Nouvelle coalition pour accélérer la croissance de l'industrie européenne des algues

algaeurope.org   Femmes d'algues
industrie des algues

L'Europe reste le premier importateur mondial de produits à base d'algues en termes de valeur.

The Coalition Algues pour l'Europe récemment lancé avec 30 membres, couvrant plus de 10 pays européens, à travers la chaîne de valeur des algues. La Coalition a l'intention de faire progresser le développement d'une économie océanique durable et de stimuler la reprise verte post-COVID-19. À cette fin, il s'est concentré sur la définition et la mise en œuvre d'un programme clair pour le développement d'une industrie des algues innovante, résiliente et équitable.

Le marché mondial des algues est actuellement sur une trajectoire ascendante, qui devrait croître de 12% par an d'ici 2024, selon Allied Market Research. L'Asie est le point focal de l'industrie, tandis que l'Europe reste le premier importateur de produits à base d'algues dans le monde en termes de valeur (613 millions de dollars en 2016 tel que publié par l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture).

Dans le même temps, l'Europe abrite une communauté d'innovateurs en plein essor, offrant une gamme de nouveaux modèles commerciaux et solutions, notamment des technologies agricoles hautement automatisées, des approches d'élevage sélectif ou d'autres types de matières premières qui réduisent les émissions de méthane des ruminants.

« Il y a un vrai buzz dans l'industrie en ce moment. Les acteurs innovants sont désireux de catalyser la croissance, mais de manière durable : respectueuse du climat, plus juste et plus collaborative, résiliente aux chocs futurs », a déclaré Adrien Vincent, directeur de programme, Algues pour l'Europe. «Afin de libérer ce potentiel, nous devons faire mieux connaître le« champion caché », en particulier parmi les décideurs politiques et commerciaux de haut niveau, afin d'assurer une meilleure réglementation et de mobiliser les investissements dans l'industrie. C'est là que le travail de la Coalition jouera un rôle central.

Le potentiel offert par les algues est également étroitement intégré aux objectifs du Green Deal européen, alors que la Commission cherche à développer des industries de technologies propres et à faible émission de carbone, à soutenir des modèles agricoles régénératifs et à créer de nouvelles opportunités d'emploi dans le cadre de son programme à long terme. stratégie de relance post-COVID-19. « Les algues relèvent certains des principaux défis auxquels nous sommes actuellement confrontés, en offrant des solutions prometteuses qui peuvent soutenir la reprise verte », a déclaré Janez Potočnik, ancien commissaire européen et partenaire de la société de capital-risque SYSTEMIQ.

Alors, quelle est la prochaine étape?

Dans une prochaine étape, la Coalition s'efforcera de quantifier l'analyse de rentabilisation sous-jacente pour l'industrie en :

  • Définir le potentiel de croissance du marché
  • Identifier les points d'intervention tout au long de la chaîne de valeur, et
  • Détermination des besoins d'investissement correspondants.

Ces conclusions seront ensuite traduites en un programme d'action sur le terrain dirigé par les membres de la Coalition. « Alors que la Coalition accélère son rythme, nous appelons toutes les parties prenantes intéressées à travailler ensemble pour créer une industrie intégrée et avant-gardiste », a déclaré Vidar Helgesen, coprésident de la Coalition. « C'est l'occasion de bien faire les choses dès le départ en déterminant la voie la plus durable pour une industrie à mesure qu'elle se développe. Tirons les leçons des succès et des erreurs commises dans d'autres industries et accélérons les algues pour qu'elles réalisent leur potentiel.

Tous les droits sont réservés. Autorisation requise pour réimprimer les articles dans leur intégralité. Doit inclure une déclaration de copyright et des hyperliens en direct. Contacter david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepte les manuscrits non sollicités pour examen et n'assume aucune responsabilité quant à la validité des affirmations formulées dans l'éditorial soumis.

Publicité
Annonce Algametrics

S’abonner

Site d'emploi de l'industrie des algues

Archives

New Coalition to Accelerate Growth in European Seaweed Industry

 Seagriculture EU 2024
seaweed industry

Europe remains the top importer of seaweed products worldwide in terms of value.

The Seaweed for Europe Coalition recently launched with 30 members, spanning 10+ European countries, across the seaweed value chain. The Coalition intends to advance the development of a sustainable ocean economy and drive post-COVID-19 green recovery. To this end, it has set its focus on defining and implementing a clear agenda for the scaling of an innovative, resilient, and fair seaweed industry.

The global seaweed market currently is on an upward trajectory, projected to grow at 12% a year towards 2024, according to Allied Market Research. Asia is the focal point of the industry, while Europe remains the top importer of seaweed products worldwide in terms of value ($613M in 2016 as published by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations).

At the same time, Europe is home to a burgeoning community of innovators, offering a range of novel business models and solutions, including highly automated farming technologies, selective breeding approaches or alternative types of feedstock which reduce methane emissions from ruminants.

“There is a real buzz in the industry right now. Innovative players are eager to catalyze growth, but in a sustainable manner: climate friendly, fairer and more collaborative, resilient to future shocks,” said Adrien Vincent, Program Director, Seaweed for Europe. “In order to unlock this potential, we must create greater awareness of the ‘hidden champion,’ especially among high-level policy and business decision-makers, to ensure better regulation and mobilize investments into the industry. This is where the work of the Coalition will play a central role.”

The potential offered by seaweed is also closely integrated with the objectives of the European Green Deal, as the Commission looks to develop clean-tech and low-carbon industries, support regenerative agricultural models and create new opportunities for employment as part of its long-term post-COVID-19 recovery strategy. “Seaweed addresses some of the core challenges we currently face, offering promising solutions which can support green recovery,” said former EU-Commissioner and risk capital company SYSTEMIQ partner Janez Potočnik.

So, What’s Next?

In a next step, the Coalition will work towards quantifying the underlying business case for the industry by:

  • Defining the potential for market growth
  • Identifying intervention points along the value chain, and
  • Determining corresponding investment needs.

These findings will then be translated into an on-the-ground action program driven by Coalition members. “As the Coalition steps up its pace, we call on all interested stakeholders to work together in creating an integrated and forward-thinking industry,” said Vidar Helgesen, Co-Chair of the Coalition. “This is an opportunity to get it right from the start by determining the most sustainable path for an industry as it grows. Let’s learn from successes as well as mistakes made in other industries and accelerate seaweed to fulfill its potential.”

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • February 19, 2024: Microalgae producer Phycom, based in Veenendaal, The Netherlands, has received a €1.75 million investment from ROM Utrecht Region, together with a private investor. This follows its recent Series A investment, bringing the total raised funding to more than €10.5 million in six months. READ MORE...
  • February 16, 2024: “We believe everyday materials should help to replenish the planet from sea to soil,” says Julia Marsh, co-founder of Sway, the California startup replacing plastic packaging with seaweed-based solutions, that recently secured a $5 million seed round. “The launch of our thermoplastic seaweed materials, along with an influx of new capital targeted at scaling production, signifies tangible progress toward a more circular future.” READ MORE...
  • February 12, 2024: German made equipment will be used this year to turn the sargassum that lands in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, into fuel. Lourdes Várguez, the Secretary of Sustainable Environment and Climate Change, says the equipment will be tested to take advantage of the municipality’s unwanted seaweed. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide