使用霍尼韦尔新型藻类燃料的首架喷气式飞机

海藻网     海洋农业 2022 欧盟
霍尼韦尔藻类喷气燃料

由 UOP Ecofining 工艺生产的 Honeywell Green Jet Fuel™ 可与商业规模的石油基喷气燃料无缝混合。

T最近在日本完成的两个商业航班使用了一种含有由微藻制成的可再生喷气燃料的混合物。 商业飞行采用霍尼韦尔/UOP Ecofining 流程,是首次使用新的 ASTM D7566 附件 7 标准用于商用喷气发动机的燃料。 这些航班是由 日本航空 空客 A350-900 和全日空航空公司的波音 787-8。

微藻油原料由总部位于日本的 IHI 公司生产,该公司与 UOP 接洽,将新型藻油用于使用 UOP Ecofining 生产可再生喷气燃料。 自 2016 年以来,霍尼韦尔 UOP 的 Ecofining 工艺是用于商业生产可持续航空燃料 (SAF) 的首项技术,已用于商业生产 SAF。

经过严格的测试过程,UOP 生产的 SAF 获得了 ASTM 的监管批准,符合喷气燃料标准 D7566 附件 7。符合该标准的燃料具有与现有喷气燃料(煤油)相同的材料特性,即使它是与现有燃料混合,不需要改造现有基础设施或飞机材料,如发动机或燃料供应设施。 作为一种燃料,它可以用于世界各地以及日本的商用飞机的运营。

“我们开始研究这项下一代技术,以减少与航空运输相关的二氧化碳排放,”IHI 公司藻类生物燃料集团副董事兼负责人 Tomoo Mizuno 说。 “我们选择与霍尼韦尔 UOP 合作,是因为它在 Ecofining 技术方面的良好记录。 在成功大规模培养微藻以生产藻油并在泰国进行测试后,我们与 UOP 合作在美国开发了批量燃料”

UOP 技术仍然是世界上唯一经过商业验证的 100% SAF 生产工艺。 以这种方式生产的 Honeywell Green Jet Fuel™ 可与商业规模的石油基喷气燃料无缝混合。 当与石油基喷气燃料混合使用高达 50% 时,霍尼韦尔绿色喷气燃料不需要改变飞机技术,并符合所有关键的飞行规范。

与 Eni SpA 共同开发的 UOP 生态精炼 该工艺将不可食用的天然油、动物脂肪和其他废物原料转化为霍尼韦尔绿色柴油™ 和霍尼韦尔绿色喷气燃料™,其化学性质与石油基同类产品相同。 与商用石油基柴油和喷气燃料相比,这两种产品都具有更高的性能,并且可用作飞机中高达 10% 的石油航空燃料混合物的替代品,无需修改设备。

Ecofining 技术用于生产可再生柴油的大多数 100% 生物饲料装置以及当今世界上所有获得许可的可再生喷气燃料生产。 UOP 目前已在全球 24 个国家/地区获得 12 个 Ecofining 单位的许可,处理 XNUMX 种不同类型的可再生原料。

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

First Jet Flights with Honeywell’s New Algal Fuel

algaeurope.org   Women of Algae
Honeywell algae jet fuel

Honeywell Green Jet Fuel™ produced by the UOP Ecofining process is blended seamlessly with petroleum-based jet fuel at commercial scale.

Two commercial flights, which were recently completed in Japan, used a blend containing renewable jet fuel created from microalgae. Employing the Honeywell/UOP Ecofining process, the commercial flights were the first use of the new ASTM D7566 Annex 7 standard for fuel used in commercial jet engines. The flights were carried out by Japan Airlines on an Airbus A350-900, and All Nippon Airways on a Boeing 787-8.

The microalgae oil feed was produced by the Japanese-based IHI Corporation, which approached UOP with the novel algal oil for production of renewable jet fuel using UOP Ecofining. The first technology used for commercial production of sustainable aviation fuel (SAF,) Honeywell UOP’s Ecofining process has been used to produce SAF commercially since 2016.

Following a rigorous testing process, the SAF produced by the UOP’s received regulatory approval from ASTM to meet jet fuel standard D7566 Annex 7. Fuel that conforms to this standard has the same material properties as existing jet fuel (kerosene), and even if it is mixed with existing fuel, it does not require modification of existing infrastructure or aircraft materials such as engines or fuel supply facilities. As a drop in-fuel, it can be used in the operation of commercial aircraft around the world as well as in Japan.

“We began working on this next-generation technology to reduce CO₂ emissions related to air transportation,” said Tomoo Mizuno, Associated Director and Head of Algae-based Biofuel Group, of IHI Corporation. “And we chose to work with Honeywell UOP due to its proven track record with Ecofining technology. After the successful large-scale culturing of microalgae to produce the algal oil and testing in Thailand, we worked with UOP to develop batches of the fuel in the U.S.”

The UOP technology remains the only commercially demonstrated process for 100% production of SAF in the world. Honeywell Green Jet Fuel™ produced this way is blended seamlessly with petroleum-based jet fuel at commercial scale. When used in up to a 50% blend with petroleum-based jet fuel, Honeywell Green Jet Fuel requires no changes to aircraft technology and meets all critical specifications for flight.

Jointly developed with Eni SpA, the UOP Ecofining process converts non-edible natural oils, animal fats and other waste feedstocks to Honeywell Green Diesel™ and Honeywell Green Jet Fuel™, which is chemically identical to petroleum-based counterparts. Both products offer improved performance over commercial petroleum-based diesel and jet fuels and can be used as a drop-in replacement for up to a 10% blend with petroleum aviation fuel in aircraft with no equipment modifications.

The Ecofining technology is used in most 100%-biofeed units producing renewable diesel and all the licensed renewable jet fuel production in the world today. UOP currently has licensed 24 Ecofining units in eleven countries around the world, processing 12 different types of renewable feedstocks.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Advertisement
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board

Archives