Combattre le virus avec les algues

algaeurope.org   Femmes d'algues
Biologiste Scott Edmundson

Le biologiste Scott Edmundson étudie les algues au Laboratoire de recherche marine et côtière du PNNL à Sequim, Washington. Photo d'Andrea Starr, Laboratoire national du nord-ouest du Pacifique

par Rebecca Orton, PNNL

W orsque la pandémie de coronavirus a plongé le monde dans la tourmente l'année dernière, un groupe de chercheurs en bioénergie de Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) a vu un moyen non conventionnel de lutter contre le virus : les algues.

"L'avantage non réalisé des algues est leur pure diversité biologique", a déclaré Michael Huesemann, chercheur principal en bioénergie et chercheur principal pour le projet DISCOVR, un consortium de laboratoires nationaux du département de l'Énergie des États-Unis pour faire avancer le développement des biocarburants à base d'algues. "Lorsque les gens ont commencé à rechercher sérieusement des traitements pour lutter contre la pandémie, nous avons réalisé qu'il y avait une opportunité de mieux comprendre les propriétés antivirales globales des algues."

Ce qui a suivi a été une plongée profonde dans la littérature liant les algues et les antiviraux dès 1956. Pour donner un sens aux données, Daman Reynolds, stagiaire en laboratoire de premier cycle en sciences du PNNL, a trié les études le long de la chronologie suivie par un virus lorsqu'il provoque une infection. Comme il l'a fait, il est devenu évident que les composés contenus dans les algues présentent un potentiel exceptionnel - et totalement inexploité - pour lutter contre les maladies virales.

« La grande majorité des composés d'algues en sont aux premiers stades de la recherche », a déclaré M. Reynolds. « Quelques composés font l'objet d'essais cliniques à divers degrés, et certains sont commercialisés en Europe sous forme de sprays nasaux pour protéger le système respiratoire du rhume. Il y en a eu quelques-uns qui n'ont été cités qu'une seule fois, donc ce qui est excitant, c'est qu'il pourrait y avoir des milliers d'autres composés qui pourraient combattre des virus que nous ne connaissons même pas encore. »

Prévention tout au long du parcours

Le coronavirus pénètre par la bouche ou le nez dans le système respiratoire, mais d'autres virus se propagent par contact peau à peau ou intraveineux. L'examen de la littérature de M. Reynolds a trouvé une multitude de composés dérivés d'algues qui peuvent servir de gardiens aux portes des voies potentielles d'infection virale. Il a été démontré que certains composés fournissent une sorte de revêtement protecteur pour empêcher le virus de pénétrer dans le corps.

Mais si, par hasard, un virus pénètre dans un hôte, il a été démontré en laboratoire que des composés dérivés d'algues inactivent ou dégradent les virus.

Plusieurs études préliminaires en laboratoire ont également montré que les produits à base d'algues empêchent les virus d'adhérer aux récepteurs cellulaires, ce qui rend plus difficile l'entrée ou l'infection d'un virus dans une cellule hôte.

Certaines recherches en laboratoire ont également montré que les composés des algues rendaient plus difficile pour le virus de pirater la machinerie interne de la cellule et de commencer à se répliquer. De plus, il a également été démontré que les composés contenus dans les algues agissent comme des barrières qui piègent les virus répliqués, de sorte qu'ils ne sont pas libérés dans le corps pour se propager davantage. Et les composés dérivés des algues peuvent augmenter la réponse immunitaire naturelle du corps à une infection virale, à la fois avant et après l'exposition.

Contributions possibles à des biocarburants abordables

Le biologiste Scott Edmundson, qui a étudié la culture d'algues photosynthétiques pour la génération de bioproduits pendant plus de 15 ans, suggère que si les antiviraux dérivés d'algues sont prometteurs dans les essais cliniques, leur extraction pourrait aider à rendre les biocarburants plus rentables.

« Nous avons prouvé qu'il est techniquement possible de faire carburants avancés à partir d'algues cultivé sur le soleil et le CO₂ de l'atmosphère », a-t-il déclaré. « Faire fonctionner le processus de manière économique est la prochaine étape. »

Un composé thérapeutique qui pourrait être extrait avant que les algues ne soient transformées en biocarburant serait un pas dans cette direction.

Le financement de la recherche provient en partie du département américain de l'Énergie, du Bureau des sciences, du Bureau du développement de la main-d'œuvre pour les enseignants et les scientifiques dans le cadre du programme de stages en laboratoire de premier cycle en sciences et n'est qu'une partie de la science. Le PNNL se développe pour lutter contre la pandémie de coronavirus. Le document a été mis à disposition dans le Numéro de juillet 2021 d'Algal Research.

Tous les droits sont réservés. Autorisation requise pour réimprimer les articles dans leur intégralité. Doit inclure une déclaration de copyright et des hyperliens en direct. Contacter david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepte les manuscrits non sollicités pour examen et n'assume aucune responsabilité quant à la validité des affirmations formulées dans l'éditorial soumis.

Publicité
Annonce Algametrics

S’abonner

Site d'emploi de l'industrie des algues

Archives

Fighting the Virus with Algae

Seagriculture EU 2024
Biologist Scott Edmundson

Biologist Scott Edmundson studies algae at PNNL’s Marine and Coastal Research Laboratory in Sequim, Washington. Photo by Andrea Starr, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

by Rebecca Orton, PNNL

W hen the coronavirus pandemic thrust the world into turmoil last year, a group of bioenergy researchers at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) saw an unconventional way of fighting the virus: algae.

“The unrealized advantage of algae is their sheer biological diversity,” said Michael Huesemann, a senior bioenergy researcher and principal investigator for the DISCOVR project, a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory consortium to advance algal biofuels development. “When people started searching in earnest for therapeutics to combat the pandemic, we realized there was an opportunity to understand more about algae’s overall antiviral properties.”

What followed was a deep dive into the literature linking algae and antivirals as far back as 1956. To make sense of the data, PNNL Science Undergraduate Laboratory Internships intern Daman Reynolds sorted the studies along the timeline a virus follows when it causes an infection. As he did, it became apparent that compounds in algae demonstrate exceptional — and fully untapped — potential to combat viral diseases.

“The vast majority of algae compounds are in the early stages of research,” said Mr. Reynolds. “A few compounds are in various degrees of clinical trials, and there are some marketed in Europe as nasal sprays to protect the respiratory system from the common cold. There were a few that were only cited once, so the exciting thing is there could be thousands more compounds that could fight viruses we don’t even know about yet.”

Prevention along the pathway

Coronavirus enters via the mouth or nose into the respiratory system, but other viruses spread through skin-to-skin or intravenous contact. Mr. Reynolds’s literature review found a host of algae-derived compounds that can serve as guardians at the gates of potential viral infection routes. Certain compounds have been shown to provide a sort of protective coating to keep the virus from entering the body.

But if, by chance, a virus does enter a host, algae-derived compounds have been shown in the laboratory to inactivate or degrade viruses.

Several preliminary laboratory studies have also shown algal products prevent viruses from adhering to cell receptors to make it harder for a virus to enter or infect a host cell.

Some laboratory research also showed that compounds from algae made it more difficult for the virus to hack the cell’s internal machinery and begin replicating. In addition, compounds in algae have also been shown to act as barriers that trap replicated viruses, so they aren’t released into the body to spread further. And algae-derived compounds can augment the body’s natural immune response to viral infection — both before and after exposure.

Possible contributions to affordable biofuels

Biologist Scott Edmundson, who has studied photosynthetic algal cultivation for bioproduct generation for more than 15 years, suggests that if algae-derived antivirals show promise in clinical trials, their extraction could help make biofuels more economically feasible.

“We’ve proved it is technically feasible to make advanced fuels from algae grown on sunshine and CO₂ from the atmosphere,” he said. “Making the process work economically is the next step.”

A therapeutic compound that could be extracted before the algae is processed for biofuel would be a step in that direction.

Funding for the research came in part from the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Office of Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists under the Science Undergraduate Laboratory Internships program and is just one part of the science PNNL is developing to fight the coronavirus pandemic. The paper was made available in the July 2021 issue of Algal Research.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics
Contact Phil Ganz

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • June 19, 2024: Scottish Sea Farms has joined a seaweed growing venture in a project that combines salmon and kelp farming on Loch Spelve in the Sound of Mull. The intention of the year-long pilot is to enrich and replenish the marine environment while minimizing any impact from farming activities. READ MORE...
  • June 17, 2024: The ALEHOOP project, funded by the Circular Bio-based Europe Joint Undertaking, has successfully demonstrated the feasibility of sustainable plant-based protein extraction. The project has developed pilot-scale biorefineries that recover low-cost dietary proteins from algae and plant-based biomass. READ MORE...
  • June 14, 2024: Engineers at the University of California San Diego have developed microscopic robots, known as microrobots, capable of swimming through the lungs to deliver cancer-fighting medication directly to metastatic tumors. This approach has shown promise in mice, where it inhibited the growth and spread of tumors that had metastasized to the lungs, thereby boosting survival rates compared to control treatments. READ MORE...
  • June 12, 2024: The PROTEUS consortium of 11 international partners, funded by the Circular Bio-Based Europe Joint Undertaking, intends to establish the first industrial-scale biorefinery for brown seaweeds. This facility will enhance sustainable production of bio-based ingredients from Laminaria hyperborea, an untapped European renewable resource, meeting global demand in food, feed, personal care, and industrial sectors. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide