印度妇女拥抱“生态奇迹”海藻养殖

海藻网     海洋农业 2022 欧盟
海藻养殖的女人

一名妇女在印度泰米尔纳德邦拉梅斯瓦拉姆海岸附近的水域采集海藻。 照片:法新社提供

Abhaya Srivastava 为法新社报道说,虽然印度是世界第三大碳污染国,仅次于中国和美国,但它尚未确定排放量达到净零的目标日期。 尽管如此,当局正在研究海藻养殖如何提供帮助。 有助于减少温室气体排放的影响,逆转海洋酸化,改善海洋环境。 还帮助为边缘化的沿海社区提供可持续的生计。

政府海洋科学家 M. Ganesan 说,海藻提供了一条可能的前进道路,因为沿海栖息地和湿地吸收的碳是陆地森林的五倍。 “它在很多方面都是一种奇迹作物,它是环保的,不使用土地或淡水。 它在光合作用过程中吸收溶解在水中的二氧化碳,并为整个海洋生态系统提供氧气,”他说。

印度拥有 8,000 公里的海岸线,现在计划到 30,000 年将产量从目前的每年 2025 吨提高到超过 XNUMX 万吨。

造福环境和农民

Lakshmi Murgesan 是一个女性团队的一员,她们一起在竹筏上培育海藻叶,然后收获和干燥它们。 然后,该产品通过在印度推广藻类种植的私营公司 AquAgri 销往全国市场以及美国和澳大利亚。

“海藻作为作物生物刺激剂的主要用途是提高生产力并使作物更能抵御气候引起的压力。 它也被用作肉类和食品加工的重要成分,”AquAgri 董事总经理 Abhiram Seth 告诉法新社。

Seth 先生强调,像 Murgesan 女士一样,这有可能使环境和农民都受益。 “海藻可以净化水。 与此同时,海藻种植者无需搬到城市地区寻找工作,就能获得可持续的收入。”

然而,科学家警告说,农业也有不利之处。 “过度捕捞海藻有其缺点,因为它成为海胆和珊瑚鱼等许多珊瑚礁生物的食物,”达克申基金会的海洋生物学家 Naveen Namboothri 说。 “而过多的提取会扰乱珊瑚礁。”

意识到这些风险,Murgesan 女士和其他农民每月只工作 12 天,并且不在主要的鱼类繁殖季节,即 XNUMX 月和 XNUMX 月之间进行收获。 “我们只根据需要生长,而且不会伤害或杀死鱼,”她说。

“我正在为我的孩子们做这件事。 这需要大量的辛勤工作,但我能够从大约四个月的工作中获得丰厚的利润,”她说,并提到她每月通过养殖大型藻类赚取 20,000 卢比(265 美元)。

“我们面临很多危险,但这项工作给了我和我的家人一些尊严,”她说,并补充道:“我们的生活水平提高了,现在我们村里的其他人也想成为海藻养殖者。”

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

美国海洋农业 2022
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

Women in India Embracing “Eco-miracle” Seaweed Farming

 Seagriculture EU 2024
Seaweed Farming woman

A woman collects seaweed in the waters off the coast of Rameswaram, in India’s Tamil Nadu state. Photo: courtesy AFP

Abhaya Srivastava reports for Agence France-Presse that while India is the world’s third largest carbon polluter, behind China and the United States, it has yet to set a target date for its emissions to reach net zero. Nonetheless, authorities are looking into how seaweed farming can help. Help to reduce the impact of greenhouse gas emissions, reverse ocean acidification and improve the marine environment. Help also in providing a sustainable livelihood for marginalized coastal communities.

M. Ganesan, a government marine scientist, said seaweed provides a possible way forward as coastal habitats and wetlands absorb five times more carbon than terrestrial forests. “It is a miracle crop in many ways, it is eco-friendly, it doesn’t use land or fresh water. It absorbs carbon dioxide dissolved in water during photosynthesis and oxygenates the entire marine ecosystem,” he said.

India, which has an 8,000-kilometre coastline, is now planning to boost production from the current 30,000 tons to more than one million tons each year by 2025.

Benefit Both the Environment and Farmers

Lakshmi Murgesan is part of a team of women who work together to cultivate fronds of seaweed on bamboo rafts, before harvesting and drying them. The product is then sent to markets nationwide as well as to the US and Australia through AquAgri, a private company that promotes algal cultivation in India.

“Seaweed has a major use as a crop bio-stimulant for increasing productivity and making the crop more resilient to climate induced stresses. It’s also used as an important ingredient in meat and food processing,” Abhiram Seth, managing director of AquAgri, told AFP.

Mr. Seth stresses there is potential to benefit both the environment and farmers like Ms. Murgesan. ”Seaweeds clean up the water. At the same time seaweed cultivators get a sustainable income without having to relocate to urban areas to find work.”

However, scientists warn that there are downsides to farming. “Overharvesting seaweed has its drawbacks because it forms the food for many reef dwelling creatures like sea urchins and reef fish,” said marine biologist Naveen Namboothri, from Dakshin Foundation. “And too much extraction can disturb the reef.”

Conscious of these risks, Ms. Murgesan and the other farmers work for only 12 days a month and don’t harvest during the main fish breeding season, between April and June. “We only grow as much as we need and in a way that doesn’t harm or kill the fish,” she said.

“I am doing this for my children. It requires a lot of hard work, but I am able to earn good profits from about four months of work,” she said, mentioning that she makes 20,000 rupees (US$265) each month farming the macroalgae.

“We face a lot of hazards, but this work has given me and my family some dignity,” she said, adding: “Our living standards have improved and now others in my village also want to become seaweed farmers.”

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • April 22, 2024: New England Kelp Harvest Week, a project started by the Sugar Kelp Collective in 2021, runs from April 20-30 this year. The group of kelp farmers and activists works with restaurants, bakeries, and fish markets to create special dishes and menus that use the sea vegetable, which grows in winter and is harvested in the spring. Across Connecticut, this provides an ideal opportunity for people to explore dishes and cocktails made with kelp. READ MORE...
  • April 19, 2024: Hospitalized COVID-19 patients who took spirulina had a lower risk of death than those who did not, according to results of a randomized controlled trial recently published in Frontiers in Immunology. READ MORE...
  • April 17, 2024: A research team exploring the untapped potential of seaweed farming for carbon sequestration is positioning Taiwan to play a role in offsetting global carbon emissions. READ MORE...
  • April 15, 2024: Somater, a French manufacturer of plastic and polymer primary packaging for cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, food, and industry, has partnered with French start-up Eranova to create a 100% bio-based line of packaging from green algae collected on the banks of a brackish water lagoon near Marseille, in the south of France. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide