利用藻类培育无骨鲈鱼鱼片

  海洋农业 2022 欧盟
鲈鱼片

3D 打印的可食用支架用于为养殖的鲈鱼鱼片提供结构。

A 葡萄牙的科学家团队计划使用藻类培养鲈鱼细胞的肉,创造出与传统生产的鲈鱼具有相同外观、味道和质地的真正鱼片。 养殖的鱼甚至会具有相同的健康益处——但没有骨头或对环境的负面影响。 而且它不含鱼中常见的汞和微塑料。 使用的藻类将含有抗氧化剂,通过提供额外的 omega-3 脂肪油来增加成品的营养价值。

Algae2Fish 是一个由里斯本大学生物工程和生物科学研究所副教授 Frederico Ferreira 领导的项目,资金来自可持续食品非政府组织 Good Food Institute (GFI)。 该项目团队打算使用包括 3D 打印在内的技术,使用从藻类和植物中提取的材料来制造可食用的支架。 这些将用于为由鱼细胞培养的产品提供结构——帮助重建复杂的纤维质地,同时也有助于味道。

鱼干细胞通过电刺激转化为肌肉和脂肪。 转化后的细胞用于创建不同的“生物墨水”,使用 3D 打印沿支架形成图案,重现鱼的风味以及鱼片特有的肌肉和脂肪交替条纹。

藻类将是完全可持续的; 它可以由现有供应商在当地种植。 费雷拉教授希望,如果该技术最终被食品制造商扩大使用,将创建新的供应链行业来提供这种原材料,以及制造和维护所需的专业设备。

欧洲进口的海鲜是其产量的三倍,预计未来十年全球对海鲜的需求将增长 5%。 将近一半 欧盟海洋栖息地已经过评估 主要由于污染、过度捕捞和水产养殖而濒临灭绝或接近受威胁。 细胞培养鱼可以帮助满足不断增长的需求,而不会进一步损害海洋生态系统。

“在葡萄牙语中,我们有句谚语——没有骨头的鱼是解决问题的方法,”费雷拉博士说。 “这项研究将创造出一种无骨鱼片,这对孩子们来说非常好吃,但我希望它也能帮助解决很多其他问题。 如果我们想让每个人都继续享受鱼,我们就不能继续对海洋生态系统造成如此大破坏的深海捕鱼。”

Algae2Fish 团队是来自四大洲的 21 个成功申请的团队之一 GFI 的竞争性研究资助计划,它资助对植物性食品、人造肉和发酵的创新开放获取研究。

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

藻类妇女

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

Using Algae to Cultivate Boneless Sea Bass Fillets

 
Sea Bass fillet

3D printed edible scaffold used to provide structure to cultivated sea bass fillet.

A team of scientists in Portugal plans to use algae to cultivate the meat from sea bass cells, creating a real fish fillet with the same look, taste and texture as conventionally produced sea bass. The cultivated fish would even have the same health benefits — but without the bones or the negative environmental impact. And it will be free from the mercury and microplastics that are often found in fish. The algae used will contain antioxidants, adding to the nutritional value of the finished product by providing additional omega-3 fatty oils.

Algae2Fish is a project being led by Associate Professor Frederico Ferreira from the University of Lisbon’s Institute for Bioengineering and Biosciences, with funding from sustainable food NGO the Good Food Institute (GFI). The project team intends to use techniques including 3D printing to create edible scaffolds using material extracted from algae and plants. These will be used to give structure to a product cultivated from fish cells — helping recreate the complex fibrous texture while also contributing to the taste.

Fish stem cells transform into muscle and fat with electrical stimulation. The transformed cells are used to create different ‘bioinks’, using 3D printing to form patterns along the scaffold, recreating the fish’s flavor as well as a fillet’s characteristic alternating stripes of muscle and fat.

The algae will be completely sustainable; it can be grown locally by existing suppliers. Professor Ferreira hopes that if the technique is eventually scaled up and used by food manufacturers, new supply chain industries will be created to provide this raw material, as well as manufacturing and maintaining the specialist equipment needed.

Europe imports three times more seafood than it produces, and global demand for seafood is expected to increase by 5% over the next decade. Nearly half of EU marine habitats have been assessed as either endangered or near threatened, mainly due to pollution, overfishing and aquaculture. Cell cultivated fish can help satisfy growing demand without further harming the ocean’s ecosystems.

“In Portuguese we have a saying — a fish without bones is a problem solved,” said Dr. Ferreira. “This research will create a boneless fillet, which will be very good for kids to eat, but I hope it will also help solve a lot of other problems. If we want everyone to carry on enjoying fish, we can’t continue the deep-sea fishing that causes so much damage to ocean ecosystems.”

The Algae2Fish team was one of 21 from across four continents to successfully apply for GFI’s Competitive Research Grant programme, which funds innovative open access research into plant-based foods, cultivated meat and fermentation.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Algae Biomass Summit 2023
Seagriculture EU 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

EABA AlgaeEurope23

Breaking-News

  • September 25, 2023: South Korean food ingredient company HN Novatech has announced that it has secured $4 million in a Series-A bridge round to commercialize its flagship ingredient ACOM-S, a seaweed-extracted heme for plant-based meat applications, such as burger patties, BBQ beef, and sausages. READ MORE...
  • September 21, 2023: Sea Forest, a Tasmanian-based company that grows seaweed to mitigate cow and sheep methane emissions, has been named a finalist in the prestigious global environmental award, the Earthshot Prize, set-up in 2020 by Prince William and world renowned wildlife filmmaker and environmentalist Sir David Attenborough. READ MORE...
  • September 18, 2023: Chitose Bio Evolution PTE. Ltd. has concluded a total of 21M USD in new share issuances through a third-party allotment with several large organizations. The funds raised will be allocated towards the expansion of the microalgae production facility and R&D of product applications to accelerate MATSURI, the project to build a microalgae-based industry to replace the petroleum industry. READ MORE...
Seaweed Industry Job Board

A Beginner’s Guide