Verwendung von Rauchgas und Abwasser zur Herstellung von Algen

  Seelandwirtschaft 2022 EU
Abwasser zur Herstellung von Algen

Luftbild einer Algenkultivierungsanlage von Global Algae Innovations.

von Lisa Sheppard

A drei Jahre, 2.5 Millionen US-Dollar Illinois Zentrum für nachhaltige Technologie (ISTC)-Projekt im Ingenieurmaßstab wird eines der ersten und größten sein, das Kohlendioxid aus einem Kohlekraftwerk mit Nährstoffen aus Kläranlagen kombiniert, um Algen für Tierfutter zu kultivieren. Das Projekt wird zeigen, dass die Produktion von Algen für tierische Massenprodukte kostengünstig sein kann und zusätzliche Vorteile für die Umwelt bietet.

Algen sind eine attraktive Alternative zur Aufnahme CO₂ von Kraftwerken, weil es weniger Land benötigt, so Lance Schideman, ISTC-Leiterin. Forscher werden Spirulina verwenden, da es bereits von der FDA für die Verwendung als Lebensmittelzutat zugelassen ist und einen hohen Proteingehalt hat, der höhere Preise erfordert.

Das Algenkultivierungssystem wird in die City Water, Light and Power Plant in Springfield, Illinois, integriert. Dr. Schideman arbeitet mit den Forschern der University of Illinois, Joshua McCann und Carl Parsons, zusammen, die die Tierfutterstudien durchführen werden. Globale Algen-Innovationen wird das Algenbiomasse-Produktionssystem bereitstellen. Das Projekt wird vom National Energy Technology Laboratory des US-Energieministeriums kofinanziert.

In der Vergangenheit haben Wissenschaftler des ISTC an Abwasseralgensystemen geforscht, die heute in 10 Kläranlagen zum Einsatz kommen. Die Wissenschaftler waren auch führend beim Recycling der Nebenprodukte der hydrothermalen Biokraftstoffproduktion, um die Produktivität der Algenbiomasse zu steigern. Global Algae Innovations ist ein führender Designer und Ausrüstungslieferant in der Algenindustrie, der kosteneffektive, groß angelegte Algenproduktionssysteme entwickelt und demonstriert hat.

Alle Teile zusammenfügen

„Wir fügen alle Teile auf koordinierte Weise zusammen und senken die Nettokosten des Algenanbaus unter Verwendung industrieller und kommunaler Nebenprodukte als Input, um die ökologische Nachhaltigkeit der Kohlenstoffabscheidung durch Algen zu verbessern“, sagte Dr. Schideman.
Dieser Ansatz reduziert die Umweltverschmutzung und ersetzt die kostspieligen CO₂- und Nährstoffeinträge, die in den meisten Algenkultivierungssystemen verwendet werden. In der aktuellen Gewerbetechnik kaufen Manager flüssiges CO₂ und verschiedene Handelsdünger für die Nährstoffversorgung.

„Die Verwendung von Abwasser spart Kosten im Produktionsprozess und hilft bei der Lösung von Problemen, die Kläranlagen bei dem Versuch haben, den Nährstoffeintrag in die Umwelt zu minimieren“, sagte Dr. Schideman. „In Illinois werden die Kläranlagen zunehmend auf den Prüfstand gestellt, und es wird erwartet, dass die Vorschriften, die jetzt freiwillig sind, innerhalb des nächsten Jahrzehnts strenger und möglicherweise verpflichtend werden.“

Letztendlich wird die Anlage Futtermittel speziell für Rinder und Hühner produzieren. Das Produkt ist trocken, was den Verderb reduziert, und hat im Vergleich zu einigen anderen Futtermitteln einen hohen Nährwert.

Die typische Preisspanne für die meisten Tierfutterzutaten liegt zwischen 150 und 350 US-Dollar pro Tonne, und bestimmte hochwertige Produkte können einen Marktwert von 1,000 bis 2,000 US-Dollar pro Tonne haben. Algen haben das Potenzial, Preise im Spitzenbereich zu erzielen, da einige Arten hoch nährstoffreiche Komponenten wie Antioxidantien und mehrfach ungesättigte Fettsäuren enthalten. Algenfuttermittel sind jedoch noch nicht auf dem Markt etabliert, und der Wert dieser Produkte muss durch Forschungsstudien wie diese nachgewiesen werden.

Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Erlaubnis erforderlich, Artikel in ihrer Gesamtheit nachzudrucken. Muss eine Copyright-Erklärung und Live-Hyperlinks enthalten. Kontakt david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet akzeptiert unaufgefordert eingesandte Manuskripte und übernimmt keine Verantwortung für die Gültigkeit von Ansprüchen in eingereichten Editorials.

Seewirtschaft USA 2022
Algametrics-Anzeige

Frauen der Algen

Abonnieren

Stellenbörse für die Algenindustrie

Produkte

Ein Leitfaden für Anfänger

Algae Planet abonnieren

Tragen Sie sich in unsere Abonnentenliste ein, um die neuesten Nachrichten und Updates von Algae Planet zu erhalten.

Sie haben erfolgreich abonniert!

Warning: Attempt to read property "post_content" on null in /home/customer/www/algaeplanet.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/Extra/includes/builder/feature/dynamic-assets/class-dynamic-assets.php on line 2078
Using Flue Gas and Wastewater to Make Algae - algaeplanet.com

Using Flue Gas and Wastewater to Make Algae

 Seagriculture EU 2024
Wastewater to Make Algae

Aerial image of an algae cultivation system from Global Algae Innovations.

by Lisa Sheppard

A three-year, $2.5 million Illinois Sustainable Technology Center (ISTC) engineering-scale project will be one of the first and largest to combine carbon dioxide from a coal-fired power plant with nutrients from wastewater treatment plants to cultivate algae for animal feeds. The project will demonstrate that producing algae for commodity animal products can be cost-effective and has added environmental benefits.

Algae is an attractive alternative for use in taking up CO₂ from power plants because it requires less land, according to ISTC principal investigator Lance Schideman. Researchers will use Spirulina because it is already FDA approved for use as a food ingredient and has a high protein content, which commands higher prices.

The algae cultivation system will be integrated with the City Water, Light and Power plant in Springfield, Illinois. Dr. Schideman is collaborating with University of Illinois researchers Joshua McCann and Carl Parsons, who will conduct the animal feed studies. Global Algae Innovations will provide the algae biomass production system. The project is co-funded by the U.S. Department of Energy National Energy Technology Laboratory.

In the past, ISTC scientists have researched wastewater algae systems that are now used at 10 wastewater treatment plants. The scientists have also been leaders in recycling the byproducts of hydrothermal biofuel production to enhance algal biomass productivity. Global Algae Innovations is a leading designer and equipment supplier in the algae industry that has developed and demonstrated cost-effective, large-scale algae production systems.

Putting all the pieces together

“We’re putting all the pieces together in a coordinated fashion and lowering the net costs of growing algae using industrial and municipal by-products as inputs to improve the economic environmental sustainability of algal carbon capture,” Dr. Schideman said.
This approach reduces pollution and replaces the costly CO₂ and nutrient inputs used in most algae cultivation systems. In the current commercial technology, managers buy liquid CO₂ and various commercial fertilizers for the nutrient supply.

“Using wastewater is a cost savings in the production process and it helps to solve problems that wastewater treatment plants are experiencing in trying to minimize nutrient discharges into the environment,” Dr. Schideman said. “In Illinois, the treatment plants are under increasing scrutiny, and regulations that are now voluntary are expected to become more stringent and potentially mandatory within the next decade.”

Ultimately, the system will produce feed especially for cattle and chickens. The product will be dry, which helps reduce spoilage, and will have a high nutritional value compared with some other feeds.

The typical price range for most bulk animal feed ingredients is $150–350 per ton, and certain high-value products can have a market value of $1,000–$2,000 per ton. Algae has the potential to command prices near the top of the range since some species contain highly nutritional components such as antioxidants and poly-unsaturated fatty acids. However, algal animal feeds are not yet established in the market, and the value of these products must be demonstrated through research studies like this one.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • February 19, 2024: Microalgae producer Phycom, based in Veenendaal, The Netherlands, has received a €1.75 million investment from ROM Utrecht Region, together with a private investor. This follows its recent Series A investment, bringing the total raised funding to more than €10.5 million in six months. READ MORE...
  • February 16, 2024: “We believe everyday materials should help to replenish the planet from sea to soil,” says Julia Marsh, co-founder of Sway, the California startup replacing plastic packaging with seaweed-based solutions, that recently secured a $5 million seed round. “The launch of our thermoplastic seaweed materials, along with an influx of new capital targeted at scaling production, signifies tangible progress toward a more circular future.” READ MORE...
  • February 12, 2024: German made equipment will be used this year to turn the sargassum that lands in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, into fuel. Lourdes Várguez, the Secretary of Sustainable Environment and Climate Change, says the equipment will be tested to take advantage of the municipality’s unwanted seaweed. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide