Le fabricant de fils d'algues AlgiKnit augmente la production d'une mode éco-consciente

  Meragriculture 2022 UE
Fil AlgiKnit

AlgiKnit crée des fils dérivés principalement de varech, qui seront utilisés dans l'industrie de la mode pour créer des chaussures, des accessoires et des vêtements.

AlgiKnit, fabricant de fils respectueux de l'environnement dérivés principalement d'algues, a annoncé l'ouverture de son centre d'innovation dans la région du Research Triangle en Caroline du Nord. La société lancera des projets pilotes avec des marques mondiales à partir du nouvel espace au début de 2022.

Un rapport de 2021 du Forum économique mondial a identifié la mode et sa chaîne d'approvisionnement comme le troisième plus grand pollueur de la planète - environ les deux tiers de l'empreinte carbone d'un vêtement proviennent de la production de fibres synthétiques telles que le polyester et le nylon. Ces fibres non renouvelables sont principalement dérivées du pétrole brut. En fait, environ 342 millions de barils de pétrole sont utilisés chaque année dans la production de fibres synthétiques.

AlgiKnit a passé les quatre dernières années à développer une nouvelle technologie pour produire des fils à une échelle commerciale afin de répondre à la demande croissante de textiles neutres en carbone et non toxiques. La nouvelle installation de l'entreprise regroupera les équipes de R&D, de fabrication et de développement commercial sous un même toit et permettra à l'entreprise de se développer rapidement pour aider l'industrie mondiale de la mode à réduire ses émissions de carbone.

Les fils d'AlgiKnit sont principalement dérivés du varech, l'un des organismes les plus renouvelables et régénérateurs de la planète, et ils peuvent être utilisés dans l'industrie de la mode pour créer des chaussures, des accessoires et des vêtements. Les fils sont conçus avec fonctionnalité et accessibilité pour offrir une alternative évolutive et durable aux concepteurs, fabricants et consommateurs à la recherche de matériaux ayant une empreinte environnementale nettement inférieure à celle des textiles conventionnels. « Le fil que nous produisons aujourd'hui a l'apparence et le toucher des fibres naturelles avec lesquelles les consommateurs sont familiers », a déclaré Aaron Nesser, co-fondateur et directeur technique d'AlgiKnit.

En s'étendant au-delà de son siège social à Brooklyn, New York, les dirigeants d'AlgiKnit ont vu le Research Triangle comme un nouvel emplacement idéal. La riche histoire de la fabrication textile de la région et la proximité de nombreuses installations de recherche et d'essai permettront à l'entreprise d'accélérer et de soutenir sa croissance grâce à l'accès à une expertise de haut niveau et à une technologie de pointe dans la région. 

« La zone Research Triangle de Caroline du Nord est en train de devenir une plaque tournante pour les grandes technologies et les sciences de la vie, et nous sommes impatients de collaborer avec d'autres entreprises axées sur l'innovation et la perturbation scientifiques », a déclaré Aleksandra Gosiewski, cofondatrice et directrice de l'exploitation d'AlgiKnit.

Tous les droits sont réservés. Autorisation requise pour réimprimer les articles dans leur intégralité. Doit inclure une déclaration de copyright et des hyperliens en direct. Contacter david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepte les manuscrits non sollicités pour examen et n'assume aucune responsabilité quant à la validité des affirmations formulées dans l'éditorial soumis.

Agriculture Séricole USA 2022
Annonce Algametrics

Femmes d'algues

S'abonner

Site d'emploi de l'industrie des algues

Archives

Guide du débutant

Abonnez-vous à Algae Planet

Rejoignez notre liste d'abonnés pour recevoir les dernières nouvelles et mises à jour d'Algae Planet.

Vous avez avec succès Inscrit!

Seaweed Yarn Maker AlgiKnit Scaling Production of Eco-Conscious Fashion

 Seagriculture EU 2024
AlgiKnit yarn

AlgiKnit is creating yarns derived mostly from kelp, to be used across the fashion industry to create footwear, accessories, and garments.

AlgiKnit, maker of eco-conscious yarns derived mostly from seaweed, has announced the opening of its innovation hub in the Research Triangle area of North Carolina. The company will begin pilot projects with global brands from the new space in early 2022.

A 2021 report from the World Economic Forum identified fashion, and its supply chain, as the planet’s third largest polluter — around two-thirds of a garment’s carbon footprint comes from the production of synthetic fibers such as polyester and nylon. These non-renewable fibers are primarily derived from crude oil. In fact, roughly 342 million barrels of oil are used each year in the production of synthetic fibers.

AlgiKnit has spent the last four years developing new technology to produce yarns on a commercial scale to meet the growing demand for carbon-neutral, toxic-free textiles. The company’s new facility will house R&D, manufacturing, and business development teams under one roof and allow the company to scale quickly to help the global fashion industry decrease its carbon emissions.

AlgiKnit’s yarns are derived mostly from kelp, one of the most renewable and regenerative organisms on the planet, and they can be used across the fashion industry to create footwear, accessories, and garments. The yarns are built with function and accessibility to provide a scalable and sustainable alternative for designers, manufacturers and consumers looking for materials with a significantly lower environmental footprint than conventional textiles. “The yarn we’re producing today has the look and feel of the natural fibers consumers are familiar with,” said Aaron Nesser, co-founder and CTO of AlgiKnit.

In expanding beyond its headquarters in Brooklyn, New York, AlgiKnit executives saw the Research Triangle as an ideal new location. The area’s rich history of textile manufacturing and the proximity to numerous research and testing facilities will allow the company to accelerate and sustain its growth with access to high level expertise and cutting-edge technology in the area. 

“North Carolina’s Research Triangle area is becoming a hub for big tech and life sciences, and we look forward to collaborating with other companies focused on scientific innovation and disruption,” said Aleksandra Gosiewski, co-founder and COO of AlgiKnit.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • April 22, 2024: New England Kelp Harvest Week, a project started by the Sugar Kelp Collective in 2021, runs from April 20-30 this year. The group of kelp farmers and activists works with restaurants, bakeries, and fish markets to create special dishes and menus that use the sea vegetable, which grows in winter and is harvested in the spring. Across Connecticut, this provides an ideal opportunity for people to explore dishes and cocktails made with kelp. READ MORE...
  • April 19, 2024: Hospitalized COVID-19 patients who took spirulina had a lower risk of death than those who did not, according to results of a randomized controlled trial recently published in Frontiers in Immunology. READ MORE...
  • April 17, 2024: A research team exploring the untapped potential of seaweed farming for carbon sequestration is positioning Taiwan to play a role in offsetting global carbon emissions. READ MORE...
  • April 15, 2024: Somater, a French manufacturer of plastic and polymer primary packaging for cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, food, and industry, has partnered with French start-up Eranova to create a 100% bio-based line of packaging from green algae collected on the banks of a brackish water lagoon near Marseille, in the south of France. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide