衣藻:实验室强国

  藻类欧洲 2022 年 XNUMX 月

A阿隆·阿尔卡拉,博士乔治亚大学 (UGA) 遗传学候选人,赢得了 Arcadia Science 的第一个 SciComm 黑客马拉松 用“一个细胞来统治它们:衣藻”的视频解释了研究一种绿藻如何导致具有里程碑意义的发现,这些发现揭示了人类健康。

衣藻 是一种单细胞藻类,它彻底改变了我们对细胞生物学的理解。 研究其与哺乳动物细胞惊人的相似性导致了具有里程碑意义的发现。 但它奇怪的差异也是使它成为如此强大的实验室的原因。 这段视频讨论了为什么“Chlamy”是研究基础细胞生物学的惊人模型的原因。

Alcala 先生的研究导致探索如何在胚胎发育过程中调节基因以构建身体部位,以及此过程中的变化如何导致新形式和结构的进化。

该视频由 Aaron Alcala 编写、制作和旁白

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

海洋农业亚太地区
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会
第五届藻类世界欧盟

初学者指南

Chlamydomonas: Laboratory Powerhouse

  Algae Europe December 2022

A​aron Alcala, a Ph.D. candidate in genetics at University of Georgia (UGA), won Arcadia Science’s first SciComm Hackathon with “One Cell to Rule Them All: Chlamydomonas,” a video that explains how studying a type of green algae has led to landmark discoveries that shed light on human health.

Chlamydomonas is a single-celled alga that has revolutionized our understanding of cell biology. Studying its surprising similarities to mammalian cells have led to landmark discoveries. But its weird differences are also what make it such a laboratory powerhouse. This video discusses the reasons why “Chlamy” is an amazing model to study fundamental cell biology.

Mr. Alcala’s research has led to exploring how genes are regulated to build body parts during embryonic development, and how changes during this process can lead to the evolution of novel forms and structures.

This video is written, produced, and narrated by Aaron Alcala

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

SeagricultureAPAC
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide