调节红球藻中虾青素的积累

  海洋农业 2022 欧盟
调节虾青素

不依赖光的呼吸途径调节虾青素合成的模型图。 信用:IOCAS

作者:中国科学院李元

A 刘建国教授带领的研究团队 中国科学院海洋研究所 已经发现,除了光依赖的代谢途径,光非依赖的代谢途径也可​​以调节红球藻中虾青素的积累。 他们的发现发表在 生物资源技术.

虾青素由于其强大的着色剂、抗氧化能力和其他生物学功能,在营养品、药物和化妆品中具有多种应用。 H. pluvialis,一种单细胞绿藻,富含 虾青素,被公认为生产天然虾青素的最佳生物资源。

传统上,雨生红球藻中的虾青素生物合成被认为主要是由强光和/或营养缺乏引起的。 因此,以往关于虾青素生物合成和积累调控的研究大多集中在光依赖代谢途径,如光合作用和光保护。 关于虾青素积累过程中不依赖光的呼吸通路的作用的报道很少。

在他们的研究中,研究人员发现不依赖光的代谢途径,如 Embden-Meyerhof-Parnas 途径、三羧酸循环、磷酸戊糖途径和替代氧化酶呼吸途径,也在调节红球藻中虾青素的积累方面发挥重要作用。

“线粒体交替氧化酶通路的活性与雨生红球藻中虾青素的积累呈显着负相关,”刘教授说。 基于这一发现,在 6 月 XNUMX 日发表的研究中首次提出了一种新的观点,即调节呼吸作用将促进雨生红球藻中虾青素的生物合成。

研究人员还研究了外源性呼吸代谢中间体对虾青素合成的影响,进一步证明三羧酸循环可以为雨生红球藻的虾青素生物合成提供碳骨架。

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

藻类妇女

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

Warning: Attempt to read property "post_content" on null in /home/customer/www/algaeplanet.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/Extra/includes/builder/feature/dynamic-assets/class-dynamic-assets.php on line 2078
Regulating Astaxanthin Accumulation in Haematococcus - algaeplanet.com

Regulating Astaxanthin Accumulation in Haematococcus

 Seagriculture EU 2024
Regulating Astaxanthin

A model diagram of the regulation of astaxanthin synthesis by light-independent respiratory pathway. Credit: IOCAS

by Li Yuan, Chinese Academy of Sciences

A research team led by Prof. Liu Jianguo from the Institute of Oceanology of the Chinese Academy of Sciences has found that light-independent metabolic pathways, in addition to light-dependent metabolic pathways, can also regulate astaxanthin accumulation in Haematococcus. Their findings were published in Bioresource Technology.

Astaxanthin has multiple applications in nutraceuticals, pharmaceuticals and cosmetics owing to its strong colorant, antioxidant capacity and other biological functions. H. pluvialis, a unicellular green alga rich in astaxanthin, is recognized as the best biological resource for producing natural astaxanthin.

Traditionally, astaxanthin biosynthesis in H. pluvialis was considered to be induced mainly by high light and/or nutrient deficiency. Therefore, most previous studies on the regulation of astaxanthin biosynthesis and accumulation have been focused on the light-dependent metabolic pathways, such as photosynthesis and photoprotection. There are few reports on the role of light-independent respiratory pathways during astaxanthin accumulation.

In their studies, the researchers found that light-independent metabolic pathways, such as the Embden-Meyerhof-Parnas pathway, tricarboxylic acid cycle, pentose phosphate pathway and alternative oxidase respiratory pathway, also play important roles in regulating astaxanthin accumulation in Haematococcus.

“The activity of the mitochondrial alternate oxidase pathway has significant negative correlation with astaxanthin accumulation in H. pluvialis,” said Prof. Liu. Based on this discovery, a new viewpoint that regulating respiration would promote astaxanthin biosynthesis in H. pluvialis was first proposed in the study published on November 6.

The researchers also investigated the effects of exogenous respiratory metabolic intermediates on astaxanthin synthesis, and further proved that tricarboxylic acid cycle can provide carbon skeletons for astaxanthin biosynthesis in H. pluvialis.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • February 19, 2024: Microalgae producer Phycom, based in Veenendaal, The Netherlands, has received a €1.75 million investment from ROM Utrecht Region, together with a private investor. This follows its recent Series A investment, bringing the total raised funding to more than €10.5 million in six months. READ MORE...
  • February 16, 2024: “We believe everyday materials should help to replenish the planet from sea to soil,” says Julia Marsh, co-founder of Sway, the California startup replacing plastic packaging with seaweed-based solutions, that recently secured a $5 million seed round. “The launch of our thermoplastic seaweed materials, along with an influx of new capital targeted at scaling production, signifies tangible progress toward a more circular future.” READ MORE...
  • February 12, 2024: German made equipment will be used this year to turn the sargassum that lands in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, into fuel. Lourdes Várguez, the Secretary of Sustainable Environment and Climate Change, says the equipment will be tested to take advantage of the municipality’s unwanted seaweed. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide