研究:海藻更喜欢天然地下水

  藻类欧洲 2022 年 XNUMX 月
地下水

夏威夷海岸可以有丰富的本地豪华轿车或大型藻类。 图片来源:比尔·托马斯

N原生海洋大型藻类,在夏威夷也被称为 limu(海藻),在天然地下水渗漏产生的环境中茁壮成长。 根据一个团队发表的评论,尽管盐度水平降低,但它们特别受益于增强营养的综合作用。 夏威夷大学马诺阿分校的研究人员. 相反,在渗出的地下水被废水中典型的过量氮污染的地区,研究发现入侵物种通常在夏威夷繁盛。

在那里研究的原生大型藻类在沿海岸线的地下水自然泄漏(也称为海底地下水排放)的情况下表现出更快的生长和光合作用速率。 但大量研究表明,海底地下水排放的成分和数量受人类影响很大。

“有多种方法可以改善这种情况并防止海底地下水排放进一步恶化,”该研究的主要作者、该研究的教授 Henrietta Dulai 说。 地球科学 在 UH Mānoa 海洋与地球科学与技术学院。

她说:“可以通过增加可渗透的城市表面和恢复原生森林来选择土地利用来改善补给。” “通过更好地管理水资源和水资源再利用,可以降低地下水抽取率。 此外,鉴于海平面即将上升,升级我们的废水基础设施应该是主要目标之一。”

人类扰乱的流域,特别是那些有城市发展和传统农业的流域,显示出一个共同的问题主题。 不仅在夏威夷,而且在整个太平洋岛屿,废水管理都是一项挑战,数以万计的污水池仍在运行。 尤其是那些沿海岸线的人容易遭受地下淹没——很容易将过量的氮和其他污染物输送到海岸线。

在这些地区的下游,海底地下水排放可能受到废水、农业肥料投入甚至常用药物和杀虫剂的污染。

为了调查欧胡岛东南部地区地下水输入与藻类物种之间的关系,研究小组使用了多种方法。 在实地,他们依靠海岸线的热红外图像和天然存在的化学示踪剂来评估地下水渗漏情况,并记录本地和入侵藻类物种的丰度。 在实验室中,他们测量了各种藻类对模拟海底地下水不同成分的条件的生长反应。

改进管理实践

他们的研究结果表明,健全的土地、水和废水管理政策和实践至关重要。

从海底地下水排放中去除陆源废水的努力可能会以短期和长期的方式使社区受益。 在短期内,这些现在受影响的沿海地区的浅礁可能会恢复到整体更健康的水质。 从长远来看,这些相同地区可能会重新生长原生藻类,而不是入侵藻类。

“最重要的是,如果我们想要维持原生大型藻类,我们需要保持海底地下水排放流量并控制相关的营养负荷,”研究合著者、植物学教授 Celia Smith 说。 UH Mānoa 生命科学学院, 和联合导演 海洋生物学研究生课程. “保持排放的地下水尽可能接近原始状态需要成为一个目标。 否则,我们就有可能为持续、多年的侵入性藻类优势奠定基础。”

对于未来的研究,该团队打算确定原生藻类和入侵藻类对地下水排放的全部反应——从原始到污染——为生物防治工作提供信息,以取代原生藻类,并深入了解海平面上升对这些植物的影响.

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022   海洋农业 2022 欧盟
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

Study: Seaweed Prefer Natural Groundwater

  Algae Europe December 2022
Groundwater

Hawaiian coasts can have abundant native limu, or macroalgae. Photo credit: Bill Thomas

Native marine macroalgae, also known as limu (seaweed) in Hawai’i, thrive in environments created by natural groundwater seeps. They specifically benefit from the combined effects of enhanced nutrients, despite lowered salinity levels, according to a review published by a team of University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa researchers. Conversely, in areas where the seeping groundwater is tainted by excess nitrogen typical of wastewater, the study found invasive species typically flourish in Hawaiʻi.

Native macroalgae studied there demonstrate faster growth and photosynthesis rates in regimes of natural leakage of groundwater along coastlines — also known as submarine groundwater discharge. But numerous studies have shown that the composition and amount of submarine groundwater discharge has been greatly affected by humans.

“There are multiple ways to improve the situation and prevent further deterioration of submarine groundwater discharge,” said Henrietta Dulai, lead author of the study and professor of Earth Sciences at the UH Mānoa School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology.

“Recharge can be improved by land-use choices through having more permeable urban surfaces and by restoring native forests,” she says. “Lower groundwater withdrawal rates can be achieved by better management of water resources and water re-use. Additionally, upgrades to our wastewater infrastructure — in light of impending sea-level rise — should be one of the primary goals.”

Human disturbed watersheds, particularly those with urban development and conventional agriculture, show a common theme of problems. Not just in Hawaiʻi but across the Pacific Islands, wastewater management can be a challenge, with tens of thousands of cesspools still in operation. Especially those along the shoreline are subject to subsurface inundation — readily delivering excess nitrogen and other contaminants to the coastline.

Downstream of these areas, submarine groundwater discharge can be polluted by wastewater, agricultural fertilizer inputs and even common-use pharmaceuticals and pesticides.

To investigate the relationship between groundwater input and algal species in an area off southeast Oʻahu, the research team used a variety of methods. In the field, they relied on thermal infrared imagery of the coastline and naturally occurring chemical tracers to assess groundwater seepage and document the abundance of native and invasive algal species. In the lab, they measured the growth response of various species of algae to conditions that simulated varying compositions of submarine groundwater.

Improving management practices

Their results point to the critical importance of sound land, water and wastewater management policies and practices.

Efforts to remove land-based sources of wastewater from submarine groundwater discharge are likely to benefit communities in short and long-term ways. In the short term, shallow reefs are likely to return to overall healthier water qualities in these now impacted coastal regions. In a longer term, regrowth of native, not invasive algae, in those same regions is likely.

“The bottom line is if we want to sustain native macroalgae, we need to preserve submarine groundwater discharge flow and keep associated nutrient loads in check,” said Celia Smith, study co-author, botany professor at UH Mānoa School of Life Sciences, and co-director of the Marine Biology Graduate Program. “Keeping the discharged groundwater as close to pristine as possible needs to be a goal. Otherwise, we risk setting the stage for persistent, multi-year invasive algal dominance.”

For future studies the team intends to determine the responses by native and invasive algae to the full range of groundwater discharge — pristine to tainted — to inform biocontrol efforts that outplant native algae, as well as gain insight into sea-level rise impacts on these plants.

We’re All Ears!

We’d love to hear how Algae Planet can be most valuable to you. Would you be kind enough to take this one-minute (we really mean it) survey to help us improve your reader experience? Not to worry, it’s for our eyes only and we will fiercely protect any information that you provide. Thank you, we really value your time and appreciate your thoughts!

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2022
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide