印度工程师开发“低成本”藻类生物燃料

  海洋农业 2022 欧盟
藻类生物燃料更多里程

More Mileage 位于印度贾坎德邦兰契的制造工厂在池塘中培养微藻。 资料来源:Vishal Prasad Gupta

I2020 年,工程师 Vishal Prasad Gupta 获得了石油和天然气联盟部的批准,可以在印度贾坎德邦兰契设立他自己的汽油泵“More Mileage”。 他因创新了一种 由一种微藻类制造的生物燃料 原产于贾坎德邦的池塘,他说这不仅比汽油和柴油更环保,而且更容易放在钱包里。

这种生物燃料可用于所有配备 EM590 柴油发动机的车辆,每升售价 78 卢比(1.05 美元)——这是柴油的更便宜的替代品,目前兰契的售价为 92 卢比(1.23 美元)。 与此同时,生物乙醇的成本为 72 卢比(0.92 美元),古普塔先生说,它可以取代目前每升 99 卢比(1.33 美元)的汽油。

“我来自石油世家,一直想为普通人开发一种碳中和且具有成本效益的燃料。 我的祖父于 1932 年在缅甸壳牌公司(现为巴拉特石油公司)工作,我父亲也于 1969 年开始在印度石油公司 (IOC) 担任经销商,”他告诉 thebetterindia.com 的 Tulika Chaturvedi。

从梅斯拉博拉理工学院毕业后,Gupta 先生在 TotalEnergies SE(当时的道达尔法国)担任营销专家,这是一家跨国石油和天然气公司,与 IOC 签订了积极的谅解备忘录。 在他于 15 年开展第三代燃料研究工作之前,他还与其他几个 PSU(公共部门事业)单位合作了 2018 年,当时联合内阁还批准了 当前的国家生物燃料政策.

Gupta 先生与兰契 Birsa Krishi Vishwavidyalaya 教授 Kumar Bhupati 博士合作,后者正在研究作为牲畜饲料的微藻,因为微藻富含蛋白质、氨基酸、矿物质和其他营养成分。 就在那时,古普塔先生意识到 藻类的化学成分与原油中的相似,并且它可以用于开发生物燃料。

他花了大约两个月的时间才获得印度政府石油保护研究协会的批准。 他说,由于他在家乡享有的好感和强大的行业网络,他能够轻松地推销自己的产品。 他声称每天销售多达 2,000-2,500 千升 (kls) 的生物燃料,迄今为止已售出约 250,000 千升的生物燃料。 他还向 Tata Motors (250 kls) 和 Damla Bharat Cement (500 kls) 进行了商业销售。

他在 Namkum 旁边拥有一家制造工厂——他从一个以前卖卡兰贾油和马华油的朋友那里买的——日产量为 70,000 千升。 该工厂拥有 35 名员工,自 2020 年 XNUMX 月开始运营。

古普塔先生目前正在与市政官员进行谈判,以寻求与兰契市政公司的谅解备忘录 (MoU)。 该协议将允许他使用城市水坝来更大规模地种植藻类和生产生物燃料。

我们如何做?

古普塔先生在解释这个过程时说,一种藻类叫做 满江红,其中含有相当比例的油,从池塘中取出并放入化合物己烯中。 在植物中经过处理后,它会变成液体形式的脂质,然后才能形成生物柴油或生物乙醇的最终形式。

他说,每批次生产多达 7,000 kls 的生物燃料。 虽然在工厂的 13 个池塘上照射超过 13 小时的阳光被认为是该过程不可或缺的一部分,但工厂的场所也有紫外线灯以帮助夜间微藻培养。 当地非政府组织的成员帮助收获并协助池塘维护。 古普塔先生还获得了市政当局的许可,可以使用该市的公共池塘。 (这与上面描述谅解备忘录和大坝使用的句子相同吗?)

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

藻类妇女

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

Engineer in India Develops “Lower-cost” Algae Biofuel

  Algae Europe December 2022
Algae Biofuel More Mileage

Cultivation of microalgae in a pond at More Mileage’s manufacturing plant in Ranchi, Jharkhand, India. Source: Vishal Prasad Gupta

In 2020, engineer Vishal Prasad Gupta received approval from the Union Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas to set up ‘More Mileage’, his own petrol pump, in Ranchi, Jharkhand, India. He has been credited with innovating a biofuel manufactured from a species of microalgae native to Jharkhand’s ponds, which he says is not only more environmentally friendly than petrol and diesel, but also easier on the pocketbook.

The biofuel, which can be used in all vehicles with EM590 diesel engines, costs Rs 78 ($1.05 USD) per liter — a cheaper alternative to diesel, which is currently priced at Rs 92 ($1.23 USD) in Ranchi. Meanwhile, bioethanol costs Rs 72 ($0.92 USD), which Mr. Gupta says can replace petrol currently priced at Rs 99 ($1.33 USD) per liter.

“I come from a petroleum family and always wanted to develop a carbon-neutral and cost-efficient fuel for the common man. My grandfather worked for Burma-Shell in 1932 (now Bharat Petroleum), and my father started working for Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) as a dealer in 1969 as well,” he told Tulika Chaturvedi of thebetterindia.com.

After graduating from the Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra, Mr. Gupta worked as a marketing specialist with TotalEnergies SE (then Total France), a multinational oil and gas company that had an active MoU with IOC. He also worked with several other PSU (Public Sector Undertaking) units for 15 years before his research work on third-generation fuels in 2018, when the Union Cabinet had also approved the Current National Policy on Biofuels.

Mr. Gupta partnered with Dr. Kumar Bhupati, a professor at Birsa Krishi Vishwavidyalaya in Ranchi, who was researching microalgae as feed for livestock, owing to its rich content of proteins, amino acids, minerals, and other nutrients. It was then that Mr. Gupta realized the algae had chemical components similar to those in crude oil, and that it could be used to develop biofuel.

It took about two months for him to receive approval for his creation by the Petroleum Conservation Research Association, of the Government of India. He says that owing to the goodwill he enjoys in his hometown and a strong network in the industry, he was easily able to market his product. He claims to sell as much as 2,000-2,500 Kiloliters (kls) of biofuel daily and has sold around 250,000 kls of biofuel to date. He has also made commercial sales to Tata Motors (250 kls) and Damla Bharat Cement (500 kls).

He owns a manufacturing plant alongside Namkum — one he bought from a friend who formerly sold karanja oil and mahua oil — with a daily production capacity of 70,000 kls. With a team of 35 employees, the plant has been operational since December 2020.

Mr. Gupta is currently in talks with civic officials to pursue a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Ranchi Municipal Corporation. The agreement will allow him to use city dams for the cultivation of algae and manufacture biofuel on a larger scale.

How does it work?

Explaining the process, Mr. Gupta said that a species of algae called Azolla pinnata, which contains a considerable percentage of oil, is taken out of the pond and put in the chemical compound hexene. After being treated in the plant, it becomes a lipid in liquid form before it achieves its final form of biodiesel or bioethanol.

As much as 7,000 kls of biofuel are produced per batch of production, he says. While a little over 13 hours of sunlight over the plant’s 13 ponds is deemed integral to the process, the plant’s premises also have ultraviolet lamps to aid microalgae cultivation at night. Members of a local NGO help with harvesting and assist in the ponds’ upkeep. Mr. Gupta has also obtained permission from the civic authorities to make use of public ponds in the city. (Is this the same as the above sentences describing the MOU and use of the dams?)

We’re All Ears!

We’d love to hear how Algae Planet can be most valuable to you. Would you be kind enough to take this one-minute (we really mean it) survey to help us improve your reader experience? Not to worry, it’s for our eyes only and we will fiercely protect any information that you provide. Thank you, we really value your time and appreciate your thoughts!

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2022
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide