认识海洋生态学家詹妮弗·史密斯

  藻类欧洲 2022 年 XNUMX 月

M海洋生态学家詹妮弗·史密斯(Jennifer Smith)正致力于培育一种有可能成为气候变化解决方案的海藻。 当喂给奶牛时,海藻 Asparagopsis taxformis 可以减少 95% 的由细菌产生的甲烷,这些细菌有助于牲畜的反刍动物消化。

奶牛、绵羊、山羊和水牛每年会排出相当于超过 XNUMX 亿吨二氧化碳的甲烷。 畜牧业排放的温室气体与整个全球运输业相当。

在这段由 Scripps Oceanography 和 UC San Diego 制作的视频中,Smith 博士讨论了她在推进天门冬菌种植中的作用及其可扩展性的潜力。 在科学家、企业家、初创公司、慈善家和投资者的帮助下,我们可以种植足够多的这种红海藻来产生影响。

我们都是耳朵!

我们很想听听 Algae Planet 如何对您最有价值。 您是否愿意接受这个一分钟的(我们是认真的)调查来帮助我们改善您的读者体验? 不用担心,这只是为了我们的眼睛,我们将严格保护您提供的任何信息。 谢谢您,我们非常珍惜您的时间并感谢您的想法!

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会
第五届藻类世界欧盟

初学者指南

Meet Jennifer Smith, Marine Ecologist

  Algae Europe December 2022

Marine ecologist Jennifer Smith is working on cultivating a type of seaweed with the potential to be a climate change solution. When fed to cows, the seaweed Asparagopsis taxiformis can generate a 95% reduction in methane produced by the bacteria that help with ruminant digestion in livestock.

Cows, sheep, goats, and buffalo burp out the methane equivalent of over three gigatons of carbon dioxide per year. The livestock industry emits an equivalent amount of greenhouse gasses as the entire global transportation industry.

In this video, produced by Scripps Oceanography and UC San Diego, Dr. Smith discusses her role in advancing the cultivation of Asparagopsis, and its potential for scalability. With the help of scientists, entrepreneurs, startups, philanthropists, and investors, we can grow enough of this red seaweed to have an impact.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2022   Seagriculture 2022 EU
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board

A Beginner’s Guide

Subscribe to Algae Planet

Join our subscriber list to receive the latest news and updates from Algae Planet.

You have Successfully Subscribed!