用藻类对抗病毒

海藻网   藻类妇女
生物学家斯科特埃德蒙森

生物学家 Scott Edmundson 在位于华盛顿州塞奎姆的 PNNL 海洋和沿海研究实验室研究藻类。 照片由太平洋西北国家实验室 Andrea Starr 拍摄

作者:丽贝卡·奥顿,PNNL

W去年冠状病毒大流行使世界陷入动荡时,一群生物能源研究人员在 太平洋西北国家实验室 (PNNL) 看到了一种非常规的对抗病毒的方式:藻类。

“藻类尚未实现的优势在于它们纯粹的生物多样性,”高级生物能源研究员兼首席研究员迈克尔·休斯曼说。 DISCOVR 项目,美国能源部国家实验室联盟,以推进藻类生物燃料的开发。 “当人们开始认真寻找抗击大流行的疗法时,我们意识到有机会更多地了解藻类的整体抗病毒特性。”

接下来是深入研究早在 1956 年就将藻类和抗病毒药物联系起来的文献。为了理解这些数据,PNNL 科学本科实验室实习生 Daman Reynolds 沿着病毒引起感染的时间线对研究进行了排序。 正如他所做的那样,很明显,藻类中的化合物表现出非凡的——而且完全未开发的——对抗病毒性疾病的潜力。

“绝大多数藻类化合物都处于研究的早期阶段,”雷诺兹先生说。 “一些化合物正在进行不同程度的临床试验,有些化合物作为鼻腔喷雾剂在欧洲销售,以保护呼吸系统免受普通感冒的影响。 有一些只被引用了一次,所以令人兴奋的是,可能还有数千种化合物可以对抗我们甚至还不知道的病毒。”

沿途预防

冠状病毒通过口或鼻进入呼吸系统,但其他病毒通过皮肤接触或静脉内接触传播。 Reynolds 先生的文献综述发现了大量源自藻类的化合物,它们可以作为潜在病毒感染途径大门的守护者。 某些化合物已被证明可以提供一种保护涂层,以防止病毒进入人体。

但是,如果偶然地,病毒确实进入了宿主,实验室已经证明藻类衍生化合物可以灭活或降解病毒。
几项初步实验室研究还表明,藻类产品可防止病毒粘附在细胞受体上,从而使病毒更难进入或感染宿主细胞。

一些实验室研究还表明,来自藻类的化合物使病毒更难侵入细胞的内部机制并开始复制。 此外,藻类中的化合物也被证明可以作为捕获复制病毒的屏障,因此它们不会被释放到体内以进一步传播。 藻类衍生化合物可以增强人体对病毒感染的自然免疫反应——无论是在暴露之前还是之后。

对负担得起的生物燃料的可能贡献

生物学家斯科特埃德蒙森研究光合藻类培养以生产生物产品超过 15 年,他建议如果藻类来源的抗病毒药物在临床试验中显示出前景,它们的提取可能有助于使生物燃料在经济上更可行。

“我们已经证明在技术上是可行的 来自藻类的先进燃料 生长在阳光和大气中的二氧化碳中,”他说。 “下一步是使该过程经济有效。”

一种可以在藻类被加工成生物燃料之前提取的治疗性化合物将是朝这个方向迈出的一步。

这项研究的资金部分来自美国能源部、科学办公室、科学本科实验室实习计划下的教师和科学家劳动力发展办公室,这只是科学的一部分 PNNL 正在开发以对抗冠状病毒大流行. 该论文在 藻类研究 2021 年 XNUMX 月号.

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 editorial@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

广告
算法广告

订阅

Fighting the Virus with Algae

Seagriculture EU 2024
Biologist Scott Edmundson

Biologist Scott Edmundson studies algae at PNNL’s Marine and Coastal Research Laboratory in Sequim, Washington. Photo by Andrea Starr, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

by Rebecca Orton, PNNL

W hen the coronavirus pandemic thrust the world into turmoil last year, a group of bioenergy researchers at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) saw an unconventional way of fighting the virus: algae.

“The unrealized advantage of algae is their sheer biological diversity,” said Michael Huesemann, a senior bioenergy researcher and principal investigator for the DISCOVR project, a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory consortium to advance algal biofuels development. “When people started searching in earnest for therapeutics to combat the pandemic, we realized there was an opportunity to understand more about algae’s overall antiviral properties.”

What followed was a deep dive into the literature linking algae and antivirals as far back as 1956. To make sense of the data, PNNL Science Undergraduate Laboratory Internships intern Daman Reynolds sorted the studies along the timeline a virus follows when it causes an infection. As he did, it became apparent that compounds in algae demonstrate exceptional — and fully untapped — potential to combat viral diseases.

“The vast majority of algae compounds are in the early stages of research,” said Mr. Reynolds. “A few compounds are in various degrees of clinical trials, and there are some marketed in Europe as nasal sprays to protect the respiratory system from the common cold. There were a few that were only cited once, so the exciting thing is there could be thousands more compounds that could fight viruses we don’t even know about yet.”

Prevention along the pathway

Coronavirus enters via the mouth or nose into the respiratory system, but other viruses spread through skin-to-skin or intravenous contact. Mr. Reynolds’s literature review found a host of algae-derived compounds that can serve as guardians at the gates of potential viral infection routes. Certain compounds have been shown to provide a sort of protective coating to keep the virus from entering the body.

But if, by chance, a virus does enter a host, algae-derived compounds have been shown in the laboratory to inactivate or degrade viruses.

Several preliminary laboratory studies have also shown algal products prevent viruses from adhering to cell receptors to make it harder for a virus to enter or infect a host cell.

Some laboratory research also showed that compounds from algae made it more difficult for the virus to hack the cell’s internal machinery and begin replicating. In addition, compounds in algae have also been shown to act as barriers that trap replicated viruses, so they aren’t released into the body to spread further. And algae-derived compounds can augment the body’s natural immune response to viral infection — both before and after exposure.

Possible contributions to affordable biofuels

Biologist Scott Edmundson, who has studied photosynthetic algal cultivation for bioproduct generation for more than 15 years, suggests that if algae-derived antivirals show promise in clinical trials, their extraction could help make biofuels more economically feasible.

“We’ve proved it is technically feasible to make advanced fuels from algae grown on sunshine and CO₂ from the atmosphere,” he said. “Making the process work economically is the next step.”

A therapeutic compound that could be extracted before the algae is processed for biofuel would be a step in that direction.

Funding for the research came in part from the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Office of Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists under the Science Undergraduate Laboratory Internships program and is just one part of the science PNNL is developing to fight the coronavirus pandemic. The paper was made available in the July 2021 issue of Algal Research.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics
Contact Phil Ganz

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • June 19, 2024: Scottish Sea Farms has joined a seaweed growing venture in a project that combines salmon and kelp farming on Loch Spelve in the Sound of Mull. The intention of the year-long pilot is to enrich and replenish the marine environment while minimizing any impact from farming activities. READ MORE...
  • June 17, 2024: The ALEHOOP project, funded by the Circular Bio-based Europe Joint Undertaking, has successfully demonstrated the feasibility of sustainable plant-based protein extraction. The project has developed pilot-scale biorefineries that recover low-cost dietary proteins from algae and plant-based biomass. READ MORE...
  • June 14, 2024: Engineers at the University of California San Diego have developed microscopic robots, known as microrobots, capable of swimming through the lungs to deliver cancer-fighting medication directly to metastatic tumors. This approach has shown promise in mice, where it inhibited the growth and spread of tumors that had metastasized to the lungs, thereby boosting survival rates compared to control treatments. READ MORE...
  • June 12, 2024: The PROTEUS consortium of 11 international partners, funded by the Circular Bio-Based Europe Joint Undertaking, intends to establish the first industrial-scale biorefinery for brown seaweeds. This facility will enhance sustainable production of bio-based ingredients from Laminaria hyperborea, an untapped European renewable resource, meeting global demand in food, feed, personal care, and industrial sectors. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide