Neue Koalition zur Beschleunigung des Wachstums in der europäischen Algenindustrie

algaeurope.org   Frauen der Algen
Algenindustrie

Europa bleibt wertmäßig der weltweit führende Importeur von Algenprodukten.

The Algen für Europa-Koalition vor kurzem mit 30 Mitgliedern aus über 10 europäischen Ländern entlang der Algen-Wertschöpfungskette gestartet. Die Koalition beabsichtigt, die Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen Meereswirtschaft voranzutreiben und die grüne Erholung nach COVID-19 voranzutreiben. Zu diesem Zweck hat sie sich darauf konzentriert, eine klare Agenda für die Skalierung einer innovativen, widerstandsfähigen und fairen Algenindustrie zu definieren und umzusetzen.

Der globale Algenmarkt befindet sich derzeit auf einem Aufwärtstrend und soll laut Allied Market Research bis 12 um 2024% pro Jahr wachsen. Asien ist der Schwerpunkt der Branche, während Europa wertmäßig der weltweit führende Importeur von Algenprodukten bleibt (613 Millionen US-Dollar im Jahr 2016, wie von der Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen veröffentlicht).

Gleichzeitig ist Europa die Heimat einer aufstrebenden Gemeinschaft von Innovatoren, die eine Reihe neuartiger Geschäftsmodelle und Lösungen anbietet, darunter hochautomatisierte Landwirtschaftstechnologien, selektive Züchtungsansätze oder alternative Arten von Rohstoffen, die die Methanemissionen von Wiederkäuern reduzieren.

„In der Branche herrscht derzeit ein echter Buzz. Innovative Akteure sind bestrebt, Wachstum zu katalysieren, aber auf nachhaltige Weise: klimafreundlich, fairer und kooperativer, widerstandsfähig gegen zukünftige Schocks“, sagte Adrien Vincent, Programmdirektor von Seaweed for Europe. „Um dieses Potenzial zu erschließen, müssen wir insbesondere bei hochrangigen Entscheidungsträgern aus Politik und Wirtschaft ein größeres Bewusstsein für den ‚Hidden Champion' schaffen, um eine bessere Regulierung zu gewährleisten und Investitionen in die Branche zu mobilisieren. Hier wird die Arbeit der Koalition eine zentrale Rolle spielen.“

Das von Algen gebotene Potenzial ist auch eng mit den Zielen des europäischen Grünen Deals verknüpft, da die Kommission darauf abzielt, saubere Technologien und kohlenstoffarme Industrien zu entwickeln, regenerative Landwirtschaftsmodelle zu unterstützen und im Rahmen seines langfristigen Weges neue Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten zu schaffen Wiederherstellungsstrategie nach COVID-19. „Seaweed adressiert einige der Kernherausforderungen, mit denen wir derzeit konfrontiert sind, und bietet vielversprechende Lösungen, die eine grüne Erholung unterstützen können“, sagte der ehemalige EU-Kommissar und Risikokapitalgesellschafter SYSTEMIQ-Partner Janez Potočnik.

Was kommt als nächstes?

In einem nächsten Schritt wird die Koalition daran arbeiten, den zugrunde liegenden Business Case für die Branche zu quantifizieren, indem sie:

  • Definition des Marktwachstumspotenzials
  • Identifizierung von Interventionspunkten entlang der Wertschöpfungskette und
  • Ermittlung des entsprechenden Investitionsbedarfs.

Diese Erkenntnisse werden dann in ein Aktionsprogramm vor Ort umgesetzt, das von Koalitionsmitgliedern vorangetrieben wird. „Während die Koalition ihr Tempo erhöht, rufen wir alle interessierten Interessengruppen auf, zusammenzuarbeiten, um eine integrierte und zukunftsorientierte Industrie zu schaffen“, sagte Vidar Helgesen, Co-Vorsitzender der Koalition. „Dies ist eine Gelegenheit, es von Anfang an richtig zu machen, indem der nachhaltigste Weg für eine wachsende Branche festgelegt wird. Lassen Sie uns aus Erfolgen sowie Fehlern in anderen Branchen lernen und Algen beschleunigen, um ihr Potenzial auszuschöpfen.“

Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Erlaubnis erforderlich, Artikel in ihrer Gesamtheit nachzudrucken. Muss eine Copyright-Erklärung und Live-Hyperlinks enthalten. Kontakt david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet akzeptiert unaufgefordert eingesandte Manuskripte und übernimmt keine Verantwortung für die Gültigkeit von Ansprüchen in eingereichten Editorials.

Werbung
Algametrics-Anzeige

Abonnieren

Stellenbörse für die Algenindustrie

Produkte

New Coalition to Accelerate Growth in European Seaweed Industry

 Seagriculture EU 2024
seaweed industry

Europe remains the top importer of seaweed products worldwide in terms of value.

The Seaweed for Europe Coalition recently launched with 30 members, spanning 10+ European countries, across the seaweed value chain. The Coalition intends to advance the development of a sustainable ocean economy and drive post-COVID-19 green recovery. To this end, it has set its focus on defining and implementing a clear agenda for the scaling of an innovative, resilient, and fair seaweed industry.

The global seaweed market currently is on an upward trajectory, projected to grow at 12% a year towards 2024, according to Allied Market Research. Asia is the focal point of the industry, while Europe remains the top importer of seaweed products worldwide in terms of value ($613M in 2016 as published by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations).

At the same time, Europe is home to a burgeoning community of innovators, offering a range of novel business models and solutions, including highly automated farming technologies, selective breeding approaches or alternative types of feedstock which reduce methane emissions from ruminants.

“There is a real buzz in the industry right now. Innovative players are eager to catalyze growth, but in a sustainable manner: climate friendly, fairer and more collaborative, resilient to future shocks,” said Adrien Vincent, Program Director, Seaweed for Europe. “In order to unlock this potential, we must create greater awareness of the ‘hidden champion,’ especially among high-level policy and business decision-makers, to ensure better regulation and mobilize investments into the industry. This is where the work of the Coalition will play a central role.”

The potential offered by seaweed is also closely integrated with the objectives of the European Green Deal, as the Commission looks to develop clean-tech and low-carbon industries, support regenerative agricultural models and create new opportunities for employment as part of its long-term post-COVID-19 recovery strategy. “Seaweed addresses some of the core challenges we currently face, offering promising solutions which can support green recovery,” said former EU-Commissioner and risk capital company SYSTEMIQ partner Janez Potočnik.

So, What’s Next?

In a next step, the Coalition will work towards quantifying the underlying business case for the industry by:

  • Defining the potential for market growth
  • Identifying intervention points along the value chain, and
  • Determining corresponding investment needs.

These findings will then be translated into an on-the-ground action program driven by Coalition members. “As the Coalition steps up its pace, we call on all interested stakeholders to work together in creating an integrated and forward-thinking industry,” said Vidar Helgesen, Co-Chair of the Coalition. “This is an opportunity to get it right from the start by determining the most sustainable path for an industry as it grows. Let’s learn from successes as well as mistakes made in other industries and accelerate seaweed to fulfill its potential.”

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • February 19, 2024: Microalgae producer Phycom, based in Veenendaal, The Netherlands, has received a €1.75 million investment from ROM Utrecht Region, together with a private investor. This follows its recent Series A investment, bringing the total raised funding to more than €10.5 million in six months. READ MORE...
  • February 16, 2024: “We believe everyday materials should help to replenish the planet from sea to soil,” says Julia Marsh, co-founder of Sway, the California startup replacing plastic packaging with seaweed-based solutions, that recently secured a $5 million seed round. “The launch of our thermoplastic seaweed materials, along with an influx of new capital targeted at scaling production, signifies tangible progress toward a more circular future.” READ MORE...
  • February 12, 2024: German made equipment will be used this year to turn the sargassum that lands in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, into fuel. Lourdes Várguez, the Secretary of Sustainable Environment and Climate Change, says the equipment will be tested to take advantage of the municipality’s unwanted seaweed. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide