Brevel 开发更高质量的蛋白质

  藻类欧洲 2022 年 XNUMX 月
Brevel 联合创始人

Brevel 联合创始人:(从左到右)首席技术官 Ido Golan、首席执行官 Yonatan Golan 和首席运营官 Matan Golan。 Golan 家族受益于几代成功的工程师和企业家。 戈兰的祖父创立了几家制造公司,并选择了 Brevel 这个名字。

我们的星球有太多饥饿的消费者,但没有足够的健康蛋白质。

Brevel 正在努力解决我们世界上排名第一的营养挑战:
在颜色和味道中性的清洁和可持续的过程中生产更健康和负担得起的蛋白质。

马克·爱德华兹

Brevel 的技术将光养与异养相结合

Brevel 计划以与当今主要植物蛋白来源相当的成本水平提供可持续和健康的植物蛋白。 这家总部位于以色列的公司使用天然的非转基因藻类,以独特的技术生长,将光合作用与异养相结合,从而产生更高质量的可持续蛋白质。

现代 植物性食物 营养价值低得可怜。 由于“隐性饥饿”,许多大田作物提供的营养不到 40 年前的一半。 现代工业化农业创造了一个向下螺旋的错误链,通过新的转基因种子不断降低养分密度,这些种子产生高产但养分更少、种植更紧密和土壤破旧。

全球超过 60% 的卡路里消耗仅来自三种极低营养的食物; 小麦、大米和玉米(玉米)。 粮食缺乏营养密度和多样性导致了可怕的健康结果。 现代食品大多含有“空卡路里”,消费者每咬一口所获得的营养可以忽略不计。 营养密度低导致了严重的全球蛋白质缺乏以及肥胖和糖尿病的流行。 在今天的许多国家,每两个新生儿中就有一个会患上糖尿病,这通常会降低生活质量、成本和寿命。

新的 EAT Lancet 食品、地球、健康委员会 聘请了 30 多名世界一流的科学家来评估西方饮食。 他们对我们食品系统的严厉评估令人叹为观止:

西方饮食中热量高但营养缺乏的食物对人类健康造成了灾难性的损害。 与不安全的性行为、酒精、药物和烟草使用加起来相比,不健康的饮食对发病率和死亡率构成更大的风险。

自绿色革命开始以来,低营养食品已导致全球肥胖流行,其中 2.5 亿人超重,肥胖儿童增加十倍。 美国成年人的肥胖和超重率增加了一倍多,达到 75%。

Brevel 的诞生是为了应对这些营养挑战。

Brevel 这个名字在希伯来语中的意思是创新、独立、决心、勇气、真诚和积极。

戈兰三兄弟于 2016 年共同创立了 Brevel:

  • 首席运营官 Matan 是一位带来健康和营养科学的医学博士。
  • Ido,CTO,是一位藻类生物工程师,他发明了新的更高速度、更高质量和可扩展的培养方法。
  • 首席执行官 Yonatan 热衷于寻找解决方案,以可持续和合乎道德的方式为我们不断增长的人口创造更健康的营养。

Yonatan、Ido 和 Matan Golan 认识到全球食品行业需要更大规模、更高质量的蛋白质种植。 他们摒弃了陆地植物,专注于微型作物,特别是藻类,因为它有望提高生长速度和优越的营养。

Brevel 团队对藻类产业进行了调查,发现藻类养殖在质量和规模上都存在不足。 他们检查了所有常见的嫌疑人——大型跑道和室内外光生物反应器。 他们得出的结论是,在室外或室内池塘或封闭的生物反应器中生产的光合藻类劳动强度太大,容易受到污染,而且产量太低,成本太高。

他们考虑了一种纯粹的异养方法,但意识到在黑暗中生长藻类会减少太阳能驱动的光合作用所带来的大量营养元素。 他们无法找到一种现有的藻类生产模式,其速度、规模和质量都足以满足精明的跨国食品公司的营养需求。 因此,Yonatan Golan 和他的兄弟们创立了 Bevel 混养培养 战略。

藻类培养可能使用三种营养来源

自养
• 使用阳光、CO₂ 和 H₂O
• 增加碳水化合物

• 使用微小的有机分子
• 增加脂质、蛋白质和脂肪
混合营养
• 使用二氧化碳和有机碳
• 增加碳水化合物、蛋白质、脂质和脂肪

 

A自养藻类依靠光为光合作用提供生长能量。 使用发酵罐在黑暗中进行异养培养。 异养使用糖等有机分子作为能量。 阳光酶, 购买者 corbion, 通过一套发酵工艺开创了异养藻类生产行业 ().

几十年来,科学家和公司一直在使用混合营养栽培,但大多数都未能打破规模壁垒。 混合营养法已成功用于水处理。 混合营养策略也被应用于 废水修复 减少温室气体排放,并以大大降低成本和减少碳足迹来回收养分。

混合营养培养以光和有机物作为能源来生长藻类,并使用二氧化碳和有机碳作为碳源。 一些藻类可以进行光合作用,也可以获取外源有机养分。 混合营养优势允许细胞在没有光合作用的情况下茁壮成长,例如在黑暗中。

Brevel 的混合营养方法受益于两种生长策略的最佳属性:自养的高营养负荷和发酵的快速生长和效率。 该组合策略还可以实现高可靠性和营养质量。

第 2 部分续

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

海洋农业亚太地区
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会
第五届藻类世界欧盟

初学者指南

Brevel Developing Higher Quality Proteins

  Algae Europe December 2022
Brevel co-founders

Brevel co-founders: (L to R) Ido Golan, CTO,Yonatan Golan, CEO, and Matan Golan, COO. The Golan family benefits from several generations of successful engineers and entrepreneurs. The Golan grandfather founded several manufacturing companies and selected the name Brevel.

Our planet has too many hungry consumers but not enough healthy protein.

Brevel is working to solve our world’s #1 nutritional challenge:
Produce healthier and affordable protein in a clean and sustainable process that is color and flavor neutral.

by Mark Edwards

Brevel’s technology combines Phototrophy with Heterotrophy

Brevel plans to make their sustainable and healthy plant-based protein available at cost levels comparable to the leading sources of plant-based protein today. The Israel-based company uses natural, non-GMO algae, grown in a unique technology that combines photosynthesis with heterotrophy, which results in higher quality of sustainable protein.

Modern plant-based foods carry pitifully low nutritional values. Many field crops deliver less than half the nutrients they provided 40 years ago due to “hidden hunger.” Modern industrial agriculture has created a downward spiral error chain that continually diminishes nutrient density through new GMO seeds that produce large yields with fewer nutrients, tighter planting, and worn-out soils.

Over 60% of the calories consumed globally come from only three extremely low-nutrient foods; wheat, rice, and maize (corn). The lack of nutritional density and diversity in food grains have led to horrific health results. Modern foods contain mostly “empty calories,” where consumers receive negligible nutrients per bite. Poor nutritional density has led to severe global protein deficiencies combined with epidemics of obesity and diabetes. In many countries today, one out of every two newborn children will develop diabetes, which often reduces life quality, cost, and length.

The EAT Lancet Commission on Food, Planet, Health engaged over 30 world-class scientists to assess the Western diet. Their harsh assessment of our food system is breathtaking:

The calorie-dense but nutrient deficient foods in the Western diet have catastrophically damaged human health. Unhealthy diets now pose a greater risk to morbidity and mortality than unsafe sex, alcohol, drug, and tobacco use combined.

Since the dawn of the Green Revolution, low-nutrient foods have created a global obesity epidemic where 2.5 billion people are overweight with a tenfold increase in obese children. Obesity and overweight rates for American adults have more than doubled to 75%.

Brevel was created to address these nutritional challenges.

The meaning of the name Brevel, in Hebrew, represents innovation, independence, determination, courage, sincerity, and activity.

The three Golan brothers co-founded Brevel in 2016:

  • Matan, COO, is an MD who brings the health and nutritional science.
  • Ido, CTO, is an algae bioengineer who has invented new higher speed, quality, and scalable cultivation methods.
  • Yonatan, CEO, is enthusiastic about finding solutions for how to create substantially healthier nutrition for our growing population in a sustainable and ethical way.

Yonatan, Ido, and Matan Golan recognized that the global food industry needed higher quality protein cultivation at a substantially larger scale. They dismissed land plants and focused on microcrops, specifically algae due to its promise for growth speed and superior nutrition.

The Brevel team surveyed the algae industry and found algae cultivation lacking in both quality and scale. They examined all the usual suspects — large raceways and indoor and outdoor photobioreactors. They concluded that photosynthetic algae produced in outdoor or indoor ponds or closed bioreactors were too labor intensive, suffered from contamination, and produced at far too low yields and too high costs.

They considered a pure heterotrophic approach but realized that growing algae in the dark would subtract the substantial nutritional elements that come with solar-driven photosynthesis. They could not find an existing algae production model with sufficient speed, scale, and quality to satisfy the nutrient needs of savvy multinational food companies. So, Yonatan Golan and his brothers founded Bevel with a mixotrophic cultivation strategy.

Algae cultivation may use three nutritional sources

Autotrophic
• Uses sunlight, CO₂, and H₂O
• Builds carbohydrates
Heterotrophic
• Uses tiny organic molecules
• Builds lipids, protein, and fat
Mixotrophic
• Uses CO₂ and organic carbon
• Builds carbohydrates, protein, lipids, and fat

 

Autotrophic algae depend on light to power photosynthesis for their growth energy. Heterotrophic cultivation occurs in the dark using fermentation tanks. Heterotrophic uses organic molecules like sugars for energy. Solazyme, purchased by Corbion, pioneered the heterotrophic algae production industry with a suite of fermentation processes (right).

Scientists and companies have used mixotrophic cultivation for decades, but most were not able to break the scale barrier. Mixotrophic methods have been used successfully in water treatment. Mixotrophic strategies have also been applied to wastewater remediation to reduce GHG emissions and to recover nutrients at substantially less cost and with a reduced carbon footprint.

Mixotrophic cultivation grows algae with both light and organics as energy sources and uses both CO₂ and organic carbon as carbon sources. Some algae species can perform photosynthesis and also acquire exogenous organic nutrients. The mixotrophy advantage allows cells to thrive without photosynthesis, e.g., in the dark.

Brevel’s mixotrophic approach benefits from the best attributes of both growth strategies: the high nutrient load from autotrophic and the fast growth and efficiency from fermentation. The combination strategy also enables high reliability and nutrient quality.

Part 2 Continued

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

SeagricultureAPAC
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide