海藻养殖和气候变化

海藻网     海洋农业 2022 欧盟

F从食品到化妆品,海藻有很多用途——但正如我们所了解的,海藻养殖也有助于应对气候变化。 在这一集的一小步中, NowThisNews.com 奥特莱斯访问康涅狄格州海岸,了解一位女性如何开展她的海藻养殖业务、海藻养殖的未来以及它如何帮助扭转气候变化。

Suzie Flores 和她的丈夫 Jay 在 斯通宁顿海带 康涅狄格州海岸附近的公司。 他们使用需要零投入(如肥料)的绳索系统将这种海藻出售给当地餐馆和商店。 随着它的生长,海带从水中吸收碳和氮,并将其变成营养丰富的食物。

海藻养殖不仅可以提高粮食安全,还可以固碳。 全球有132个国家具备在其沿海开展海藻养殖的条件。 但目前只有 37 家这样做。

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

Seaweed Farming and Climate Change

  Algae Europe December 2022

F​​​​​​rom food to cosmetics, seaweed has a lot of uses — but as we are learning, seaweed farming can also help fight climate change. On this episode of One Small Step, the NowThisNews.com outlet visits the Connecticut coast to learn about how one woman has launched her seaweed farming business, the future of seaweed aquaculture, and how it can help reverse climate change.

Suzie Flores and her husband Jay grow food-grade sugar kelp at Stonington Kelp Co. off the coast of Connecticut. They sell this seaweed to local restaurants and shops using a system with ropes that requires zero inputs like fertilizer. As it grows, the kelp absorbs carbon and nitrogen from the water and turns it into a nutrient-dense food.

Not only can seaweed farming increase food security, but it can also sequester carbon. 132 countries around the world have the conditions to start seaweed aquaculture off their coasts. But only 37 currently do so.

We’re All Ears!

We’d love to hear how Algae Planet can be most valuable to you. Would you be kind enough to take this one-minute (we really mean it) survey to help us improve your reader experience? Not to worry, it’s for our eyes only and we will fiercely protect any information that you provide. Thank you, we really value your time and appreciate your thoughts!

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2022
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide