Viridos und ExxonMobil setzen auf Algentreibstoff

algaeurope.org   Frauen der Algen

Viridos konzentriert seine Expertise in der Algengenomik auf die Dekarbonisierung von Schwertransporten.

Viridos Inc., ehemals Synthetic Genomics, ein Biotechnologieunternehmen in Privatbesitz, hat eine gemeinsame Entwicklungsvereinbarung mit der ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company unterzeichnet, um die Biokraftstoffe von Viridos mit geringer Kohlenstoffintensität auf ein kommerzielles Niveau zu bringen.

„Wir freuen uns, Ihnen mitteilen zu können, dass ExxonMobil diese Zusammenarbeit mit uns fortsetzt“, sagte Dr. Oliver Fetzer, CEO von Viridos. Die jüngsten Produktivitätsfortschritte in der Technologie von Viridos bieten die Möglichkeit, CO2 in erneuerbaren Diesel und nachhaltige Flugkraftstoffe umzuwandeln, was eine wesentliche Komponente für die Dekarbonisierung der Schwertransportindustrie darstellt.

Gegründet im Jahr 2005 von führenden Unternehmen der synthetischen Biologie, Viridos etablierte sich schnell als Kraftpaket für fortschrittliche Forschung, synthetisierte das erste Bakteriengenom und schuf die erste synthetische Zelle. In den letzten Jahren haben die von Viridos entwickelten Mikroalgen eine mehr als 5-fache Bioölproduktivität erreicht, indem sowohl der Ölgehalt in den Algen als auch der Algenertrag erhöht wurden.

Die fortgesetzte Partnerschaft von Viridos mit ExxonMobil zielt darauf ab, die Technologie und Agronomie auszubauen, um die kommerzielle Markteinführung der Algen-Biokraftstoffe mit geringer Kohlenstoffintensität zu ermöglichen. Neben ihrer Verwendung zur Ermöglichung einer signifikanten Reduzierung der Treibhausgasemissionen (THG) im Schwertransportsektor könnten die Algen-Biokraftstoffe für die Luftfahrt, den gewerblichen Lkw-Verkehr und die Seeschifffahrt verwendet werden.

Teilen der Technologie

Die Bedingungen der erneuerten Partnerschaft sollten es anderen interessierten Parteien ermöglichen, auf die Technologie zuzugreifen und sie voranzutreiben, was den Einsatz der Technologie beschleunigen würde. „In dieser nächsten Phase des Programms beabsichtigen wir, die Beteiligung zu erweitern und andere einzuladen, das für den vollständigen Einsatz erforderliche Ökosystem aufzubauen“, sagte Dr. Fetzer.

"ExxonMobil hat Viridos bei der Entwicklung biotechnischer Werkzeuge unterstützt, und wir freuen uns auf weitere Fortschritte in der Forschung, die das Potenzial zeigen, die Gesellschaft dabei zu unterstützen, die Risiken des Klimawandels zu mindern“, sagte Vijay Swarup, Vizepräsident für Forschung und Entwicklung bei ExxonMobil.

Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Erlaubnis erforderlich, Artikel in ihrer Gesamtheit nachzudrucken. Muss eine Copyright-Erklärung und Live-Hyperlinks enthalten. Kontakt david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet akzeptiert unaufgefordert eingesandte Manuskripte und übernimmt keine Verantwortung für die Gültigkeit von Ansprüchen in eingereichten Editorials.

Werbung
Algametrics-Anzeige

Abonnieren

Stellenbörse für die Algenindustrie

Produkte

Warning: Attempt to read property "post_content" on null in /home/customer/www/algaeplanet.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/Extra/includes/builder/feature/dynamic-assets/class-dynamic-assets.php on line 2078
Viridos and ExxonMobil Go All In on Algae Fuel - algaeplanet.com

Viridos and ExxonMobil Go All In on Algae Fuel

 Seagriculture EU 2024

Viridos is concentrating their algal genomics expertise on decarbonizing heavy transportation.

Viridos Inc., previously Synthetic Genomics, a privately held biotechnology company, has signed a joint development agreement with ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company to bring Viridos’ low-carbon intensity biofuels toward commercial levels.

“We’re excited to announce that ExxonMobil is continuing this collaboration with us,” said Viridos’ CEO, Dr. Oliver Fetzer. The recent productivity advances in Viridos’ technology are an opportunity to turn CO2 into renewable diesel and sustainable aviation fuels, providing an essential component for the decarbonization of the heavy-duty transportation industry.

Founded in 2005 by leaders in synthetic biology, Viridos quickly established itself as a powerhouse for advanced research, synthesizing the first bacterial genome and creating the first synthetic cell. In the past few years Viridos’ engineered microalgae have achieved greater than 5x bio-oil productivity by increasing both the oil content in the algae and the algae yield.

Viridos’ continued partnership with ExxonMobil seeks to build out the technology and agronomy to enable the commercial launch of the low-carbon intensity algae biofuels. In addition to their use in facilitating significant reductions in greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions in the heavy transportation sector, the algae biofuels could be used for aviation, commercial trucking, and maritime shipping.

Sharing the technology

The terms of the renewed partnership should enable other interested parties to access and advance the technology which would accelerate the deployment of the technology. “In this next phase of the program, we intend to broaden participation and invite others to build the ecosystem required for full-scale deployment,” said Dr. Fetzer.

ExxonMobil has supported Viridos in the development of bioengineering tools, and we look forward to further advancements in the research that shows potential to help society mitigate the risks of climate change,” said Vijay Swarup, vice president of Research and Development at ExxonMobil.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • February 19, 2024: Microalgae producer Phycom, based in Veenendaal, The Netherlands, has received a €1.75 million investment from ROM Utrecht Region, together with a private investor. This follows its recent Series A investment, bringing the total raised funding to more than €10.5 million in six months. READ MORE...
  • February 16, 2024: “We believe everyday materials should help to replenish the planet from sea to soil,” says Julia Marsh, co-founder of Sway, the California startup replacing plastic packaging with seaweed-based solutions, that recently secured a $5 million seed round. “The launch of our thermoplastic seaweed materials, along with an influx of new capital targeted at scaling production, signifies tangible progress toward a more circular future.” READ MORE...
  • February 12, 2024: German made equipment will be used this year to turn the sargassum that lands in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, into fuel. Lourdes Várguez, the Secretary of Sustainable Environment and Climate Change, says the equipment will be tested to take advantage of the municipality’s unwanted seaweed. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide