海藻纱线制造商 AlgiKnit 规模化生产环保时装

  海洋农业 2022 欧盟
阿尔基针织纱

AlgiKnit 正在生产主要来自海带的纱线,用于整个时尚行业来制作鞋类、配饰和服装。

A针织衫主要来自海藻的环保纱线制造商宣布在北卡罗来纳州的研究三角地区开设其创新中心。 该公司将于 2022 年初在新空间开始与全球品牌的试点项目。

世界经济论坛 2021 年的一份报告将时尚及其供应链确定为地球第三大污染源——一件服装约三分之二的碳足迹来自聚酯和尼龙等合成纤维的生产。 这些不可再生的纤维主要来自原油。 事实上,每年约有 342 亿桶石油用于合成纤维的生产。

阿尔吉针织 在过去的四年里,我们开发了新技术,以商业规模生产纱线,以满足对碳中性、无毒纺织品日益增长的需求。 公司的新工厂将研发、制造和业务开发团队集中在一个屋檐下,使公司能够快速扩展以帮助全球时尚行业减少碳排放。

AlgiKnit 的纱线主要来自海带,海带是地球上最具可再生性和再生性的生物之一,可用于整个时尚行业来制作鞋类、配饰和服装。 这些纱线具有功能性和可访问性,为寻求环境足迹显着低于传统纺织品的材料的设计师、制造商和消费者提供可扩展和可持续的替代方案。 “我们今天生产的纱线具有消费者熟悉的天然纤维的外观和感觉,”AlgiKnit 的联合创始人兼首席技术官 Aaron Nesser 说。

在扩展其位于纽约布鲁克林的总部之外,AlgiKnit 高管将 Research Triangle 视为理想的新地点。 该地区丰富的纺织制造历史以及靠近众多研究和测试设施的位置,将使公司能够通过获得该地区的高水平专业知识和尖端技术来加速和维持其增长。 

AlgiKnit 联合创始人兼首席运营官 Aleksandra Gosiewski 表示:“北卡罗来纳州的研究三角区正在成为大型科技和生命科学的中心,我们期待与其他专注于科学创新和颠覆的公司合作。”

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

藻类妇女

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

Seaweed Yarn Maker AlgiKnit Scaling Production of Eco-Conscious Fashion

  Algae Europe December 2022
AlgiKnit yarn

AlgiKnit is creating yarns derived mostly from kelp, to be used across the fashion industry to create footwear, accessories, and garments.

AlgiKnit, maker of eco-conscious yarns derived mostly from seaweed, has announced the opening of its innovation hub in the Research Triangle area of North Carolina. The company will begin pilot projects with global brands from the new space in early 2022.

A 2021 report from the World Economic Forum identified fashion, and its supply chain, as the planet’s third largest polluter — around two-thirds of a garment’s carbon footprint comes from the production of synthetic fibers such as polyester and nylon. These non-renewable fibers are primarily derived from crude oil. In fact, roughly 342 million barrels of oil are used each year in the production of synthetic fibers.

AlgiKnit has spent the last four years developing new technology to produce yarns on a commercial scale to meet the growing demand for carbon-neutral, toxic-free textiles. The company’s new facility will house R&D, manufacturing, and business development teams under one roof and allow the company to scale quickly to help the global fashion industry decrease its carbon emissions.

AlgiKnit’s yarns are derived mostly from kelp, one of the most renewable and regenerative organisms on the planet, and they can be used across the fashion industry to create footwear, accessories, and garments. The yarns are built with function and accessibility to provide a scalable and sustainable alternative for designers, manufacturers and consumers looking for materials with a significantly lower environmental footprint than conventional textiles. “The yarn we’re producing today has the look and feel of the natural fibers consumers are familiar with,” said Aaron Nesser, co-founder and CTO of AlgiKnit.

In expanding beyond its headquarters in Brooklyn, New York, AlgiKnit executives saw the Research Triangle as an ideal new location. The area’s rich history of textile manufacturing and the proximity to numerous research and testing facilities will allow the company to accelerate and sustain its growth with access to high level expertise and cutting-edge technology in the area. 

“North Carolina’s Research Triangle area is becoming a hub for big tech and life sciences, and we look forward to collaborating with other companies focused on scientific innovation and disruption,” said Aleksandra Gosiewski, co-founder and COO of AlgiKnit.

We’re All Ears!

We’d love to hear how Algae Planet can be most valuable to you. Would you be kind enough to take this one-minute (we really mean it) survey to help us improve your reader experience? Not to worry, it’s for our eyes only and we will fiercely protect any information that you provide. Thank you, we really value your time and appreciate your thoughts!

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2022
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide