加速欧洲海藻产业增长的新联盟

海藻网   藻类妇女
海藻产业

就价值而言,欧洲仍然是全球海藻产品的最大进口国。

The 欧洲海藻联盟 最近推出了 30 个成员,跨越 10 多个欧洲国家,横跨海藻价值链。 联盟打算推动可持续海洋经济的发展并推动 COVID-19 后的绿色复苏。 为此,它已将重点放在定义和实施明确的议程上,以扩大创新、有弹性和公平的海藻产业。

根据 Allied Market Research 的数据,全球海藻市场目前正处于上升轨道,预计到 12 年将以每年 2024% 的速度增长。 亚洲是该行业的焦点,而就价值而言,欧洲仍然是全球海藻产品的最大进口国(联合国粮食及农业组织公布的 613 年为 2016 亿美元)。

与此同时,欧洲是新兴创新社区的家园,提供一系列新颖的商业模式和解决方案,包括高度自动化的农业技术、选择性育种方法或可减少反刍动物甲烷排放的替代原料类型。

“现在这个行业真的很热闹。 创新型参与者渴望以可持续的方式促进增长:气候友好、更公平、更协作、对未来冲击具有弹性,”欧洲海藻项目总监 Adrien Vincent 说。 “为了释放这种潜力,我们必须提高对‘隐形冠军’的认识,特别是在高层政策和商业决策者中,以确保更好地监管并动员对该行业的投资。 这就是联盟的工作将发挥核心作用的地方。”

海藻提供的潜力也与欧洲绿色协议的目标紧密结合,因为委员会希望发展清洁技术和低碳产业,支持再生农业模式并创造新的就业机会,作为其长期发展的一部分。 COVID-19 后恢复策略。 “海藻解决了我们目前面临的一些核心挑战,提供了可以支持绿色复苏的有前景的解决方案,”前欧盟委员会委员兼风险资本公司 SYSTEMIQ 合伙人 Janez Potočnik 说。

下一个是什么?

下一步,联盟将致力于通过以下方式量化该行业的基本商业案例:

  • 定义市场增长潜力
  • 确定价值链中的干预点,以及
  • 确定相应的投资需求。

然后,这些发现将转化为由联盟成员推动的实地行动计划。 联盟联合主席 Vidar Helgesen 表示:“随着联盟加快步伐,我们呼吁所有感兴趣的利益相关者共同努力,创建一个综合性和前瞻性的行业。” “这是一个机会,可以通过为一个行业的发展确定最可持续的道路,从一开始就做到正确。 让我们从其他行业的成功和错误中吸取教训,加速海藻发挥其潜力。”

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

广告
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

New Coalition to Accelerate Growth in European Seaweed Industry

 Seagriculture EU 2024
seaweed industry

Europe remains the top importer of seaweed products worldwide in terms of value.

The Seaweed for Europe Coalition recently launched with 30 members, spanning 10+ European countries, across the seaweed value chain. The Coalition intends to advance the development of a sustainable ocean economy and drive post-COVID-19 green recovery. To this end, it has set its focus on defining and implementing a clear agenda for the scaling of an innovative, resilient, and fair seaweed industry.

The global seaweed market currently is on an upward trajectory, projected to grow at 12% a year towards 2024, according to Allied Market Research. Asia is the focal point of the industry, while Europe remains the top importer of seaweed products worldwide in terms of value ($613M in 2016 as published by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations).

At the same time, Europe is home to a burgeoning community of innovators, offering a range of novel business models and solutions, including highly automated farming technologies, selective breeding approaches or alternative types of feedstock which reduce methane emissions from ruminants.

“There is a real buzz in the industry right now. Innovative players are eager to catalyze growth, but in a sustainable manner: climate friendly, fairer and more collaborative, resilient to future shocks,” said Adrien Vincent, Program Director, Seaweed for Europe. “In order to unlock this potential, we must create greater awareness of the ‘hidden champion,’ especially among high-level policy and business decision-makers, to ensure better regulation and mobilize investments into the industry. This is where the work of the Coalition will play a central role.”

The potential offered by seaweed is also closely integrated with the objectives of the European Green Deal, as the Commission looks to develop clean-tech and low-carbon industries, support regenerative agricultural models and create new opportunities for employment as part of its long-term post-COVID-19 recovery strategy. “Seaweed addresses some of the core challenges we currently face, offering promising solutions which can support green recovery,” said former EU-Commissioner and risk capital company SYSTEMIQ partner Janez Potočnik.

So, What’s Next?

In a next step, the Coalition will work towards quantifying the underlying business case for the industry by:

  • Defining the potential for market growth
  • Identifying intervention points along the value chain, and
  • Determining corresponding investment needs.

These findings will then be translated into an on-the-ground action program driven by Coalition members. “As the Coalition steps up its pace, we call on all interested stakeholders to work together in creating an integrated and forward-thinking industry,” said Vidar Helgesen, Co-Chair of the Coalition. “This is an opportunity to get it right from the start by determining the most sustainable path for an industry as it grows. Let’s learn from successes as well as mistakes made in other industries and accelerate seaweed to fulfill its potential.”

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • February 19, 2024: Microalgae producer Phycom, based in Veenendaal, The Netherlands, has received a €1.75 million investment from ROM Utrecht Region, together with a private investor. This follows its recent Series A investment, bringing the total raised funding to more than €10.5 million in six months. READ MORE...
  • February 16, 2024: “We believe everyday materials should help to replenish the planet from sea to soil,” says Julia Marsh, co-founder of Sway, the California startup replacing plastic packaging with seaweed-based solutions, that recently secured a $5 million seed round. “The launch of our thermoplastic seaweed materials, along with an influx of new capital targeted at scaling production, signifies tangible progress toward a more circular future.” READ MORE...
  • February 12, 2024: German made equipment will be used this year to turn the sargassum that lands in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, into fuel. Lourdes Várguez, the Secretary of Sustainable Environment and Climate Change, says the equipment will be tested to take advantage of the municipality’s unwanted seaweed. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide