警告:file_get_contents(/home/customer/www/algaeplanet.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/Extra/style-rtl.min.css):无法打开流:没有这样的文件或目录 /home/customer/www/algaeplanet.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/Extra/includes/core.php 上线 505
在废水之外种植藻类

在废水之外生长藻类

  海洋农业 2022 欧盟
生长藻类

信用卡:CC0 Public Domain

by 布兰迪·杰斐逊, 华盛顿大学,圣路易斯

G多年来,废水中的划船藻类一直是研究的热门话题。 数十年来,新闻报道吹捧最新研究使我们能够获得新的肥料来源或更环保的生物燃料。

然而,到目前为止,这些承诺还没有兑现。 原因之一是废水中生长的藻类容易受到污染。 但即使不是,也不清楚在实验室中设想的藻类应用是否是实验室外最现实的应用。

然而,在圣路易斯华盛顿大学 McKelvey 工程学院的一个实验室内,研究人员在开发一种新方法以利用从 废水 生长的藻类纯度是直接在传统废水中生长的藻类的两倍以上。

该研究于去年年底在线发表在该杂志上 水研究.

珍和能源、环境和化学工程教授说,问题始于我们目前从废水中提取的藻类的质量。 “汽油价格可能看起来很贵,但在美国它仍然相对便宜,”何博士说。 在价格方面,来自废水中生长的藻类的生物燃料根本无法竞争。

以这种方式种植藻类如此昂贵的原因之一是质量控制。 藻类可以在废水中生长,因为其中含有营养物质; 一个人的废物是另一种藻类的食物。 氮、磷、溶解的有机碳——这些废物的副产品是藻类生长所需的营养物质。

然而,不出所料,当你试图在废水中种植藻类时,“你得到的是一团糟,”何博士说。 “这是废水。 是的,你会得到藻类。 你也会感染细菌。 任何东西都会在那里生长。 因此,在废水中生长的藻类生物质价值低,从而降低了整体经济利润。”

彻底改变流程

贺博士和他的团队开发了一种彻底改变这一过程的方法,将废水中的养分带入藻类,而不是将藻类放入废水中。 该过程取决于何博士实验室开发的微生物电化学系统。

使用该系统,该团队使用生物电来提取养分,然后将它们带到藻类,更有效地喂养它们并产生更纯净的藻类生物质。

为了测试其纯度,他们从华盛顿大学的食品服务处抽取废水; 在一半的样本中,他们添加了藻类。 在另一半中,他们使用何博士的废水处理系统从废水中提取营养物质,然后将其用于喂养藻类。 然后他们测量了所得藻类生物质的纯度。

以提取的养分为食的藻类是 90% 以上的藻类。 当藻类在废水中生长时,产生的生物质只有 32% 的藻类。 “几乎 70% 是细菌,”何博士说。

最终,这些藻类可用于合成某些化合物 生物炼制 — 就像炼油厂,将石油(原油)转化为汽油和其他有用的产品 — 但没有同样的环境危害影响。

然而,首先,何博士着手提高他可以生产的藻类生物质的纯度,并表示,“我想要 95% 或 98% 的藻类。” 然后他将继续研究什么条件最有利于特定藻类,以确定什么可能是最经济可行的化合物生产。

“城市污水到处都是相似的,”何博士说。 “欧洲的废水与洛杉矶的废​​水相同。 而且你想开发一些东西,让其他地方的人可以说,'这可以在这里工作。'”

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

藻类妇女

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

Growing Algae Outside of Wastewater

  Algae Europe December 2022
Growing-Algae

Credit: CC0 Public Domain

by Brandie Jefferson, Washington University, St. Louis

G​rowing algae in wastewater has been a hot topic in research for years. News reports have touted the latest research as bringing us within reach of new sources of fertilizer or environmentally friendlier biofuel for decades.

So far, however, these promises have not been fulfilled. One reason is that the algae grown in wastewater tends to be contaminated. But even if it weren’t, it’s not clear that the applications for the algae that have been dreamed up in the lab would be the most realistic applications outside the lab.

Inside one lab, however, at the McKelvey School of Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis, researchers had applications in mind when they developed a new method to use nutrients recovered from wastewater to grow algae that is more than twice as pure as algae grown directly in conventional wastewater.

The research was published online late last year in the journal Water Research.

Zhen He, professor of energy, environmental and chemical engineering, said the problem starts with the quality of algae we currently get from wastewater. “Gas prices may seem expensive, but it’s still relatively inexpensive in the United States,” Dr. He said. Price-wise, biofuels from algae grown in wastewater simply can’t compete.

One of the reasons growing algae this way is so expensive is quality control. Algae can grow in wastewater because of the nutrients found therein; one person’s waste is another algae’s food. Nitrogen, phosphorus, dissolved organic carbon — these byproducts of our waste are the nutrients algae need to grow.

Unsurprisingly, however, when you are trying to grow algae in wastewater, “what you get is messy,” Dr. He said. “It’s wastewater. Yes, you get algae. You get bacteria also. Anything will grow there. So, algae biomass grown in wastewater has low value, which reduces the overall economic profit.”

Turning the process on its head

Dr. He and his team developed a way to turn the process on its head, bringing the nutrients from the wastewater to the algae, rather than putting algae into the wastewater. The process hinges on a microbial electrochemical system developed in Dr. He’s lab.

Using this system, the team used bioelectricity to extract nutrients and then take them to the algae, feeding them more efficiently and leading to purer algal biomass.

To test its purity, they took wastewater from Washington University’s food services; in half of the sample, they added algae. In the other half, they used Dr. He’s wastewater treatment system to extract the nutrients from the wastewater, which they then used to feed algae. Then they measured the purity of the resulting algal biomass.

The algae fed on extracted nutrients was more than 90% algae. When the algae were grown in the wastewater, the resulting biomass was just 32% algae. “It was almost 70% bacteria,” Dr. He said.

Ultimately, these algae could be used to synthesize certain compounds in a biorefinery — like an oil refinery where petroleum (crude oil) is transformed into gasoline and other useful products — but without the same environmentally hazardous repercussions.

First, however, Dr. He is set on increasing the purity of the algal biomass he can produce, stating, “I want 95% or 98% algae.” Then he will go on to investigate what conditions are most conducive to particular algae to determine what might be the most economically viable compound to produce.

“Municipal wastewater is similar everywhere,” Dr. He said. “Wastewater in Europe is the same as wastewater in Los Angeles. And you want to develop something where people in other places can say, ‘That can work here.’”

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

SeagricultureAPAC
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide