Neue Studie zeigt, dass Algen Gehirnzellen mit Sauerstoff versorgen können

algaeurope.org   Frauen der Algen
Gehirnzellen mit Sauerstoff

Die injizierten Grünalgen (grün) sitzen wie eine Perlenkette in den Blutgefäßen (magenta). Quelle: Özugur et al./iScience

FRoggen haben viele Atemtechniken – durch Kiemen, Lunge und Haut – je nachdem, wo sie sich im Laufe ihres Lebens befinden. Jetzt haben deutsche Wissenschaftler eine weitere Methode entwickelt, die es Kaulquappen ermöglicht, zu „atmen“, indem sie Algen in ihren Blutkreislauf einführen, um Gehirnzellen mit Sauerstoff zu versorgen. Die Methode, vorgestellt am 13. Oktober in der Zeitschrift iScience, lieferte genügend Sauerstoff, um Neuronen im Gehirn von Kaulquappen mit Sauerstoffmangel effektiv zu retten.

„Die Algen produzierten tatsächlich so viel Sauerstoff, dass sie, wenn man so will, die Nervenzellen wieder zum Leben erwecken könnten“, sagt Seniorautor Hans Straka von der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. „Für viele Leute klingt es nach Science-Fiction, aber schließlich ist es genau die richtige Kombination aus biologischen Schemata und biologischen Prinzipien.“

Dr. Straka untersuchte den Sauerstoffverbrauch im Gehirn von Kaulquappen von afrikanischen Krallenfröschen (Xenopus laevis), als bei einem Mittagsgespräch mit einem Botaniker die Idee entstand, Pflanzenphysiologie mit Neurowissenschaften zu verbinden: die Kraft der Photosynthese zu nutzen, um Nervenzellen mit Sauerstoff zu versorgen.

Die Idee schien nicht weit hergeholt. In der Natur leben Algen harmonisch in Schwämmen, Korallen und Anemonen und versorgen sie mit Sauerstoff und sogar Nährstoffen. Warum nicht bei Wirbeltieren wie Fröschen?

Um die Möglichkeit zu erkunden, injizierte das Team Grünalgen (Chlamydomonas renhardtii) oder Cyanobakterien (Synechozystis) in die Herzen der Kaulquappen. Mit jedem Herzschlag krochen die Algen durch die Blutgefäße und erreichten schließlich das Gehirn, wodurch die durchscheinende Kaulquappe hellgrün wurde. Das Beleuchten dieser Kaulquappen veranlasste beide Algenarten, Sauerstoff in nahegelegene Zellen zu pumpen.

Nach der Verteilung der Algen an das Gehirn isolierten die Forscher den Kopf der Kaulquappe und legten ihn in ein Sauerstoffsprudelbad mit essentiellen Nährstoffen, die die Funktion der Zellen erhalten würden, sodass das Team die neuronale Aktivität und den Sauerstoffgehalt überwachen konnte. Als die Forscher den Sauerstoff aus dem Bad verbrauchten, hörten die Nerven auf zu feuern und verstummten. Das Beleuchten des Kaulquappenkopfes startete die neuronale Aktivität jedoch innerhalb von 15 bis 20 Minuten wieder, was etwa zweimal schneller ist als das Auffüllen des Bades mit Sauerstoff ohne die Algen. Auch die wiederbelebten Nerven schnitten genauso gut oder sogar besser ab als vor dem Sauerstoffmangel, was zeigt, dass die Methode der Forscher schnell und effizient war.

„Mit dieser Methode ist es uns gelungen, das Proof-of-Principle-Experiment zu zeigen. Es war erstaunlich zuverlässig und robust und in meinen Augen ein schöner Ansatz“, sagt Dr. Straka. „Grundsätzlich zu arbeiten heißt nicht, dass man es am Ende anwenden kann, aber es ist der erste Schritt, um andere Studien zu initiieren.“

Während die Forscher glauben, dass ihre Ergebnisse eines Tages zu neuen Therapien für Erkrankungen führen könnten, die durch Schlaganfälle oder sauerstoffarme Umgebungen wie Unterwasser und Höhenlagen verursacht werden, sind Algen noch lange nicht bereit, in unseren Blutkreislauf einzudringen. Der nächste Schritt des Teams besteht darin, zu sehen, ob die injizierten Algen in lebenden Kaulquappen überleben und die Sauerstoffproduktion fortsetzen können, ohne eine Immunreaktion auszulösen, die die Tiere verwüstet.

Dr. Straka sieht seine Forschung auch als Nutzen für andere Labore, die mit isolierten Geweben oder Organoiden arbeiten. Die Einführung von sauerstoffproduzierenden Algen könnte dazu beitragen, dass diese Gewebe gedeihen und ihre Überlebensraten erhöhen, wodurch möglicherweise der Bedarf an lebenden Tieren für Experimente verringert wird.

Diese Arbeit wurde von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft, dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung und dem Münchner Zentrum für Neurowissenschaften gefördert.

Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Erlaubnis erforderlich, Artikel in ihrer Gesamtheit nachzudrucken. Muss eine Copyright-Erklärung und Live-Hyperlinks enthalten. Kontakt david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet akzeptiert unaufgefordert eingesandte Manuskripte und übernimmt keine Verantwortung für die Gültigkeit von Ansprüchen in eingereichten Editorials.

Werbung
Algametrics-Anzeige

Abonnieren

Stellenbörse für die Algenindustrie

Produkte

Warning: Attempt to read property "post_content" on null in /home/customer/www/algaeplanet.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/Extra/includes/builder/feature/dynamic-assets/class-dynamic-assets.php on line 2078
New Study Shows Algae Can Oxygenate Brain Cells - algaeplanet.com

New Study Shows Algae Can Oxygenate Brain Cells

 Seagriculture EU 2024
Oxygenate Brain Cells

The injected green algae (green) sit inside the blood vessels (magenta) like a string of pearls. Credit: Özugur et al./iScience

Frogs have many breathing techniques — through the gills, lungs, and skin — depending on where they are in the course of their lifetime. Now German scientists have developed another method that allows tadpoles to “breathe” by introducing algae into their bloodstreams to oxygenate brain cells. The method, presented October 13th in the journal iScience, provided enough oxygen to effectively rescue neurons in the brains of oxygen-deprived tadpoles.

“The algae actually produced so much oxygen that they could bring the nerve cells back to life, if you will,” says senior author Hans Straka of Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich. “For many people, it sounds like science fiction, but after all, it’s just the right combination of biological schemes and biological principles.”

Dr. Straka was studying oxygen consumption in tadpole brains of African clawed frogs (Xenopus laevis) when a lunch conversation with a botanist sparked an idea to combine plant physiology with neuroscience: harnessing the power of photosynthesis to supply nerve cells with oxygen.

The idea didn’t seem far-fetched. In nature, algae live harmoniously in sponges, corals, and anemones, providing them with oxygen and even nutrients. Why not in vertebrates like frogs?

To explore the possibility, the team injected green algae (Chlamydomonas renhardtii) or cyanobacteria (Synechocystis) into tadpoles’ hearts. With each heartbeat, the algae inched through blood vessels and eventually reached the brain, turning the translucent tadpole bright green. Shining light on these tadpoles prompted both algae species to pump out oxygen to nearby cells.

After distributing algae to the brain, the researchers isolated the tadpole’s head and placed it in an oxygen bubble bath with essential nutrients that would preserve the functioning of the cells, allowing the team to monitor neural activity and oxygen levels. As the researchers depleted oxygen from the bath, the nerves ceased firing and fell silent. However, illuminating the tadpole head restarted the neural activity within 15 to 20 minutes, which is about two times faster than replenishing the bath with oxygen without the algae. The revived nerves also performed as well or even better than before oxygen depletion, showing that the researchers’ method was quick and efficient.

“We succeeded in showing the proof of principle experiment with this method. It was amazingly reliable and robust, and in my eyes, a beautiful approach,” says Dr. Straka. “Working in principle doesn’t really mean that you could apply it at the end, but it’s the first step in order to initiate other studies.”

While the researchers think their findings may someday lead to new therapies for conditions induced by stroke or oxygen-scarce environments, such as underwater and high altitudes, algae are far from ready to enter our blood circulation. The team’s next step is to see whether the injected algae can survive inside living tadpoles and continue oxygen production without causing an immune response that wreaks havoc on the animals.

Dr. Straka also envisions his research benefiting other laboratories that work with isolated tissues or organoids. Introducing oxygen-producing algae could help these tissues thrive and raise their survival rates, potentially reducing the need for live animals for experiments.

This work was supported by German Science Foundation, the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, and the Munich Center for Neuroscience.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • May 20, 2024: Scientists from Nelson’s Cawthron Institute have joined a $5 million pilot aimed at creating a sustainable commercial seaweed industry in New Zealand. The scientists are conducting a seaweed-growing trial at a mussel farm off the coast of Motueka as part of the Greenwave Aotearoa regenerative ocean farming pilot. READ MORE...
  • May 17, 2024: BettaF!sh, a leading alt seafood and seaweed start-up in Europe, has announced its involvement in the FunSea project, a collaborative EU-wide research initiative designed to advance the nutritional quality and safety of cultivated brown and green seaweed. This research project intends to develop novel, sustainable food products over a three-year period, by employing cutting-edge processing technologies and utilizing residual biomass from biomarine industries. READ MORE...
  • May 15, 2024: The 2024 Algae Biomass Summit, to be held in Houston, Texas, October 20-22, 2024, is now accepting speaker and poster abstracts for the world’s largest algae conference. Abstracts should be submitted by May 24th to receive preferential scoring by the review committee, as well as student registration discounts. READ MORE...
  • May 13, 2024: The Tasmanian Government is investing $4 million in the agricultural sector with the goal to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from livestock by more than 16,000 tons. “The TasFarmers proposal will use Sea Forest’s Asparagopsis SeaFeed as a feed additive to some 24,000 head of livestock in this large-scale trial to demonstrate commercial-scale viability of Asparagopsis feed supplements,” said Minister for Parks and Environment, Nick Duigan. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide