利用烟气和废水制造藻类

  海洋农业 2022 欧盟
制造藻类的废水

来自 Global Algae Innovations 的藻类培养系统的航拍图。

通过丽莎谢泼德

A 三年,2.5万美元 伊利诺伊州可持续技术中心 (ISTC) 工程规模的项目将是第一个也是最大的项目之一,将燃煤发电厂的二氧化碳与污水处理厂的营养物质结合起来,培养藻类作为动物饲料。 该项目将证明为商品动物产品生产藻类具有成本效益,并增加了环境效益。

藻类是一种有吸引力的替代品,可用于吸收 二氧化碳 据 ISTC 首席研究员 Lance Schideman 称,因为它需要更少的土地,所以不需要发电厂。 研究人员将使用螺旋藻,因为它已经被 FDA 批准用作食品成分,并且蛋白质含量高,价格更高。

藻类培养系统将与伊利诺伊州斯普林菲尔德的城市供水、照明和发电厂相结合。 Schideman 博士正在与伊利诺伊大学的研究人员 Joshua McCann 和 Carl Parsons 合作,他们将进行动物饲料研究。 全球藻类创新 将提供藻类生物质生产系统。 该项目由美国能源部国家能源技术实验室共同资助。

过去,ISTC 的科学家们研究了现在在 10 个废水处理厂中使用的废水藻类系统。 科学家们也是回收水热生物燃料生产副产品以提高藻类生物质生产力的领导者。 Global Algae Innovations 是藻类行业领先的设计者和设备供应商,开发并展示了具有成本效益的大规模藻类生产系统。

将所有零件放在一起

“我们正在以协调的方式将所有部分组合在一起,并降低使用工业和市政副产品作为投入来种植藻类的净成本,以提高藻类碳捕获的经济环境可持续性,”Schideman 博士说。
这种方法减少了污染,并取代了大多数藻类培养系统中使用的昂贵的二氧化碳和养分投入。 在当前的商业技术中,管理人员购买液态二氧化碳和各种商业肥料来供应养分。

“使用废水可以节省生产过程中的成本,它有助于解决废水处理厂在尽量减少向环境中排放养分时遇到的问题,”Schideman 博士说。 “在伊利诺伊州,处理厂受到越来越多的审查,现在自愿制定的法规预计将在未来十年内变得更加严格,并可能成为强制性规定。”

最终,该系统将生产专门用于牛和鸡的饲料。 该产品将是干燥的,这有助于减少腐败,并且与其他一些饲料相比具有较高的营养价值。

大多数散装动物饲料原料的典型价格范围为每吨 150 至 350 美元,某些高价值产品的市场价值可能为每吨 1,000 至 2,000 美元。 由于某些物种含有高营养成分,例如抗氧化剂和多不饱和脂肪酸,因此藻类有可能将价格控制在该范围的顶部附近。 然而,藻类动物饲料尚未在市场上确立,这些产品的价值必须通过像这样的研究来证明。

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

藻类妇女

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

初学者指南

订阅藻类星球

加入我们的订阅者列表,接收来自 Algae Planet 的最新消息和更新。

您已成功订阅!

Using Flue Gas and Wastewater to Make Algae

Seagriculture EU 2024
Wastewater to Make Algae

Aerial image of an algae cultivation system from Global Algae Innovations.

by Lisa Sheppard

A three-year, $2.5 million Illinois Sustainable Technology Center (ISTC) engineering-scale project will be one of the first and largest to combine carbon dioxide from a coal-fired power plant with nutrients from wastewater treatment plants to cultivate algae for animal feeds. The project will demonstrate that producing algae for commodity animal products can be cost-effective and has added environmental benefits.

Algae is an attractive alternative for use in taking up CO₂ from power plants because it requires less land, according to ISTC principal investigator Lance Schideman. Researchers will use Spirulina because it is already FDA approved for use as a food ingredient and has a high protein content, which commands higher prices.

The algae cultivation system will be integrated with the City Water, Light and Power plant in Springfield, Illinois. Dr. Schideman is collaborating with University of Illinois researchers Joshua McCann and Carl Parsons, who will conduct the animal feed studies. Global Algae Innovations will provide the algae biomass production system. The project is co-funded by the U.S. Department of Energy National Energy Technology Laboratory.

In the past, ISTC scientists have researched wastewater algae systems that are now used at 10 wastewater treatment plants. The scientists have also been leaders in recycling the byproducts of hydrothermal biofuel production to enhance algal biomass productivity. Global Algae Innovations is a leading designer and equipment supplier in the algae industry that has developed and demonstrated cost-effective, large-scale algae production systems.

Putting all the pieces together

“We’re putting all the pieces together in a coordinated fashion and lowering the net costs of growing algae using industrial and municipal by-products as inputs to improve the economic environmental sustainability of algal carbon capture,” Dr. Schideman said.
This approach reduces pollution and replaces the costly CO₂ and nutrient inputs used in most algae cultivation systems. In the current commercial technology, managers buy liquid CO₂ and various commercial fertilizers for the nutrient supply.

“Using wastewater is a cost savings in the production process and it helps to solve problems that wastewater treatment plants are experiencing in trying to minimize nutrient discharges into the environment,” Dr. Schideman said. “In Illinois, the treatment plants are under increasing scrutiny, and regulations that are now voluntary are expected to become more stringent and potentially mandatory within the next decade.”

Ultimately, the system will produce feed especially for cattle and chickens. The product will be dry, which helps reduce spoilage, and will have a high nutritional value compared with some other feeds.

The typical price range for most bulk animal feed ingredients is $150–350 per ton, and certain high-value products can have a market value of $1,000–$2,000 per ton. Algae has the potential to command prices near the top of the range since some species contain highly nutritional components such as antioxidants and poly-unsaturated fatty acids. However, algal animal feeds are not yet established in the market, and the value of these products must be demonstrated through research studies like this one.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics
Contact Phil Ganz

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • June 14, 2024: Engineers at the University of California San Diego have developed microscopic robots, known as microrobots, capable of swimming through the lungs to deliver cancer-fighting medication directly to metastatic tumors. This approach has shown promise in mice, where it inhibited the growth and spread of tumors that had metastasized to the lungs, thereby boosting survival rates compared to control treatments. READ MORE...
  • June 12, 2024: The PROTEUS consortium of 11 international partners, funded by the Circular Bio-Based Europe Joint Undertaking, intends to establish the first industrial-scale biorefinery for brown seaweeds. This facility will enhance sustainable production of bio-based ingredients from Laminaria hyperborea, an untapped European renewable resource, meeting global demand in food, feed, personal care, and industrial sectors. READ MORE...
  • June 10, 2024: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill researcher Hans W. Paerl, PhD, will join researchers at the University of Michigan for a $6.5 million, five-year federal grant to host a center for studying links between climate change, harmful algal blooms and human health. READ MORE...
  • June 7, 2024: Three freshwater microalgal species: Chlorella protothecoides, Micractinium sp., and Scenedesmus obliquus were cultured under a static magnetic field and its influence on the accumulation of biomolecules (lipids, proteins, carbohydrates) and biomass production have been evaluated. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide