藻类治疗慢性炎症的潜力

  藻类欧洲 2022 年 XNUMX 月
慢性炎症

Dorit Avni 博士,MIGAL 加利利研究所 Algae4IBD 协调员

I炎症性肠病或 IBD 是一组导致肠道慢性炎症的疾病,最常见的是 克罗恩病 和溃疡性结肠炎。 在这种疾病的所有形式中,其导致的肠道损伤都会损害器官功能并导致严重的疼痛、疲劳、抑郁,在某些情况下还会导致结肠癌。 这些症状影响了全球超过 6.8 万人的生活,据估计,到 8 年,这种疾病将影响 2025 万人。

目前尚无治愈方法,因此可用的疗法侧重于减轻炎症及其症状。 一些可用的治疗方法也会引起副作用。 基于类固醇的药物会导致睡眠问题和食欲增加。 并非每个患者都对治疗有反应,因此切除受影响的器官部分是控制 IBD 生活的唯一选择。

那么,如果像 IBD 这样的慢性疾病的治愈方法在于我们的海洋、河流或湖泊呢? 欧盟资助的 藻类4IBD 项目将有助于回答这个问题。

Algae4IBD 项目用于研究治疗和治疗方法

一些藻类化合物可能对我们的健康有益。 除其他外,小球藻的抗炎化合物使这些藻类成为食品补充剂的首选来源。 食用小球藻有助于减少慢性炎症。

科学家们预计更多的藻类物种也会对健康产生类似的影响。 Dorit Avni 博士,Algae4IBD 协调员,以色列 MIGAL 加利利研究所的免疫调节专家,是这些科学家之一。 “我认为我们才刚刚开始探索巨大的藻类世界,”她说。 “我们知道一些,但 藻类是一个尚未开发的巨大水库 有无限的机会发现新的化合物。 我们从藻类中发现了有趣的抗炎化合物,它们可能比目前的标准 (IBD) 治疗具有更高的治疗活性。”

Algae4IBD 联盟由学术和研究机构、医院以及在藻类培养和提取、食品开发和制药方面具有专业知识的公司组成。 它有 21 个合作伙伴,分布在 11 个国家/地区,来自以色列的 MIGAL 担任协调员。 参与该项目不同阶段的研究人员、公司和医院将利用藻类的生物多样性,无论是微观的还是宏观的,作为生物活性化合物的广泛来源,使用最先进的培养和提取技术来获得生物活性物质分子。

除了开发新的 IBD 药物外,Algae4IBD 项目的研究人员正在开发“基于藻类化合物的智能食品。 例如,富含这些缓解化合物的面包,”Avni 博士说。 “通过四年的联合力量,我们绝对可以提供研究基地,通过药物或功能性食品为我们带来新的治疗方法。”

该项目已获得欧盟 HORIZON 2020 研究计划的资助,资助协议编号为。 101000501

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

海洋农业亚太地区
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会
第五届藻类世界欧盟

初学者指南

The Potential of Algae to Treat Chronic Inflammation

  Algae Europe December 2022
Chronic Inflammation

Dr. Dorit Avni, coordinator of Algae4IBD, MIGAL Galilee Research Institute

Inflammatory bowel disease, or IBD, is a set of diseases which cause chronic inflammation in the bowel, the most common being Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. In all forms of this illness, its resulting bowel injury impairs organ functions and leads to severe pain, fatigue, depression and in some cases colon cancer. These symptoms impair the lives of more than 6.8 million people worldwide and, according to estimates, this illness is going to affect 8 million people by 2025.

Currently no cure exists, so available therapies focus on mitigating the inflammation and its symptoms. Some of the available treatments also cause side effects. Steroid-based medications lead to sleeping problems and increased appetite. Not every patient responds to treatment either, making removal of the affected organ parts their only option for a life with controlled IBD.

So, what if the cure for a chronic disease like IBD lies in our ocean, rivers, or lakes? The EU-funded Algae4IBD project will help to answer this question.

Algae4IBD project to research cures and treatments

Some algal compounds can be beneficial for our health. The anti-inflammatory compounds of Chlorella, among other things, make these algae a preferred source for food supplements. Consuming Chlorella could help reduce chronic inflammation.

Scientists expect more algae species to have similar health effects. Dr. Dorit Avni, Algae4IBD coordinator, an expert in immune modulation at the MIGAL Galilee Research Institute in Israel, is one of these scientists. “I think we just started to scratch the huge world of algae,” she says. “We know about some, but algae are a huge untapped reservoir with an infinite opportunity to find novel compounds. We found interesting anti-inflammatory compounds from algae that could have higher therapeutic activity than current standard (IBD) treatments.”

The Algae4IBD consortium is made up of academic and research institutes, hospitals, as well as companies with expertise in algae cultivation and extraction, food development and pharmaceuticals. It has 21 partners spread over 11 countries, with MIGAL from Israel as the coordinator. The researchers, companies and hospitals involved in the different stages of the project will use the biodiversity of algae, both micro and macro, as a wide source for bioactive compounds using state-of-the-art cultivation and extraction technologies for obtaining bio-active molecules.

Aside from developing new IBD medicines, the researchers from the Algae4IBD project are developing “smart food based on the compounds coming from algae. For example, bread that will be enriched with these relieving compounds,” said Dr. Avni. “With joint forces for four years, we definitely can provide the research base that will bring us either novel treatment through pharma or functional food.”

This project has received funding from the European Union’s HORIZON 2020 Research programme under the Grant Agreement no. 101000501

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

SeagricultureAPAC
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board
5th Algae World EU

A Beginner’s Guide