Aquaculture Awards Announces Winners for 2022

  Algae Europe December 2022
Aquaculture Awards

Rhianna Rees, Seaweed Academy Coordinator for the Scottish Association for Marine Science (SAMS) was joint winner of the Rising Star category at the Aquaculture Awards.

The Aquaculture Awards announced their 2022 winners on May 4, 2022. Produced in Aviemore, Scotland, by Diversified Communications UK, these Awards celebrate projects, businesses and individuals making exceptional contributions to the global aquaculture community.

Judging this year’s entries were:

  • Alex Adrian, Aquaculture Operations Manager, Crown Estate Scotland
  • Jenny Hjul, Journalist and a former editor of Fish Farmer
  • Paul Macintyre, Director, Lloyd’s Register Quality Assurance
  • Ingrid Olesen, Senior scientist, Nofima AS
  • Nicki Holmyard, Communications specialist, Offshore Shellfish Ltd
  • David Little, Chair of Aquatic Resource Development & Deputy Director, Institute of Aquaculture, University of Stirling

Aquaculture Awards

The Aquaculture Awards winners announced on May 4, 2022.

 2022 Aquaculture Awards presented in the following categories:

Rising Star Winners: Finalists:
  • Andre Van, Kames Fish Farm
  • Rhianna Rees, SAMS Enterprise
  • Andrew Richardson, InnovaFeed
  • Connie Pattillo, Mowi Scotland
Collaboration Winner: Finalists:
  • Mowi Scotland, Brexit Working Group
  • Deep Branch, REACT-FIRST Project
  • Asian Institute of Technology (AIT), Curriculum Development for Sustainable Seafood and Nutrition Security (SSNS)
Innovation Winner: Finalists:
  • BMT, Decision Support System
  • Mowi Scotland, Mowi Academy
  • World Feeds Ltd, VAF Feed Blocks
Environmental Impact Winner: Finalists:
  • Fjord Maritime, Fjord Hybrid
  • Noushin Arfatahery and Professor Jens Rolff
  • Adam Rainsden, Organic Sea Harvest
Economic Sustainability Winner: Finalist:
  • Scottish Sea Farms
  • Mokshinika Shrimp Farms
Community Initiative Winner: Finalists:
  • The Scottish Salmon Company, Healthy Communities Community Charter
  • Himalayan Fish Farm & Aqua Tech
  • Mowi Scotland Ltd, Mowi Salmon Wagon
Shellfish Farmer of the Year Winner: Finalists:
  • Judith Vajk, Caledonian Oysters
  • Magne Cathrinus Hoem, Norgeskjell
  • Judith Brown, Isle of Skye Mussel Company Ltd
  • George Holmyard, Offshore Shellfish Ltd
Finfish Farmer of the Year Winner: Finalist:
  • Stephen Woods, Scottish Sea Farms
  • Robert Currie, The Scottish Salmon Company
Animal Welfare Winner: Finalists:
  • University of Stirling & Ace Aquatec
  • Benchmark Animal Health
  • The Scottish Salmon Company
Aquaculture Supplier of the Year Winner: Finalists:
  • Nutrition Analytical Service, University of Stirling
  • Ocean Kinetics
  • Underwater Contracting Ltd
Best Aquaculture Company Winner:
  • Kames Fish Farming
Judge’s Special Recognition Award Winner:
  • Pacific Ocean Culture
Unsung Hero Winner: Finalists:
  • Ian Keen-Smith, Cooke Aquaculture Scotland
  • Euan McArthur, Organic Sea Harvest
  • Paul Christian Ryan, Pacific Ocean Culture Pte Ltd
  • David Stewart, The Scottish Salmon Company
  • Ed Ley-Wilson, Aquascot
Outstanding Contribution to the Industry Winner: Finalists:
  • Jim Treasurer, FAI Farms
  • Nick Bradbury, BioMar
  • Stuart Cannon, Kames Fish Farm
  • Dan Phillips, Mowi Scotland

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Algametrics Ad


Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide