L'informatique alimentée par les algues à l'Université de Cambridge

  Algues Europe Décembre 2022

Rchercheurs au Université de Cambridge (Cambridge) ont utilisé une espèce répandue d'algues bleu-vert pour alimenter un microprocesseur en continu pendant un an, jusqu'à présent, en n'utilisant que la lumière ambiante et l'eau. Leur système a le potentiel d'être un moyen fiable et renouvelable d'alimenter de petits appareils.

De taille comparable à une pile AA, le système contient des Synéchocyste algue qui récolte naturellement l'énergie du soleil grâce à la photosynthèse. Le petit courant électrique généré interagit ensuite avec une électrode en aluminium et est utilisé pour alimenter un microprocesseur.

"La croissance de l'Internet des objets nécessite une quantité croissante d'énergie, et nous pensons que cela devra provenir de systèmes capables de générer de l'énergie, plutôt que de simplement la stocker, comme des batteries", a déclaré le professeur Christopher Howe, co-auteur principal de l'article.

Le travail était une collaboration entre Cambridge et Arm, une société leader dans la conception de microprocesseurs. Arm Research a développé la puce de test ultra-efficace Arm Cortex M0+, construit la carte et mis en place l'interface cloud de collecte de données présentée dans les expériences. La recherche a été financée par le National Biofilms Innovation Centre.

Tous les droits sont réservés. Autorisation requise pour réimprimer les articles dans leur intégralité. Doit inclure une déclaration de copyright et des hyperliens en direct. Contacter david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepte les manuscrits non sollicités pour examen et n'assume aucune responsabilité quant à la validité des affirmations formulées dans l'éditorial soumis.

Agriculture marineAPAC
Annonce Algametrics

S'abonner

Site d'emploi de l'industrie des algues
5ème Algae World EU

Guide du débutant

Algae-Powered Computing at University of Cambridge

  Algae Europe December 2022

Researchers at the University of Cambridge (Cambridge) have used a widespread species of blue-green algae to power a microprocessor continuously for a year, so far, using nothing but ambient light and water. Their system has potential as a reliable and renewable way to power small devices.

Comparable in size to an AA battery, the system contains non-toxic Synechocystis algae which naturally harvests energy from the sun through photosynthesis. The tiny electrical current generated then interacts with an aluminum electrode and is used to power a microprocessor.

“The growing Internet of Things needs an increasing amount of power, and we think this will have to come from systems that can generate energy, rather than simply store it, like batteries,” said Professor Christopher Howe, joint senior author of the paper.

The work was a collaboration between Cambridge and Arm, a company leading the design of microprocessors. Arm Research developed the ultra-efficient Arm Cortex M0+ test chip, built the board, and set up the data-collection cloud interface presented in the experiments. The research was funded by the National Biofilms Innovation Centre.

We’re All Ears!

We’d love to hear how Algae Planet can be most valuable to you. Would you be kind enough to take this one-minute (we really mean it) survey to help us improve your reader experience? Not to worry, it’s for our eyes only and we will fiercely protect any information that you provide. Thank you, we really value your time and appreciate your thoughts!

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2022
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide