科学家从褐藻中创造出卓越的金属涂层

  海洋农业 2022 欧盟
褐藻金属涂层

托木斯克理工大学 (TPU) 科学家开发的一种新涂层可将金属在水和其他生物环境中的生物污染减少 100 倍。 涂层使医疗植入物更持久和更安全。

S俄罗斯托木斯克理工大学 (TPU) 的科学家与他们的海外同事共同开发了一种涂层,可将水和其他生物环境中的金属生物污垢减少 100 倍。 该涂层还允许医疗植入物更持久和更安全。

生物污垢是在浸入生物环境中的金属表面上积累的不良沉积物。 它是由微生物活动引起的,降低了金属的功能特性并可能导致其破坏。 该问题与许多领域相关,特别是船舶以及医疗植入设备。

据科学家们称,传统的解决方案是应用防止微生物在表面沉降的特性。 例如,经常使用二氧化钛。 然而,它是昂贵的并且并非在所有情况下都有效。

TPU 科学家们正在寻找一种更便宜的方法,这也可以减少生物污垢的活动。 “使用阳离子,我们结合了块状软海藻酸盐薄膜,这些薄膜是从 褐藻 (褐藻纲) 含有不同比例的钙和铜。 此外,我们还研究了薄膜特性的强度及其与水和油的润湿性对定居的微观生命形式数量的影响,”TPU 温伯格研究中心副教授 Sergey Tverdokhlebov 告诉俄新社记者.

它比二氧化钛的指标高出数倍。 该解决方案旨在对抗医疗植入物表面的病原微生物菌群,也适用于其他设备。

据科学家介绍,海藻酸铜薄膜表面的结构可防止附着细菌、微藻和其他对铜有毒的生物。 考虑到其特定的生物活性,改变薄膜中这种金属的体积可以定制在特定环境中运行的结构。

“从长远来看,这种薄膜可以用于造船和靶向药物输送,同时在植入前将所需的药物化合物连接到薄膜上,”Tverdokhlebov 博士说。 “它将允许减少对生物体的药物负荷并阻止传染。”

该研究是与哈尔滨工业大学(中国)的专家联合进行的。 研究结果发表在《应用表面科学》杂志上(IF:6,707,Q1)。

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

藻类妇女

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

Scientists Create Superior Metal Coating from Brown Algae

  Seagriculture 2022 EU
brown algae metal coating

A new coating developed by Scientists at Tomsk Polytechnic University (TPU), reduces the biofouling of metals in water and other biological environments by 100-fold. The coating allows medical implants to be longer lasting and safer.

S​cientists at Russia’s Tomsk Polytechnic University (TPU) jointly with their overseas colleagues have developed a coating which reduces the biofouling of metals in water and other biological environments by 100-fold. The coating also allows medical implants to be longer lasting and safer.

Biofouling is the accumulation of undesirable deposits on metal surfaces submerged into a biological environment. It is caused by microorganism activity that reduces functional properties of metal and may lead to its destruction. The problem is relevant for many areas, in particular marine vessels as well as medical implant devices.

According to the scientists, the conventional solution is to apply properties that prevent microorganisms from settling on the surface. For example, titanium dioxide is frequently used. However, it is expensive and not effective in all cases.

The TPU scientists looked for a cheaper means, which would also allow for reducing the activity of biofouling. “Using cations, we combined bulk soft alginate films, which were obtained from brown algae (Phaeophyceae) with calcium and copper in different proportions. Moreover, we also researched the impact of strength of the film properties and their wettability with water and oil on the amount of settled microscopic life forms,” Sergey Tverdokhlebov, Associate Professor of the TPU Weinberg Research Center, tells journalists of the RIA Novosti news agency.

It is higher than indexes of titanium dioxide by several folds. The solution is designed to fight against pathogenic microbial flora on the surface of medical implants and is also applicable for other devices.

According to the scientists, the structure of the film surface of copper alginate prevents attaching bacteria, microalgae and other organisms for which copper is toxic. Varying the volume of this metal in the film makes it possible to customize the construction for operation in a specific environment, taking into account its particular bioactivity.

“In the long run, such films can be introduced in both shipbuilding and targeted drug delivery while attaching required drug compounds to the film before implantation,” said Dr. Tverdokhlebov. “It will allow reduced drug load to the organism and impeding contagion.”

The research was conducted jointly with experts of Harbin Institute of Technology (China). The findings were published in the Applied Surface Science journal (IF: 6,707, Q1).

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2022
Algametrics Ad

Women of Algae

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board

Archives

A Beginner’s Guide

Subscribe to Algae Planet

Join our subscriber list to receive the latest news and updates from Algae Planet.

You have Successfully Subscribed!