牛/甲烷/海藻关系的测试继续扩大

海藻网   藻类妇女
甲烷牛海藻

还有比芦笋更能喂养奶牛的吗?

消息…

TResearchAndMarkets 的数据显示,29.39 年全球商业海藻的市场规模预计将达到 2028 亿美元。 人们越来越意识到食用海藻的多种健康益处,包括高含量的纤维、维生素、矿物质和抗氧化剂,这是推动市场增长的主要因素。 此外,海藻作为动物饲料的添加剂,海藻提取物作为化妆品和某些食品中的胶凝剂和增稠剂,是推动全球商业海藻市场增长的其他关键因素。

美国和澳大利亚的科学家已经证明了一种海藻物种——芦笋——在添加到原料中时具有显着的甲烷减少特性。 现在科学家们正在爱尔兰西海岸寻找海藻来喂养牛羊,因为研究表明海藻可以阻止它们呼出如此多的气候变暖甲烷。 该项目由国家农业机构协调,正在利用该国不断增长的海藻收获行业,该行业正在寻找新的市场,因为它重振了数百年的传统。

路透社报道称,研究人员对大约 20 种海藻进行了测试,其中大部分来自爱尔兰被风吹过的大西洋沿岸,而该项目在挪威、加拿大、瑞典、德国和英国的合作伙伴还收集了数十种海藻。

但他们还没有设法扩大难以种植的物种的生产规模。 爱尔兰项目打算找到丰富的本地海藻来替代,尽管研究人员承认它们不太可能与所显示的超过 80% 的排放量减少相匹配。 芦笋.

“我们已经确定了一些非常积极的棕色海藻,它们正在产生结果,”SeaSolutions 项目的项目负责人 Maria Hayes 说,她的团队在早期试验中已经实现了 11% 到 20% 的甲烷减少。

与此同时,作为由贝尔法斯特女王大学学者领导的项目的一部分,英国和爱尔兰农场的牛将被喂食海藻,该项目涉及从爱尔兰和北海收获的野生海藻。

正如爱尔兰镜报报道的那样,澳大利亚和美国的研究表明,海藻饲料可以导致牛和羊释放的甲烷急剧减少 - 高达 80%。 红海藻 它生长在温暖的气候中。 女王全球粮食安全研究所 (IGFS) 的科学家表示,红海藻还含有高水平的 溴仿, 已知会破坏臭氧层。 原产于英国和爱尔兰的海藻呈棕色或绿色,不含溴仿。

IGFS 的学者表示,这种本土海藻还富含称为根皮单宁的活性化合物,存在于红酒和浆果中,具有抗菌和提高免疫力的作用。 他们说,这种饲料因此可以为动物带来额外的健康益处。

与英国莫里森超市及其英国牛肉农民网络合作的一个为期三年的项目将促进 农场试验. 这些试验还涉及位于北爱尔兰的农业食品和生物科学研究所 (AFBI)。

另一个项目是 IGFS,总部位于北爱尔兰的农业食品和生物科学研究所 (AFBI) 加入了一个由爱尔兰农业和食品发展局 An Teagasc 领导的 XNUMX 万欧元国际项目,以监测海藻在牧场饮食中的影响。以家畜为主。 在该项目中,将在涉及奶牛的农场试验中将海藻添加到基于草的青贮饲料中 北爱尔兰 从 2022 年初开始。


字节

AlgaEurope 2021 宣布 A4F 成为金牌赞助商
这家生物技术公司专注于工业规模藻类设施的开发和运营,将其实验单元的原型扩大到商业规模,并开发用于优化藻类生产的 SOP。
了解更多 


Zeefier 将创造由 Nienke Hoogvliet 开发的天然海藻染料
荷兰设计师 Nienke Hoogvliet 与企业家 Anne Boermans 合作推出了 Zeefier,该品牌将提供完全由海藻制成的天然纺织染料。
了解更多

增强现实游戏专注于有害藻华
“Algae Bloom Dynamics”使用 AR 创建了一个逼真的水生生态系统,用户可以在其中走动栖息地以帮助找到解决方案。
了解更多

藻类养殖在孟加拉国迅速流行
生产的藻类被用于生产各种物品,包括食品、药品、化妆品、肥料、生物燃料和其他环保产品。
了解更多

基于微藻的药物显示出治疗 Covid-19 细胞因子风暴的潜力
马来西亚登嘉楼大学的研究人员一直在研究某些微藻代谢物在冠状病毒 COVID-19 期间预防细胞因子风暴综合征的能力。
了解更多

 

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

广告
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

Testing Continues to Expand for Cow/Methane/Seaweed Relationship

algaeurope.org   Women of Algae
methane cow seaweed

Is there more out there than Asparagopsis to feed the cows?

News…

The global commercial seaweeds’ market size is expected to reach USD$29.39 Billion in 2028, according to ResearchAndMarkets. Rising awareness regarding the multiple health-benefits of consuming seaweeds including high content of fibers, vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants is a major factor expected to drive market growth. Additionally, seaweed as additives for animal feed, and seaweed-extracts as gelling and thickening agents in cosmetics and certain foods are other key factors boosting the growth of the global commercial seaweed market.

Scientists in the United States and Australia have already demonstrated dramatic methane-reducing qualities from one seaweed species — Asparagopsis — when added to feedstock. Now scientists are combing Ireland’s west coast for seaweed to feed to cattle and sheep after research showed it could stop them breathing out so much climate-warming methane. The project, coordinated by a state agriculture body, is tapping into the country’s growing seaweed harvesting industry, which is seeking new markets as it revives centuries-old traditions.

Reuters reports that around 20 species of seaweed, most from Ireland’s windswept Atlantic coast, have been tested by researchers while dozens more have been collected by the project’s partners in Norway, Canada, Sweden, Germany and the United Kingdom.

But they have not yet managed to scale up production of the difficult to grow species. The Irish project intends to find abundant native seaweeds to use instead, even though the researchers admit they are unlikely to match the reduction in emissions of over 80% shown with Asparagopsis.

“We have identified some brown seaweeds that are very positive and they’re producing results,” said Maria Hayes, Project Lead of the SeaSolutions project, whose team has achieved methane reductions of between 11% and 20% in early trials.

Meanwhile, cattle on British and Irish farms are to be fed seaweed as part of a project being led by academics from Queen’s University Belfast, involving wild seaweed harvested from the Irish and North seas.

As reported in the Irish Mirror, the research in Australia and the US indicating that seaweed feeds can lead to a dramatic reduction — up to 80% — in methane released by cows and sheep have used red seaweed that grows in warmer climates. Scientists at the Institute for Global Food Security (IGFS) at Queen’s said red seaweed also contains high levels of bromoform, known to be damaging to the ozone layer. Seaweed indigenous to the UK and Ireland tends to be brown or green and does not contain bromoform.

The IGFS academics said the homegrown seaweed also is rich in active compounds called phlorotannins, found in red wine and berries, which are anti-bacterial and improve immunity. They said the feed could therefore have additional health benefits for animals.

A three-year project in partnership with the UK supermarket Morrisons and its network of British beef farmers will facilitate farm trials. Those trials also involve the Northern Ireland-based Agrifood and Biosciences Institute (AFBI).

Another project sees IGFS, and the Northern Ireland-based Agrifood and Biosciences Institute (AFBI) join a two million Euro international project — led by Irish Agriculture and Food Development Agency, An Teagasc — to monitor the effects of seaweed in the diet of pasture-based livestock. In that project, seaweed will be added to grass-based silage on farm trials involving dairy cows in Northern Ireland from early 2022.


Bytes

AlgaEurope 2021 Announces A4F as Gold Sponsor
The biotech company is focusing on the development and operations of industrial scale algae facilities, scaling-up from prototypes in their Experimental Unit to commercial-scale, and developing SOPs for optimized algae production.
Read More 


Zeefier to Create Natural Seaweed Dyes Developed by Nienke Hoogvliet
Dutch designer Nienke Hoogvliet has teamed up with entrepreneur Anne Boermans to launch Zeefier, a brand that will offer natural textile dyes made entirely from seaweed.
Read More

Augmented Reality Game Focuses on Harmful Algae Blooms
“Algae Bloom Dynamics,” uses AR to create a photo-realistic, aquatic ecosystem where users walk around the habitat to help find solutions.
Read More

Algae Farming Quickly Becoming Popular in Bangladesh
The algae produced is being used in the production of a wide range of items, including food, medicines, cosmetics, fertilizers, biofuels, and other environmentally friendly products.
Read More

Microalgae-based Drugs Showing Potential to Treat Covid-19 Cytokine Storm
Researchers from University Malaysia Terengganu have been investigating the ability of some microalgae metabolites to prevent cytokine storm syndrome during coronavirus COVID-19.
Read More

 

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Advertisement
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board

Archives