Viridos et ExxonMobil misent sur le carburant aux algues

algaeurope.org   Femmes d'algues

Viridos concentre son expertise en génomique algale sur la décarbonation des transports lourds.

Viridos Inc., anciennement Synthetic Genomics, une société de biotechnologie privée, a signé un accord de développement conjoint avec ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company pour amener les biocarburants à faible intensité de carbone de Viridos à des niveaux commerciaux.

« Nous sommes ravis d'annoncer qu'ExxonMobil poursuit cette collaboration avec nous », a déclaré le PDG de Viridos, le Dr Oliver Fetzer. Les récents progrès de productivité dans la technologie de Viridos sont une opportunité de transformer le CO2 en diesel renouvelable et en carburants d'aviation durables, fournissant un élément essentiel pour la décarbonisation de l'industrie du transport lourd.

Fondée en 2005 par des leaders de la biologie synthétique, Viridos s'est rapidement imposé comme une centrale de recherche avancée, synthétisant le premier génome bactérien et créant la première cellule synthétique. Au cours des dernières années, les microalgues modifiées par Viridos ont atteint une productivité de bio-huile supérieure à 5 fois en augmentant à la fois la teneur en huile des algues et le rendement en algues.

Le partenariat continu de Viridos avec ExxonMobil vise à développer la technologie et l'agronomie pour permettre le lancement commercial des biocarburants à base d'algues à faible intensité de carbone. En plus de leur utilisation pour faciliter des réductions significatives des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) dans le secteur des transports lourds, les biocarburants à base d'algues pourraient être utilisés pour l'aviation, le camionnage commercial et le transport maritime.

Partager la technologie

Les termes du partenariat renouvelé devraient permettre à d'autres parties intéressées d'accéder à la technologie et de la faire progresser, ce qui accélérerait le déploiement de la technologie. « Dans cette prochaine phase du programme, nous avons l'intention d'élargir la participation et d'inviter d'autres personnes à créer l'écosystème requis pour un déploiement à grande échelle », a déclaré le Dr Fetzer.

"ExxonMobil a soutenu Viridos dans le développement d'outils de bio-ingénierie, et nous attendons avec impatience de nouvelles avancées dans la recherche qui montrent le potentiel d'aider la société à atténuer les risques du changement climatique », a déclaré Vijay Swarup, vice-président de la recherche et du développement chez ExxonMobil.

Tous les droits sont réservés. Autorisation requise pour réimprimer les articles dans leur intégralité. Doit inclure une déclaration de copyright et des hyperliens en direct. Contacter david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepte les manuscrits non sollicités pour examen et n'assume aucune responsabilité quant à la validité des affirmations formulées dans l'éditorial soumis.

Publicité
Annonce Algametrics

S’abonner

Site d'emploi de l'industrie des algues

Archives

Warning: Attempt to read property "post_content" on null in /home/customer/www/algaeplanet.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/Extra/includes/builder/feature/dynamic-assets/class-dynamic-assets.php on line 2078
Viridos and ExxonMobil Go All In on Algae Fuel - algaeplanet.com

Viridos and ExxonMobil Go All In on Algae Fuel

 Seagriculture EU 2024

Viridos is concentrating their algal genomics expertise on decarbonizing heavy transportation.

Viridos Inc., previously Synthetic Genomics, a privately held biotechnology company, has signed a joint development agreement with ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company to bring Viridos’ low-carbon intensity biofuels toward commercial levels.

“We’re excited to announce that ExxonMobil is continuing this collaboration with us,” said Viridos’ CEO, Dr. Oliver Fetzer. The recent productivity advances in Viridos’ technology are an opportunity to turn CO2 into renewable diesel and sustainable aviation fuels, providing an essential component for the decarbonization of the heavy-duty transportation industry.

Founded in 2005 by leaders in synthetic biology, Viridos quickly established itself as a powerhouse for advanced research, synthesizing the first bacterial genome and creating the first synthetic cell. In the past few years Viridos’ engineered microalgae have achieved greater than 5x bio-oil productivity by increasing both the oil content in the algae and the algae yield.

Viridos’ continued partnership with ExxonMobil seeks to build out the technology and agronomy to enable the commercial launch of the low-carbon intensity algae biofuels. In addition to their use in facilitating significant reductions in greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions in the heavy transportation sector, the algae biofuels could be used for aviation, commercial trucking, and maritime shipping.

Sharing the technology

The terms of the renewed partnership should enable other interested parties to access and advance the technology which would accelerate the deployment of the technology. “In this next phase of the program, we intend to broaden participation and invite others to build the ecosystem required for full-scale deployment,” said Dr. Fetzer.

ExxonMobil has supported Viridos in the development of bioengineering tools, and we look forward to further advancements in the research that shows potential to help society mitigate the risks of climate change,” said Vijay Swarup, vice president of Research and Development at ExxonMobil.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • February 19, 2024: Microalgae producer Phycom, based in Veenendaal, The Netherlands, has received a €1.75 million investment from ROM Utrecht Region, together with a private investor. This follows its recent Series A investment, bringing the total raised funding to more than €10.5 million in six months. READ MORE...
  • February 16, 2024: “We believe everyday materials should help to replenish the planet from sea to soil,” says Julia Marsh, co-founder of Sway, the California startup replacing plastic packaging with seaweed-based solutions, that recently secured a $5 million seed round. “The launch of our thermoplastic seaweed materials, along with an influx of new capital targeted at scaling production, signifies tangible progress toward a more circular future.” READ MORE...
  • February 12, 2024: German made equipment will be used this year to turn the sargassum that lands in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, into fuel. Lourdes Várguez, the Secretary of Sustainable Environment and Climate Change, says the equipment will be tested to take advantage of the municipality’s unwanted seaweed. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide