跟踪商业海藻市场的快速增长

  海洋农业 2022 欧盟
商业海藻市场

农民在印度尼西亚努沙佩尼达的海藻农场采集海藻。

A ReportLinker 关于商业海藻市场增长预测的新市场研究报告估计,到 9.7 年,复合年增长率 (CAGR) 为 2025%。本评估中不包括预计用于牲畜饲料以缓解甲烷的海藻的贡献。

研究的主要亮点

商业海藻市场主要由食用海藻的功能和健康特性驱动。 大多数商业生产的海藻用于食品工业,与水胶体、饲料和肥料等其他类别相比,占总市场份额的一半以上。

在全球范围内,海藻目前不仅作为主食、食品增味剂和营养食品的一部分,而且还因为它们的减肥特性而越来越受欢迎。 正因为如此,仅在英国,过去五年的海藻消费量就增加了 125%。

同时,由于对原材料的需求减少且价格下跌,COVID-19 疫情直接影响了海藻养殖者。 例如,在印度尼西亚,由于与中国的贸易中断,用于生产卡拉胶的主要出口棉海藻价格下降了近 50%。 然而,海藻对抗 Covid-19 的潜力已在包括世界卫生组织 (WHO) 在内的许多研究机构中得到认可。

主要市场趋势

农业是个人生计和全球整体经济稳定的关键部门。 由于全球人口不断增加,满足未来的粮食需求及其生产力要求非常重要。 这些要求可以通过一系列支持农业部门的创新和技术来实现; 其中之一是使用海藻提取物来提高产量。 液体海藻提取物很复杂,具有提高作物产量的新机制。

其他好处包括改善根结构、改善植物发育,如开花和叶片发育、坐果,以及增强耐受植物病害和气候压力(如寒冷或干旱)的能力。 它们还有助于改善土壤结构、土壤持水能力和改善土壤微生物学。

使用海藻作为食物在亚洲国家有着深厚的根基,包括中国、日本和大韩民国。 近年来,对海藻作为食物的需求已经蔓延到北美、南美和欧洲。 中国是迄今为止最大的海藻生产国,其次是韩国和日本。 然而,现在各大洲都在生产海藻。

美国、墨西哥和加拿大有望见证海藻市场的高速增长。 快速工业化,加上环保法规,预计将有利于这些地区商业海藻市场的增长。

竞争格局

全球商业海藻市场在本质上高度分散且竞争激烈。 Cargill Inc.、杜邦、Acadian Seaplants Limited、CP Kelco、Algea、Arctic Company、Fruit Hill Farm 和 Kelpak 是该市场所有主要参与者中最活跃的公司。 在战略行动中走在前列的公司是嘉吉公司和 CP Kelco。 大多数主要参与者都位于亚太地区、欧洲地区和北美的发达国家。 并在南美、东欧、中东、大洋洲等多个国家设立了子公司和分支机构。

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

藻类妇女

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

Tracking the Rapid Growth of Commercial Seaweed Market

 Seagriculture EU 2024
commercial seaweed market

Farmer collecting seaweed at seaweed farm in Nusa Penida, Indonesia.

A new market research report by ReportLinker on the growth projections of the commercial seaweed market estimates a compound annual growth rate (CAGR) of 9.7% through 2025. Not included in this assessment is the contribution anticipated from seaweed dedicated to livestock feed for methane mitigation.

Key highlights of the research

The commercial seaweed market is predominantly driven by the functional and health properties of edible seaweed. Most of the commercially produced seaweed is used in the food industry, which accounts for more than half of the total market share compared to other categories including hydrocolloids, feed, and fertilizers.

Globally, seaweeds are gaining popularity at present not only as part of the staple diet, food flavor enhancers, and nutritive food items but also for their weight loss properties. For this very reason, the consumption of seaweed has increased by 125% over the past five years in the United Kingdom alone.

Simultaneously, the COVID-19 epidemic has directly affected seaweed farmers as demand for raw materials has decreased and prices have fallen. For instance, in Indonesia, the price of mainly exported Cottonii seaweed, used for producing carrageenan has declined by almost 50% since trade with China has been disrupted. However, seaweed’s potential to fight Covid-19 is being recognized in many research studies carried out by many including the World Health Organization (WHO).

Key market trends

Agriculture is a critical sector for the livelihood of individuals and the stability of the overall global economy. Meeting the food needs and its productivity requirements in the future are of tremendous importance because of increasing global human population. These requirements can be achieved through a set of innovations and technologies that support the agriculture sector; one among them is using seaweed extract to boost production. Liquid seaweed extracts are complex and possess novel mechanisms for increasing crop productivity.

Other benefits include improved root structures, improved plant development like flowering and leaf development, fruit set, and the enhanced ability to tolerate plant disease and climatic stresses, such as cold or drought. They also help improve soil structure, soil water holding capacity, and improved soil microbiology.

The use of seaweed as food has strong roots in Asian countries, including China, Japan, and the Republic of Korea. The demand for seaweed as food has, in recent years, spread to North America, South America, and Europe. China is by far the largest seaweed producer, followed by the Republic of Korea and Japan. However, seaweeds are now being produced on all continents.

The United States, Mexico, and Canada are poised to witness a high growth rate in the seaweed market. Rapid industrialization, coupled with environment-friendly regulations, is anticipated to benefit the growth of the market for commercial seaweed in these regions.

Competitive Landscape

The global commercial seaweed market is highly fragmented and competitive in nature. Cargill Inc., DuPont, Acadian Seaplants Limited, CP Kelco, Algea, the Arctic Company, Fruit Hill Farm, and Kelpak are the most active companies among all major players in this market. The companies that have taken the lead in strategic movements are Cargill Inc. and CP Kelco. Most of the key players are based in the developed countries of Asia-Pacific, the European region, and North America. And their subsidiaries and branches are established in many countries in South America and Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and the Oceana region.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • May 17, 2024: BettaF!sh, a leading alt seafood and seaweed start-up in Europe, has announced its involvement in the FunSea project, a collaborative EU-wide research initiative designed to advance the nutritional quality and safety of cultivated brown and green seaweed. This research project intends to develop novel, sustainable food products over a three-year period, by employing cutting-edge processing technologies and utilizing residual biomass from biomarine industries. READ MORE...
  • May 15, 2024: The 2024 Algae Biomass Summit, to be held in Houston, Texas, October 20-22, 2024, is now accepting speaker and poster abstracts for the world’s largest algae conference. Abstracts should be submitted by May 24th to receive preferential scoring by the review committee, as well as student registration discounts. READ MORE...
  • May 13, 2024: The Tasmanian Government is investing $4 million in the agricultural sector with the goal to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from livestock by more than 16,000 tons. “The TasFarmers proposal will use Sea Forest’s Asparagopsis SeaFeed as a feed additive to some 24,000 head of livestock in this large-scale trial to demonstrate commercial-scale viability of Asparagopsis feed supplements,” said Minister for Parks and Environment, Nick Duigan. READ MORE...
  • May 10, 2024: Dallas-based public charity the Cares Organization has received a substantial donation from the National Christian Foundation and ZimWorx to kickstart their newest sponsored project, the Eat To Grow Development and Upliftment Program, which aims to address food insecurity and poverty in Zimbabwe by establishing a microalgae spirulina farm which will feed 500 people per day in a sustainable way. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide