海藻发电开发技术沉没马尾藻

  藻类欧洲 2022 年 XNUMX 月
海藻一代

自 2009 年以来,大西洋中部的大马尾藻带一直在增加,导致其聚集的海岸和浅水区的生态破坏。

S海藻一代是一家英国初创公司,将马尾藻沉入深海进行二氧化碳去除和海岸清洁,已从 AeraVC 和 Graph Ventures 筹集了 1 万美元,以扩展其碳去除技术。 该公司计划开发其 AlgaRay(正在申请专利)技术,该技术可在入侵的马尾藻到达海岸之前拦截并将其沉入深海。

Seaweed Generation 首席执行官 Paddy Estridge 将 AlgaRay 描述为:“PacMan 遇到了 Roomba——AlgaRay 吃掉了马尾藻,然后将其存放在深海中。”

通过使用Seaweed Generation 的新型收集装置, 马尾 被捞起在海面,防止它上岸并破坏环境。 一旦 AlgaRay 拥有完整的有效载荷,该设备就会向下移动到释放海藻的更深水域,然后返回水面收集更多。

AlgaRay 将马尾藻洒在深度为 2000 米或更大的水域上。 它会在几个小时内到达这个深度,其中所含的碳将​​保留数百至数千年。

每个全尺寸的 AlgaRay 将能够下沉相当于两吨的 二氧化碳 每滴,每小时滴四滴。 每个装置每年将能够去除约 8,000 吨二氧化碳。

每年大约有 24 万吨马尾藻经过加勒比地区,至少吸收了 XNUMX 万吨二氧化碳。

Seaweed Generation 的首席科学官、埃克塞特大学的 Mike Allen 教授已经与 Sargassum 合作了六年。 “当我们谈论用海藻去除碳时,大多数人认为我们需要先培养藻类。 但在气候变化和土地营养流失的驱动下,不需要的马尾藻在过去十年中呈爆炸式增长。 当这些侵入性马尾藻筏上岸时,它们会影响沿海生态,并可能导致重大的负面经济后果。

“我们所做的最好的事情是它有双重好处——我们可以减少马尾藻搁浅并同时去除二氧化碳。 我们可以以一种非常有据可查的方式来做到这一点,以展示它的好处并坚持高环境标准。”

Seaweed Generation 正在与加勒比地区的国家合作,那里的海平面上升和更多的极端天气事件,加上每年数百万吨的马尾藻海藻冲上海岸,破坏了当地的旅游业和生态。

埃斯特里奇先生说:“在气候变化方面,我们正处于非常严重的时间紧缩之中,但我们还需要确保我们做正确的事情。 用海藻去除碳确实可以扩大规模,我们可以通过种植来做到这一点,但有一些问题需要首先回答。 Sargassum 为我们提供了解决已知问题的绝佳机会,同时对我们了解碳去除需求进行监测、报告和验证。”

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

海洋农业亚太地区
算法广告

购买

海藻行业工作委员会
第五届藻类世界欧盟

初学者指南

Seaweed Generation Developing Technology to Sink Sargassum

  Algae Europe December 2022
Seaweed Generation

The Great Sargassum Belt in the central Atlantic has been increasing since 2009, resulting in ecological damage along the shores and shallow waters where it accumulates.

Seaweed Generation, a UK start up that sinks Sargassum into the deep ocean for CO₂ removal and coastal cleanup, has raised US$1M from AeraVC and Graph Ventures to scale its carbon removal technology. The company plans to develop its AlgaRay (patent pending) technology, which intercepts and sinks invasive Sargassum into the deep ocean, before it can reach coasts.

Seaweed Generation CEO, Paddy Estridge, describes the AlgaRay as, “PacMan meets a Roomba — the AlgaRay eats the Sargassum, then deposits it in the deep ocean.”

By using Seaweed Generation’s novel collecting device, Sargassum is scooped up at the sea surface, preventing it from coming ashore and damaging the environment. Once AlgaRay has a full payload the device moves down to deeper waters where the seaweed is released, before returning to the surface to collect more.

The AlgaRay drops Sargassum over waters with 2000m of depth or greater. It reaches this depth within a few hours, where the carbon it contains will remain for hundreds to thousands of years.

Each full sized AlgaRay will be able to sink the equivalent of two tons of CO₂ per drop and make four drops an hour. Each unit will be able to remove around 8,000 tons of CO₂ per year.

There are around 24 million tons of Sargassum passing through the Caribbean region each year, representing at least four million tons of carbon dioxide absorption.

Seaweed Generation’s Chief Science Officer, Professor Mike Allen of Exeter University has been working with Sargassum for six years. “When we talk about carbon removal with seaweed, most people think we need to cultivate the algae first. But driven by climate change and nutrient run-off from land, unwanted Sargassum has increased explosively over the last decade. When these invasive Sargassum rafts come ashore they impact coastal ecologies and can lead to significant negative economic consequences.

“The best thing about what we’re doing is that it has a dual benefit — we can reduce Sargassum beaching and remove carbon dioxide at the same time. And we can do it in a way that is incredibly well documented to show its benefits and uphold high environmental standards.”

Seaweed Generation is working with countries in the Caribbean, where rising sea levels and more extreme weather events are compounded by the millions of tons of Sargassum seaweed hitting their shores every year, devastating local tourism and ecologies.

“We are in a pretty serious time crunch when it comes to climate change,” said Mr. Estridge, “but we also need to make sure that we do things right. Carbon removal with seaweed could really scale, and we can do that with cultivation, but there are questions that need to be answered first. Sargassum gives us an amazing opportunity to solve a known problem, whilst conducting the monitoring, reporting and verification that we know carbon removal needs.”

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

SeagricultureAPAC
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide