研究人员从海藻中获取电流

  海洋农业 2022 欧盟
来自海藻图的电流

从海藻中获取电流的过程模拟:海藻释放将电子传输到不锈钢电极(阳极)的分子。 电子转移到第二个电极(铂阴极),该电极可以将海水电解质溶液中的质子还原为氢气。 电流可以直接使用,或者如果产生氢气,气体可以用作未来的清洁燃料。

R研究人员来自 以色列理工学院 (Technion) 开发了一种新方法,可以以环保且高效的方式直接从海藻中获取电流。 这个想法是在海滩游泳时出现在博士生 Yaniv Shlosberg 的,由来自以色列理工学院能源计划 (GTEP) 的三个学院的研究人员和以色列海洋研究所的一名研究人员共同提出的。和湖沼研究所(IOLR)。

化石燃料的问题是研究替代、清洁和可再生能源方法背后的驱动力。 其中之一是使用活生物体作为微生物燃料电池 (MFC) 中的电流源。 某些细菌可以将电子转移到电化学电池以产生电流。 细菌需要不断喂养,其中一些是致病性的。

类似的技术是生物光电化学细胞(BPEC)。 对于 MFC,电子源可以来自光合细菌,尤其是蓝藻。 蓝细菌利用二氧化碳、水和阳光制造自己的食物,并且在大多数情况下它们是良性的。

Noam Adir 教授和博士生 Yaniv Shlosberg 的研究小组先前开发了使用蓝藻获得电流和氢燃料的技术,如发表于 自然通讯与科学.

然而,蓝藻有一些缺点。 它们在黑暗中产生的电流较少,因为不进行光合作用。 此外,获得的电流量仍然少于从太阳能电池技术获得的电流量,因此虽然 BPEC 对环境更加友好,但商业上的吸引力较小。

从蓝藻转变为石莼

在这项研究中,以色列理工学院和 IOLR 的研究人员决定尝试使用一种新的光合作用来源——海藻来解决这个问题。 许多不同种类的海藻在以色列的地中海沿岸自然生长,尤其是 石莼 (也称为 海生菜) 在 IOLR 大量种植用于研究目的。

该研究由舒立克化学学院和 GTEP 的 Noam Adir 教授和 Yaniv Shlosberg 领导。 他们与理工学院的其他研究人员合作:Tunde Toth 博士(舒立克化学学院)、Gadi Schuster 教授、David Meiri 博士、Nimrod Krupnik 和 Benjamin Eichenbaum(生物学学院)、Omer Yehezkeli 博士和 Matan Meirovich(化学学院)生物技术和食品工程博士)和海法 IOLR 的 Alvaro Israel 博士。

Technion/IOLR 研究人员构建了一个原型设备,可以直接在 石莼 生长缸在开发出连接石莼和 BPEC 的新方法后,获得的电流比来自蓝藻的电流大一千倍——与从标准太阳能电池获得的电流水平相当。 阿迪尔教授指出,这些增加的电流是由于海藻光合作用的高速率,以及使用天然海水中的海藻作为 BPEC 电解质的能力——促进 BPEC 中电子转移的解决方案。

此外,海藻在黑暗中提供电流,大约是在光中获得的电流的 50%。 暗电流的来源来自呼吸——光合作用过程中产生的糖被用作内部营养来源。 以类似于蓝藻 BPEC 的方式,不需要额外的化学品来获得电流。 石莼产生从细胞分泌的介导电子转移分子,并将电子转移到 BPEC 电极。

新技术是负碳的。 海藻在白天从大气中吸收碳,同时生长和释放氧气。 在白天收集水流期间,不会释放碳。 在夜间,海藻通过呼吸释放正常量的碳。

“通过展示我们的原型设备,我们表明可以从海藻中获取大量电流,”阿迪尔教授说。 “我们相信该技术可以进一步改进,从而产生未来的绿色能源技术。”

研究人员在期刊中介绍了他们直接从海藻中收集电流的新方法 生物传感器和生物电子. 该论文描述了舒立克化学学院、生物学院、生物技术与食品工程学院、GTEP 和 IOLR 研究人员的研究结果。

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

藻类妇女

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

Researchers Harvest Electrical Current from Seaweed

  Algae Europe December 2022
Electrical Current from Seaweed chart

A simulation of the process to harvest electrical current from seaweed: the seaweed releases molecules that transport electrons to a stainless-steel electrode (the anode). The electrons transfer to the second electrode (a platinum cathode) which can reduce protons found in the seawater electrolyte solution to hydrogen gas. The current can either be used directly, or if hydrogen is produced, the gas can be used as a future clean fuel.

Researchers from the Israeli Institute of Technology (Technion) have developed a new method that harvests an electrical current directly from seaweed in an environmentally friendly and efficient way. The idea, which came to the doctoral student Yaniv Shlosberg while swimming at the beach, has been developed by a consortium of researchers from three Technion faculties who are members of the Grand Technion Energy Program (GTEP), along with a researcher from the Israel Oceanographic and Limnological Research Institute (IOLR).

The problematic issues of fossil fuels are the driving force behind research into methods of alternative, clean and renewable energy sources. One of these is the use of living organisms as the source of electrical currents in microbial fuel cells (MFC). Certain bacteria can transfer electrons to electrochemical cells to produce electrical current. The bacteria need to be constantly fed and some of them are pathogenic.

A similar technology is bio-photoelectrochemical cells (BPEC). As for the MFC, the source of electrons can be from photosynthetic bacteria, especially cyanobacteria. Cyanobacteria make their own food from carbon dioxide, water and sunlight, and in most cases they are benign.

The research groups of Prof. Noam Adir, and the doctoral student Yaniv Shlosberg, previously developed technologies that used cyanobacteria for obtaining electrical current and hydrogen fuel, as published in Nature Communications and Science.

Cyanobacteria have some drawbacks, however. They produce less current in the dark, as no photosynthesis is performed. Also, the amount of current obtained is still less than that obtained from solar cell technologies, so that while more environmentally benign, the BPEC is less attractive commercially.

Switching from Cyanobacteria to Ulva

In this study, the researchers from the Technion and IOLR decided to try to solve this issue using a new photosynthetic source — seaweed. Many different species of seaweed grow naturally on the Mediterranean shore of Israel, especially Ulva (also known as sea lettuce) which is grown in large quantities at IOLR for research purposes.

The research was led by Prof. Noam Adir and Yaniv Shlosberg, from the Schulich Faculty of Chemistry and GTEP. They collaborated with additional researchers from the Technion: Dr. Tunde Toth (Schulich Faculty of Chemistry), Prof. Gadi Schuster, Dr. David Meiri, Nimrod Krupnik and Benjamin Eichenbaum (Faculty of Biology), Dr. Omer Yehezkeli and Matan Meirovich (Faculty of Biotechnology and Food Engineering) and Dr. Alvaro Israel from IOLR in Haifa.

The Technion/IOLR researchers built a prototype device that collects the current directly in the Ulva growth vat. After developing new methods to connect Ulva and BPEC, currents a thousand times greater than those from cyanobacteria were obtained — currents that are on the level of those obtained from standard solar cells. Prof. Adir notes that these increased currents are due to the high rate of seaweed photosynthesis, and the ability to use the seaweed in their natural seawater as the BPEC electrolyte — the solution that promotes electron transfer in the BPEC.

Additionally, the seaweed provides currents in the dark, about 50% of that obtained in light. The source of the dark current is from respiration — where sugars made by the photosynthetic process are used as an internal source of nutrients. In a fashion similar to the cyanobacterial BPEC, no additional chemicals are needed to obtain the current. The Ulva produce mediating electron transfer molecules that are secreted from the cells and transfer the electrons to the BPEC electrode.

The new technology is carbon negative. The seaweed absorbs carbon from the atmosphere during the day while growing and releasing oxygen. During harvesting of the currents during the day, no carbon is released. During the night, the seaweed releases the normal amount of carbon from respiration.

“By presenting our prototype device, we show that significant currents can be harvested from the seaweed,” said Prof. Adir. “We believe that the technology can be further improved leading to future green energy technologies.”

The researchers presented their new method for collecting an electrical current directly from seaweed in the journal Biosensors and Bioelectronics. The paper describes results obtained from researchers from the Schulich Faculty of Chemistry, the Faculty of Biology, the Faculty of Biotechnology and Food Engineering, GTEP and IOLR.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

SeagricultureAPAC
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide