变色指示器可预测藻华

  海洋农业 2022 欧盟
藻华

西澳大利亚珀斯天鹅河的水含有有害藻类的健康警告标志。

A 淡水系统中磷的过剩会导致浮游植物和蓝藻等藻类失去控制,将水变成这些生物的“豌豆汤”。 水华可能威胁到饮用水供应,因为一些藻类物种会释放令人不快的气味或毒素。 但是,如果人们知道藻华何时可能​​发生,他们就可以通过在藻类成为问题之前去除或杀死藻类来管理它。

现在,ACS Applied Nano Materials 的研究人员报告了一种指标,当暴露于碱性磷酸酶水平升高时会改变颜色 - 一种预测浮游植物指数增长的酶。 这种变化可以通过肉眼或智能手机检测到。

此前,Jingjing Deng 及其同事表明,碱性磷酸酶有助于从复杂化合物中释放生物可利用的磷,并且酶水平的升高可以预测与磷相关的藻华。 然而,目前碱性磷酸酶的检测方法不是很灵敏或特异。 因此,研究人员希望利用碱性磷酸酶催化的反应来诱导水样中的荧光和可见颜色变化。

为了制造变色指示剂,研究人员首先将铜离子与 5-单磷酸鸟苷结合,形成球形纳米颗粒。 接下来,他们在纳米粒子中加入了两种化合物(1,1,2,2-四(4-羧基苯基)乙烯和磺基罗丹明 101)。 结果是在可见光下形成深蓝色溶液,在紫外光下发出蓝紫色荧光。 在碱性磷酸酶的存在下,溶液在紫外光下变成粉红色和强烈的红色荧光。

研究人员用来自 13 个河流中生物可利用磷有限的地方的水测试了该指标,并使用智能手机的彩色扫描应用程序计算了红蓝荧光比。 他们发现便携式数字方法可以可靠地检测碱性磷酸酶,并且与指示剂荧光的台式测量一样可靠。 研究人员还在实验室培养了产生毒素的蓝藻,给它们喂食复杂的含磷化合物,并测量了碱性磷酸酶的变化。 在第三天,通过荧光和可见颜色变化检测到酶活性大幅增加。 几天后,藻类呈指数增长。

由于指示器和基于智能手机的系统在开花前检测到活动激增,研究人员表示,它可以开发用于实时现场监测和预测。

作者承认资金来自 国家自然科学基金、国家重点研发计划、上海市有机固体废物生物转化工程研究中心、中央高校基本科研业务费专项资金。

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

藻类妇女

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

Color-change Indicator Predicts Algal Blooms

 Seagriculture EU 2024
Algal Blooms

Health Warning sign that water contains harmful Algae in Swan River, Perth, Western Australia.

A surplus of phosphorus in freshwater systems causes algae, such as phytoplankton and cyanobacteria, to grow out of control, turning the water into a “pea soup” of these organisms. Blooms can threaten drinking water supplies because some algal species release unpleasant odors or toxins. But if people knew when an algal bloom was likely to develop, they could manage it by removing or killing the algae before they become a problem.

Now, researchers in ACS Applied Nano Materials report an indicator that changes color when exposed to rising levels of alkaline phosphatase — an enzyme that forecasts phytoplankton’s exponential growth. This change can be detected by the naked eye or a smartphone.

Previously, Jingjing Deng and colleagues showed that alkaline phosphatase helps release bioavailable phosphorus from complex compounds, and that rising levels of the enzyme could forecast phosphorus-related algal blooms. However, current detection methods for alkaline phosphatase aren’t very sensitive or specific. So, the researchers wanted to use the reaction catalyzed by alkaline phosphatase to induce both fluorescence and visible color changes in a water sample.

To make the color-changing indicator, the researchers first combined copper ions with guanosine-5-monophosphate, forming spherical nanoparticles. Next, they incorporated two compounds (1,1,2,2-tetra (4-carboxylphenyl) ethylene and sulforhodamine 101) within the nanoparticles. The result was a deep blue solution in visible light that fluoresced a bluish-purple under UV light. In the presence of alkaline phosphatase, the solution shifted to a pinkish hue and a strong red fluorescence under UV light.

The researchers tested the indicator with water from 13 river locations that had limited bioavailable phosphorus, calculating red-to-blue fluorescence ratios with a smartphone’s color scanning app. They found that the portable digital method reliably detected alkaline phosphatase and was as robust as benchtop measurements of the indicator’s fluorescence. The researchers also grew toxin-producing cyanobacteria in the lab, feeding them complex phosphorus-containing compounds, and measured the alkaline phosphatase changes. On the third day, a large increase in enzyme activity was detected with both fluorescence and visible color changes. A few days later, the algae were growing exponentially.

Because the indicator and smartphone-based system detected the activity surge prior to a bloom, the researchers say it could be developed for real-time field monitoring and prediction.

The authors acknowledge funding from the National Natural Science Foundation of China, the National Key R&D Program of China, Shanghai Engineering Research Center of Biotransformation of Organic Solid Waste and the Fundamental Research Funds for the Central Universities.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • April 19, 2024: Hospitalized COVID-19 patients who took spirulina had a lower risk of death than those who did not, according to results of a randomized controlled trial recently published in Frontiers in Immunology. READ MORE...
  • April 17, 2024: A research team exploring the untapped potential of seaweed farming for carbon sequestration is positioning Taiwan to play a role in offsetting global carbon emissions. READ MORE...
  • April 15, 2024: Somater, a French manufacturer of plastic and polymer primary packaging for cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, food, and industry, has partnered with French start-up Eranova to create a 100% bio-based line of packaging from green algae collected on the banks of a brackish water lagoon near Marseille, in the south of France. READ MORE...
  • April 12, 2024: Global warming is triggering significant shifts in temperate macroalgal communities worldwide, favoring small, warm-affinity species over large canopy-forming, cold-affinity species. A new study delves into the impacts of increasing sea surface temperature on the subtidal macroalgal communities in the southeastern Bay of Biscay over the last four decades. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide