Une nouvelle étude montre que les algues peuvent oxygéner les cellules du cerveau

algaeurope.org   Femmes d'algues
Oxygéner les cellules du cerveau

Les algues vertes injectées (vertes) se trouvent à l'intérieur des vaisseaux sanguins (magenta) comme un collier de perles. Crédit : Özugur et al./iScience

Fles rogs ont de nombreuses techniques de respiration - à travers les branchies, les poumons et la peau - selon l'endroit où ils se trouvent au cours de leur vie. Maintenant, des scientifiques allemands ont développé une autre méthode qui permet aux têtards de « respirer » en introduisant des algues dans leur circulation sanguine pour oxygéner les cellules du cerveau. La méthode, présentée le 13 octobre dans la revue iScience, a fourni suffisamment d'oxygène pour sauver efficacement les neurones du cerveau des têtards privés d'oxygène.

"Les algues produisaient en fait tellement d'oxygène qu'elles pourraient redonner vie aux cellules nerveuses, si vous voulez", explique l'auteur principal Hans Straka de l'Université Ludwig-Maximilians de Munich. "Pour beaucoup de gens, cela ressemble à de la science-fiction, mais après tout, c'est juste la bonne combinaison de schémas biologiques et de principes biologiques."

Le Dr Straka étudiait la consommation d'oxygène dans le cerveau des têtards de grenouilles africaines à griffes (Xenopus laevis) lorsqu'un déjeuner-conversation avec un botaniste a suscité l'idée de combiner la physiologie végétale avec les neurosciences : exploiter le pouvoir de la photosynthèse pour fournir de l'oxygène aux cellules nerveuses.

L'idée ne semblait pas farfelue. Dans la nature, les algues vivent harmonieusement dans les éponges, les coraux et les anémones, leur fournissant de l'oxygène et même des nutriments. Pourquoi pas chez les vertébrés comme les grenouilles ?

Pour explorer la possibilité, l'équipe a injecté des algues vertes (Chlamydomonas renhardtii) ou des cyanobactéries (Synéchocyste) dans le cœur des têtards. À chaque battement de cœur, les algues traversaient les vaisseaux sanguins et atteignaient finalement le cerveau, transformant le têtard translucide en vert vif. La lumière brillante sur ces têtards a incité les deux espèces d'algues à pomper de l'oxygène vers les cellules voisines.

Après avoir distribué des algues au cerveau, les chercheurs ont isolé la tête du têtard et l'ont placé dans un bain moussant à l'oxygène avec des nutriments essentiels qui préserveraient le fonctionnement des cellules, permettant à l'équipe de surveiller l'activité neuronale et les niveaux d'oxygène. Lorsque les chercheurs ont épuisé l'oxygène du bain, les nerfs ont cessé de fonctionner et se sont tus. Cependant, l'éclairage de la tête du têtard a redémarré l'activité neuronale en 15 à 20 minutes, ce qui est environ deux fois plus rapide que de reconstituer le bain avec de l'oxygène sans les algues. Les nerfs réanimés ont également fonctionné aussi bien, voire mieux, qu'avant l'épuisement de l'oxygène, montrant que la méthode des chercheurs était rapide et efficace.

« Nous avons réussi à montrer la preuve de principe de l'expérience avec cette méthode. C'était incroyablement fiable et robuste, et à mes yeux, une belle approche », explique le Dr Straka. « Travailler en principe ne veut pas vraiment dire qu'on puisse l'appliquer à la fin, mais c'est la première étape pour entamer d'autres études.

Alors que les chercheurs pensent que leurs découvertes pourraient un jour conduire à de nouvelles thérapies pour les conditions induites par les accidents vasculaires cérébraux ou les environnements pauvres en oxygène, tels que les sous-marins et les hautes altitudes, les algues sont loin d'être prêtes à entrer dans notre circulation sanguine. La prochaine étape de l'équipe est de voir si les algues injectées peuvent survivre à l'intérieur de têtards vivants et continuer à produire de l'oxygène sans provoquer de réponse immunitaire qui fait des ravages chez les animaux.

Le Dr Straka envisage également que ses recherches profitent à d'autres laboratoires qui travaillent avec des tissus ou des organoïdes isolés. L'introduction d'algues productrices d'oxygène pourrait aider ces tissus à se développer et à augmenter leur taux de survie, réduisant potentiellement le besoin d'animaux vivants pour les expériences.

Ce travail a été soutenu par la Fondation allemande pour la science, le ministère fédéral allemand de l'Éducation et de la Recherche et le Centre de neurosciences de Munich.

Tous les droits sont réservés. Autorisation requise pour réimprimer les articles dans leur intégralité. Doit inclure une déclaration de copyright et des hyperliens en direct. Contacter david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepte les manuscrits non sollicités pour examen et n'assume aucune responsabilité quant à la validité des affirmations formulées dans l'éditorial soumis.

Publicité
Annonce Algametrics

S’abonner

Site d'emploi de l'industrie des algues

Archives

Warning: Attempt to read property "post_content" on null in /home/customer/www/algaeplanet.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/Extra/includes/builder/feature/dynamic-assets/class-dynamic-assets.php on line 2078
New Study Shows Algae Can Oxygenate Brain Cells - algaeplanet.com

New Study Shows Algae Can Oxygenate Brain Cells

 Seagriculture EU 2024
Oxygenate Brain Cells

The injected green algae (green) sit inside the blood vessels (magenta) like a string of pearls. Credit: Özugur et al./iScience

Frogs have many breathing techniques — through the gills, lungs, and skin — depending on where they are in the course of their lifetime. Now German scientists have developed another method that allows tadpoles to “breathe” by introducing algae into their bloodstreams to oxygenate brain cells. The method, presented October 13th in the journal iScience, provided enough oxygen to effectively rescue neurons in the brains of oxygen-deprived tadpoles.

“The algae actually produced so much oxygen that they could bring the nerve cells back to life, if you will,” says senior author Hans Straka of Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich. “For many people, it sounds like science fiction, but after all, it’s just the right combination of biological schemes and biological principles.”

Dr. Straka was studying oxygen consumption in tadpole brains of African clawed frogs (Xenopus laevis) when a lunch conversation with a botanist sparked an idea to combine plant physiology with neuroscience: harnessing the power of photosynthesis to supply nerve cells with oxygen.

The idea didn’t seem far-fetched. In nature, algae live harmoniously in sponges, corals, and anemones, providing them with oxygen and even nutrients. Why not in vertebrates like frogs?

To explore the possibility, the team injected green algae (Chlamydomonas renhardtii) or cyanobacteria (Synechocystis) into tadpoles’ hearts. With each heartbeat, the algae inched through blood vessels and eventually reached the brain, turning the translucent tadpole bright green. Shining light on these tadpoles prompted both algae species to pump out oxygen to nearby cells.

After distributing algae to the brain, the researchers isolated the tadpole’s head and placed it in an oxygen bubble bath with essential nutrients that would preserve the functioning of the cells, allowing the team to monitor neural activity and oxygen levels. As the researchers depleted oxygen from the bath, the nerves ceased firing and fell silent. However, illuminating the tadpole head restarted the neural activity within 15 to 20 minutes, which is about two times faster than replenishing the bath with oxygen without the algae. The revived nerves also performed as well or even better than before oxygen depletion, showing that the researchers’ method was quick and efficient.

“We succeeded in showing the proof of principle experiment with this method. It was amazingly reliable and robust, and in my eyes, a beautiful approach,” says Dr. Straka. “Working in principle doesn’t really mean that you could apply it at the end, but it’s the first step in order to initiate other studies.”

While the researchers think their findings may someday lead to new therapies for conditions induced by stroke or oxygen-scarce environments, such as underwater and high altitudes, algae are far from ready to enter our blood circulation. The team’s next step is to see whether the injected algae can survive inside living tadpoles and continue oxygen production without causing an immune response that wreaks havoc on the animals.

Dr. Straka also envisions his research benefiting other laboratories that work with isolated tissues or organoids. Introducing oxygen-producing algae could help these tissues thrive and raise their survival rates, potentially reducing the need for live animals for experiments.

This work was supported by German Science Foundation, the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, and the Munich Center for Neuroscience.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • May 20, 2024: Scientists from Nelson’s Cawthron Institute have joined a $5 million pilot aimed at creating a sustainable commercial seaweed industry in New Zealand. The scientists are conducting a seaweed-growing trial at a mussel farm off the coast of Motueka as part of the Greenwave Aotearoa regenerative ocean farming pilot. READ MORE...
  • May 17, 2024: BettaF!sh, a leading alt seafood and seaweed start-up in Europe, has announced its involvement in the FunSea project, a collaborative EU-wide research initiative designed to advance the nutritional quality and safety of cultivated brown and green seaweed. This research project intends to develop novel, sustainable food products over a three-year period, by employing cutting-edge processing technologies and utilizing residual biomass from biomarine industries. READ MORE...
  • May 15, 2024: The 2024 Algae Biomass Summit, to be held in Houston, Texas, October 20-22, 2024, is now accepting speaker and poster abstracts for the world’s largest algae conference. Abstracts should be submitted by May 24th to receive preferential scoring by the review committee, as well as student registration discounts. READ MORE...
  • May 13, 2024: The Tasmanian Government is investing $4 million in the agricultural sector with the goal to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from livestock by more than 16,000 tons. “The TasFarmers proposal will use Sea Forest’s Asparagopsis SeaFeed as a feed additive to some 24,000 head of livestock in this large-scale trial to demonstrate commercial-scale viability of Asparagopsis feed supplements,” said Minister for Parks and Environment, Nick Duigan. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide