苏格兰海藻苗圃的资金支持

海藻网   藻类妇女

海藻苗圃经理 Callum O'Connell 检查在 SAMS 海藻农场种植的海藻。

A苏格兰海洋科学协会 (SAMS) 的海藻苗圃扩建和商业化项目耗资 150,000 英镑,已获得高地和岛屿企业 (HIE) 高达 75,000 英镑的投资。 该苗圃将由SAMS的全资商业子公司SAMS Enterprise运营。

SAMS企业 是海藻产业发展的核心,包括研究、创新和商业,它们构成了阿盖尔更广泛的水产养殖经济的一部分。 它生产用于商业和研究目的的种子系,并在海藻养殖的教育和培训中发挥着越来越大的作用。

该项目将提高生产能力,提高效率,并提升研究所的应用研究能力。 它还将支持 1.5 个等效的全职技术工作。 这项投资将使 SAMS Enterprise 能够进一步将其苗圃服务商业化,并满足商业海藻养殖场对高质量种子线不断增长的需求。 海藻产业是全球水产养殖产量增长最快的领域,目前每年产值超过 11 亿英镑。 

苗圃场地已经过重新配置,以通过改装实验室、升级海水供应和安装专业设备来优化生产。

“欧洲海洋科学园是苏格兰不断发展的海洋经济的主要枢纽,”HIE 阿盖尔和群岛区域经理莫拉格古德费罗说。 “这里不断扩大的活动集群很大程度上建立在前沿科学研究与不断扩大的商业机会范围之间的联系上。

SAMS Enterprise 负责人 Mike Spain 补充说:“来自 HIE 的这一非常受欢迎的支持支持了这个新兴行业,它是苏格兰西海岸和英国更远地区蓝色经济中不断增长的参与者。”

“100 多年来,SAMS 一直处于全球宏观和微藻以及海洋生物技术研究和开发的前沿,”他说。 “这种以科学为主导的专业知识转化为实际应用,因为我们致力于生产海洋,同时保护海洋环境。”

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

广告
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

Funding Boost for Seaweed Nursery in Scotland

Seaweed nursery manager Callum O’Connell examines seaweed grown at the SAMS seaweed farm.

A£150,000 project to expand and commercialize the seaweed nursery at the Scottish Association of Marine Science (SAMS) has secured up to £75,000 investment from Highlands and Islands Enterprise (HIE). The nursery will be operated by SAMS Enterprise, the wholly owned commercial subsidiary of SAMS.

SAMS Enterprise is at the heart of the seaweed industry development, including research, innovation and commerce, which forms part of Argyll’s wider aquaculture economy. It produces seeded line for both commercial and research purposes and has a growing role in education and training for seaweed farming.

The project will increase production capacity, improve efficiency, and advance the institute’s applied research capabilities. It will also support 1.5 full time equivalent skilled jobs. This investment will enable SAMS Enterprise to further commercialize its nursery services and fulfil the growing demand for high-quality seeded line for commercial seaweed farms. The seaweed industry is the world’s fastest growing area of global aquaculture production, currently worth over £11bn a year. 

The Nursery premises have been reconfigured to optimize production with refitted laboratories, upgraded seawater supply and installation of specialist equipment.

“The European Marine Science Park is a major hub in Scotland’s growing marine economy,” said Morag Goodfellow, HIE’s area manager for Argyll and the Islands. “The expanding cluster of activity here is very much founded on the links between cutting edge scientific research and the expanding range of commercial opportunities.

Mike Spain, head of SAMS Enterprise, added: “This very welcome support from HIE supports this emerging industry, which is a growing player in the blue economy on the west coast of Scotland and further afield throughout the UK.”

“SAMS has been at the leading edge of global macro and microalgae and marine biotechnology research and development for more than 100 years,” he said. “This science-led expertise translates to practical applications as we work toward productive oceans, while safeguarding the marine environment.”

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact editorial@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Advertisement
Phenometrics Ad

Subscribe