact is not only making a breakthrough for soil health and regenerative agricultural practices but helping bring microalgae to the forefront of the carbon and climate change discussions with industry leaders and policy decision makers.


Mid-Career Excellence Award

Zackary Johnson, Professor, Duke University
Dr. Johnson’s group broadly studies the abundance, diversity and activity of marine microbes, and his research focuses on the marine cyanobacteria Prochlorococcus. This strain is the most abundant phytoplankton in the open oceans and an excellent model marine microbe, Dr. Johnson’s group operates at the Marine Laboratory as part of the Nicholas School of the Environment, at Duke University.
 


Unsung Hero Award

Max Gangestad, Chief Operating Officer, Gross-Wen Technologies
Max has been with Gross-Wen Technologies from the beginning and has dedicated his professional career to its success. His guidance during difficult times and situations has been key to many projects, and GWT would not be where it is today if it were not for him. Max’s associates say he deserves the unsung hero award because he is the glue that keeps the team all together. If it were not for his dedication to GWT and perseverance through difficult situations, GWT would be very different today.  The success of GWT has raised the profile of algae in wastewater treatment significantly, and that is a success for the industry overall.


Outstanding Contributions to the Industry

Glenn Jensen, VP of Operations, Cyanotech Corporation
Glenn Jensen has been pioneering the commercial production of spirulina since 1984 when he became employee number three for Cyanotech Corporation on the Kona Coast of the Big Island of Hawaii. With the mind of an engineer and entrepreneur, Glenn’s professional career as an executive in Manufacturing and Operations has contributed to Cyanotech’s success as a world leader in the production not only of spirulina but of astaxanthin from Haematococcus pluvialis.


Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Ami Ben-Amotz, CSO of NBT Ltd., Israel, and Emeritus Professor
In 1981, Ami Ben-Amotz became the Founder and Chief Scientist of Nature Beta Technologies Ltd, (NBT), the commercial Dunaliella plant in Eilat, Israel. In 2012, he founded Seambiotic Ltd, a joint collaboration with the Israeli Electric Company using de-sulfuring coal burning flue gas and turbine cooling seawater to grow Nannochloropsis. Today, Ami Ben-Amotz is Emeritus professor of the Israel Oceanographic and Limnological Research Institute, and the Weitzman Institute of Science, Israel; Chief Scientist of NBT, Israel; and Chief Scientist of Nikken Sohonsha Co., Japan.


Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Amha Belay, CEO, Algae4All
Dr. Belay was Sr. Vice President and Chief Technology Officer of Earthrise Nutritionals for over 25 years and has been engaged in outdoor spirulina biomass production for food, feed, and nutraceuticals for over 40 years. At Earthrise, he oversaw all scientific, technical, and regulatory aspects of spirulina production. He has numerous publications, including an authoritative book on spirulina, and is considered a pre-eminent global expert in microalgae and its uses. In 2014, he received the Distinguished Applied Phycologist Award from the International Society for Applied Phycology, for his significant and continued and outstanding contribution to the field of applied phycology (the science of algae).


Leadership Through Service Award

Dr. Charles J. O’Kelly, Director of Applied Research, Cyanotech
Dr. O’Kelly received his Ph.D. in Botany at the University of Washington. His work in Hawaii began at the University of Hawaii, Manoa where he managed a 1500-strain collection of cyanobacteria, heterotrophic bacteria, and algae. His expertise extended into algal strain isolation and characterization, as well as harmful algal blooms. He served as the Director of Research for Cellana LLC before joining Cyanotech Corporation in 2015 where he founded the R&D Department and has championed its mission to support all aspects of Cyanotech’s spirulina and Haematococcus pluvialis microalgae production.


Champion of Algae Award

Mark Allen, President, Accelergy
Mark Allen is one of the founding members of ABO and has served twice as Board Chair for the organization. Over the past 15 years, Mark has been one of the most passionate and effective advocates for the algae industry. He was a key player in the founding and startup of the ABO, as well as playing an instrumental role in advancing policy efforts and helping to secure millions of dollars for the algae industry. Mark helped ABO through a time of transition, stepping in to lead the organization in the absence of an Executive Director for more than a year. He provided steady and consistent leadership for the organization, as well as serving as an enthusiastic representative of the industry in policy arenas.


 

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Advertisement
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board

Archives