Premiers vols en jet avec le nouveau carburant algal de Honeywell

algaeurope.org   Femmes d'algues
Carburéacteur aux algues Honeywell

Honeywell Green Jet Fuel™ produit par le processus UOP Ecofining est mélangé de manière transparente avec du carburéacteur à base de pétrole à l'échelle commerciale.

Two vols commerciaux, qui ont été récemment achevés au Japon, ont utilisé un mélange contenant du carburéacteur renouvelable créé à partir de microalgues. Utilisant le processus Honeywell/UOP Ecofining, les vols commerciaux ont été la première utilisation de la nouvelle norme ASTM D7566 Annexe 7 pour le carburant utilisé dans les moteurs à réaction commerciaux. Les vols ont été effectués par Japan Airlines sur un Airbus A350-900 et All Nippon Airways sur un Boeing 787-8.

L'alimentation en huile de microalgues a été produite par la société japonaise IHI Corporation, qui a approché UOP avec la nouvelle huile d'algues pour la production de carburéacteur renouvelable à l'aide d'UOP Ecofining. La première technologie utilisée pour la production commerciale de carburant d'aviation durable (SAF), le processus Ecofining de Honeywell UOP est utilisé pour produire commercialement du SAF depuis 2016.

Suite à un processus de test rigoureux, le SAF produit par l'UOP a reçu l'approbation réglementaire de l'ASTM pour répondre à la norme de carburéacteur D7566 Annexe 7. Le carburant conforme à cette norme a les mêmes propriétés matérielles que le carburéacteur existant (kérosène), et même s'il est mélangé avec du carburant existant, il ne nécessite pas de modification des infrastructures existantes ou des matériaux d'aéronefs tels que les moteurs ou les installations d'approvisionnement en carburant. En tant que goutte de carburant, il peut être utilisé dans l'exploitation d'avions commerciaux dans le monde entier ainsi qu'au Japon.

« Nous avons commencé à travailler sur cette technologie de nouvelle génération pour réduire les émissions de CO₂ liées au transport aérien », a déclaré Tomoo Mizuno, directeur associé et responsable du groupe de biocarburants à base d'algues, d'IHI Corporation. « Et nous avons choisi de travailler avec Honeywell UOP en raison de ses antécédents éprouvés avec la technologie Ecofining. Après la culture réussie à grande échelle de microalgues pour produire de l'huile d'algues et des tests en Thaïlande, nous avons travaillé avec UOP pour développer des lots de carburant aux États-Unis.

La technologie UOP reste le seul procédé commercialement démontré pour une production à 100 % de SAF dans le monde. Honeywell Green Jet Fuel™ produit de cette manière est mélangé de manière transparente avec du carburéacteur à base de pétrole à l'échelle commerciale. Lorsqu'il est utilisé dans un mélange allant jusqu'à 50 % avec du carburéacteur à base de pétrole, le carburéacteur vert Honeywell ne nécessite aucune modification de la technologie de l'avion et répond à toutes les spécifications critiques pour le vol.

Développé conjointement avec Eni SpA, le Écofinage UOP Le processus convertit les huiles naturelles non comestibles, les graisses animales et autres matières premières des déchets en Honeywell Green Diesel™ et Honeywell Green Jet Fuel™, qui sont chimiquement identiques à leurs homologues à base de pétrole. Les deux produits offrent des performances améliorées par rapport aux carburants diesel et aviation commerciaux à base de pétrole et peuvent être utilisés en remplacement d'un mélange pouvant aller jusqu'à 10 % avec du carburant aviation à base de pétrole dans les avions sans aucune modification de l'équipement.

La technologie Ecofining est utilisée dans la plupart des unités 100% biofeed produisant du diesel renouvelable et dans toute la production de carburéacteur renouvelable sous licence dans le monde aujourd'hui. UOP possède actuellement 24 unités d'Ecofining sous licence dans onze pays à travers le monde, traitant 12 types différents de matières premières renouvelables.

Tous les droits sont réservés. Autorisation requise pour réimprimer les articles dans leur intégralité. Doit inclure une déclaration de copyright et des hyperliens en direct. Contacter david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepte les manuscrits non sollicités pour examen et n'assume aucune responsabilité quant à la validité des affirmations formulées dans l'éditorial soumis.

Publicité
Annonce Algametrics

S’abonner

Site d'emploi de l'industrie des algues

Archives

First Jet Flights with Honeywell’s New Algal Fuel

 Seagriculture EU 2024
Honeywell algae jet fuel

Honeywell Green Jet Fuel™ produced by the UOP Ecofining process is blended seamlessly with petroleum-based jet fuel at commercial scale.

Two commercial flights, which were recently completed in Japan, used a blend containing renewable jet fuel created from microalgae. Employing the Honeywell/UOP Ecofining process, the commercial flights were the first use of the new ASTM D7566 Annex 7 standard for fuel used in commercial jet engines. The flights were carried out by Japan Airlines on an Airbus A350-900, and All Nippon Airways on a Boeing 787-8.

The microalgae oil feed was produced by the Japanese-based IHI Corporation, which approached UOP with the novel algal oil for production of renewable jet fuel using UOP Ecofining. The first technology used for commercial production of sustainable aviation fuel (SAF,) Honeywell UOP’s Ecofining process has been used to produce SAF commercially since 2016.

Following a rigorous testing process, the SAF produced by the UOP’s received regulatory approval from ASTM to meet jet fuel standard D7566 Annex 7. Fuel that conforms to this standard has the same material properties as existing jet fuel (kerosene), and even if it is mixed with existing fuel, it does not require modification of existing infrastructure or aircraft materials such as engines or fuel supply facilities. As a drop in-fuel, it can be used in the operation of commercial aircraft around the world as well as in Japan.

“We began working on this next-generation technology to reduce CO₂ emissions related to air transportation,” said Tomoo Mizuno, Associated Director and Head of Algae-based Biofuel Group, of IHI Corporation. “And we chose to work with Honeywell UOP due to its proven track record with Ecofining technology. After the successful large-scale culturing of microalgae to produce the algal oil and testing in Thailand, we worked with UOP to develop batches of the fuel in the U.S.”

The UOP technology remains the only commercially demonstrated process for 100% production of SAF in the world. Honeywell Green Jet Fuel™ produced this way is blended seamlessly with petroleum-based jet fuel at commercial scale. When used in up to a 50% blend with petroleum-based jet fuel, Honeywell Green Jet Fuel requires no changes to aircraft technology and meets all critical specifications for flight.

Jointly developed with Eni SpA, the UOP Ecofining process converts non-edible natural oils, animal fats and other waste feedstocks to Honeywell Green Diesel™ and Honeywell Green Jet Fuel™, which is chemically identical to petroleum-based counterparts. Both products offer improved performance over commercial petroleum-based diesel and jet fuels and can be used as a drop-in replacement for up to a 10% blend with petroleum aviation fuel in aircraft with no equipment modifications.

The Ecofining technology is used in most 100%-biofeed units producing renewable diesel and all the licensed renewable jet fuel production in the world today. UOP currently has licensed 24 Ecofining units in eleven countries around the world, processing 12 different types of renewable feedstocks.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • May 17, 2024: BettaF!sh, a leading alt seafood and seaweed start-up in Europe, has announced its involvement in the FunSea project, a collaborative EU-wide research initiative designed to advance the nutritional quality and safety of cultivated brown and green seaweed. This research project intends to develop novel, sustainable food products over a three-year period, by employing cutting-edge processing technologies and utilizing residual biomass from biomarine industries. READ MORE...
  • May 15, 2024: The 2024 Algae Biomass Summit, to be held in Houston, Texas, October 20-22, 2024, is now accepting speaker and poster abstracts for the world’s largest algae conference. Abstracts should be submitted by May 24th to receive preferential scoring by the review committee, as well as student registration discounts. READ MORE...
  • May 13, 2024: The Tasmanian Government is investing $4 million in the agricultural sector with the goal to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from livestock by more than 16,000 tons. “The TasFarmers proposal will use Sea Forest’s Asparagopsis SeaFeed as a feed additive to some 24,000 head of livestock in this large-scale trial to demonstrate commercial-scale viability of Asparagopsis feed supplements,” said Minister for Parks and Environment, Nick Duigan. READ MORE...
  • May 10, 2024: Dallas-based public charity the Cares Organization has received a substantial donation from the National Christian Foundation and ZimWorx to kickstart their newest sponsored project, the Eat To Grow Development and Upliftment Program, which aims to address food insecurity and poverty in Zimbabwe by establishing a microalgae spirulina farm which will feed 500 people per day in a sustainable way. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide