可持续海藻包装公司 Notpla 融资 10 万英镑

  海洋农业 2022 欧盟
诺普拉

仍在开发中的制造机器可生产 15-100 毫升的 Oohos 小袋,具体取决于应用。 一旦经过全面测试并扩大规模,Notpla 的商业模式将是租赁这台机器并向食品制造商、合作包装商和活动组织者出售材料盒,使他们能够生产和销售含有饮料或酱汁的 Oohos。

L位于伦敦的可持续包装初创公司 Notpla 宣布完成 10 万英镑的 A 轮融资。 该轮融资由 Horizo​​ns Ventures 领投,现有投资者 Astanor Ventures、Lupa Systems 和 Torch Capital 跟投。

Notpla 由伦敦帝国理工学院和皇家艺术学院校友 Rodrigo Garcia Gonzalez 和 Pierre-Yves Paslier 于 2014 年创立,其使命是通过使用海藻提供可持续的塑料替代品,使包装消失。 新一轮融资将使这家伦敦初创公司能够提高其制造能力,包括生产透明柔性薄膜和海藻纸。

Notpla(“非塑料”的合成词)正在开发替代一次性塑料的海藻产品,一次性塑料是全球环境污染的主要原因之一。 联合国环境规划署估计,有史以来产生的所有塑料垃圾中只有 9% 得到了回收利用,12% 已被焚烧,其余 79% 已堆积在垃圾填埋场、垃圾场和自然环境中的任何地方。 Notpla 的产品可在 4-6 周内轻松自然地生物降解,无需工业堆肥或特殊条件。

Notpla 最出名的是它的 可持续包装 解决方案“Ooho”——一种由海藻制成的可食用且完全可生物降解的包装。 迄今为止,Oohos 已在重大国际活动中更换了超过 500,000 件一次性塑料包装。

最近 Notpla 推出了第一款用于纸板包装的海藻涂层。 与普通盒子不同,Notpla 盒子是可生物降解和可回收的。 30,000 个盒子的成功试验导致 Notpla 盒子与 Just Eat Takeaway.com 一起在英国数百家餐厅商业推出。

最新一轮融资将有助于加速 Notpla 柔性、可生物降解薄膜的工业化,这是目前塑料袋中干燥产品的包装替代品。 应用包括卫生包装、清洁产品(如洗涤剂)或预分配食品(如意大利面、咖啡和饮料调味剂)。

这笔资金还将支持 Notpla 的海藻纤维纸的开发,该纸由公司工业过程的副产品制成。 这种海藻纸需要的木浆比传统纸少 30%,从而降低了对森林的压力,同时减少了海藻供应链中的浪费。 Notpla 正在与时尚和奢侈品牌合作,为盒子、信封或袖子等二次包装开发优质的可持续解决方案。

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

藻类妇女

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

Sustainable Seaweed Packaging Company Notpla Raises £10M

  Seagriculture 2022 EU
Notpla

A still-in-development manufacturing machine produces Oohos sachets in the range of 15-100ml, depending on the application. Once fully tested and scaled up, Notpla’s business model will be to lease this machine and sell cartridges of materials to food manufacturers, co-packers, and event organizers, enabling them to produce and sell Oohos containing drinks or sauces.

London-based sustainable packaging startup Notpla has announced the close of a £10 million Series A financing round. The round was led by Horizons Ventures, with participation from existing investors Astanor Ventures, Lupa Systems and Torch Capital.

Founded in 2014 by Imperial College London and Royal College of Art alumni, Rodrigo Garcia Gonzalez and Pierre-Yves Paslier, Notpla’s mission is to make packaging disappear by providing a sustainable alternative to plastic using seaweed. This new round of funding will enable the London startup to grow its manufacturing capacity including the production of a transparent flexible film and a seaweed paper.

Notpla (a portmanteau for “Not plastic”) is developing seaweed products that replace single-use plastic, one of the leading causes of environmental pollution across the globe. The UN Environment Programme estimates that only 9% of all plastic waste ever produced has been recycled, while 12% has been incinerated and the remaining 79% has accumulated in landfills, dumps, and everywhere in the natural environment. Notpla’s products easily biodegrade in nature in just 4-6 weeks without the need for industrial composting or special conditions.

Notpla is best known for its sustainable packaging solution “Ooho” — an edible and fully biodegradable packaging made of seaweed. To date, Oohos have replaced over 500,000 units of single-use plastic packaging at major international events.

Recently Notpla launched the first seaweed coating for cardboard packaging. Unlike regular boxes, the Notpla boxes are biodegradable and recyclable. Successful trials of 30,000 boxes led to the commercial launch of the Notpla box with Just Eat Takeaway.com to hundreds of UK restaurants.

This latest funding round will help accelerate the industrialization of Notpla’s flexible, biodegradable films — a packaging alternative for dry products that are currently in plastic sachets. Applications include packaging for hygiene, cleaning products such as detergents or pre-portioned foods such as pasta, coffee and drink flavorings.

The funds will also support the development of Notpla’s seaweed fibre paper made from the by-products of the company’s industrial processes. This seaweed paper requires 30% less wood pulp than conventional paper, lowering pressure on forests while reducing waste from the seaweed supply chain. Notpla is collaborating with fashion and luxury brands to develop premium sustainable solutions for secondary packaging such as boxes, envelopes or sleeves.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2022
Algametrics Ad

Women of Algae

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board

Archives

A Beginner’s Guide

Subscribe to Algae Planet

Join our subscriber list to receive the latest news and updates from Algae Planet.

You have Successfully Subscribed!