中国将增加海洋碳汇以帮助实现气候目标

海藻网   藻类妇女
碳汇

12 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日,中国山东省青岛市,工人在清除藻类。图片来源:中国日报,路透社

C官员们表示,中国将探索增加海洋碳汇和增强海洋生态系统的气候适应能力的方法,作为其承诺到 2060 年将温室气体排放至净零的承诺的一部分。

但随着中国面临越来越大的土地压力,并试图最大限度地扩大森林、自然保护区和耕地的可用空间,中国正在寻求利用其广阔的领海来提升其“蓝汇”潜力。

“维护海洋蓝汇、稳步提升海洋碳汇能力,是推动实现气候目标的重要任务,”环境部海洋生态与环境司副司长张志峰在周四的新闻发布会上表示。 .

与地方政府合作

张博士表示,环保部将督促各地加快海洋生态修复,开展海洋碳汇监测评估,将气候适应能力纳入目前处于起草阶段的中国2021-2025年海洋生态环境保护规划。

中国一直在努力改善沿海水质,特别是在渤海湾和长江三角洲附近,并正在建立生态保护区,以保护珊瑚礁、红树林和海草床。

但环保部数据显示,17年监测的24个海洋生态系统中有2020个处于“亚健康”或“不健康”状态,海洋物种数量低于正常范围。

XNUMX月,东部港口城市青岛经历了有史以来最糟糕的情况 藻类侵扰,大约 60,000 平方公里的区域覆盖着有害的绿色海藻,这是由于集约化养殖和有机物增加造成的。 

沿海省份浙江省计划建立更多藻类和贝类养殖设施,致力于提高其碳汇能力,并将寻求在 2021-2025 年期间将碳汇产品引入其省级碳汇交易市场。

©2021 路透社

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 editorial@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

广告
算法广告

订阅

China to Increase Ocean Carbon Sinks to Help Meet Climate Goals

algaeurope.org   Women of Algae
Carbon Sinks

Workers clear algae along the coast in Qingdao, Shandong province, China June 12, 2021. Credit: China Daily via REUTERS

China will explore ways to increase its ocean carbon sinks and enhance climate resilience in its marine ecological system as part of its pledge to reduce greenhouse gases to net zero by 2060, officials said.

But as China comes under growing land pressure and tries to maximize the available space for forest, nature reserves as well as arable land, the country is looking to take advantage of its vast territorial waters to boost its “blue sink” potential.

“Maintaining ocean blue sink and steadily improving ocean carbon sink capacity are important tasks to facilitate our climate goals,” said Zhang Zhifeng, vice director at the Department of Marine Ecology and Environment, a unit of the environment ministry, during a press conference on Thursday.

Engaging local governments

Dr. Zhang said the ministry will urge local governments to accelerate marine ecological restoration, carry out ocean carbon sink monitoring and evaluation and include climate resilience in China’s 2021-2025 marine ecological environment protection plan, which is currently in the drafting stage.

China has been trying to improve its coastal water quality, especially near the Bohai Bay and Yangtze River Delta, and is establishing ecological reserves to protect coral reefs, mangroves, and seagrass beds.

However, data from the environment ministry shows that 17 out of the 24 monitored marine ecological systems were in a “sub-healthy” or “unhealthy” state in 2020, with the number of marine species below the normal range.

In July, the eastern port city of Qingdao experienced its worst ever algae infestation, with about 60,000 square km of area covered in harmful green seaweed, caused by intensive farming and increased organic matter. 

The coastal province of Zhejiang plans to establish more algae and shellfish breeding facilities dedicated to improving its carbon sink capacity and will look to bring carbon sink products into its provincial carbon sink trading market over 2021-2025.

©2021 Reuters

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Advertisement
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board

Archives