Frauen in Indien begrüßen „Öko-Wunder“ Algenanbau

algaeurope.org   Frauen der Algen
Algenzüchterin

Eine Frau sammelt Algen in den Gewässern vor der Küste von Rameswaram im indischen Bundesstaat Tamil Nadu. Foto: mit freundlicher Genehmigung von AFP

ABhaya Srivastava berichtet für Agence France-Presse, dass Indien zwar der drittgrößte COXNUMX-Verschmutzer der Welt ist, hinter China und den Vereinigten Staaten, aber noch kein Zieldatum für seine Emissionen festgelegt hat, um Netto-Null zu erreichen. Dennoch prüfen die Behörden, wie die Algenzucht helfen kann. Helfen Sie mit, die Auswirkungen von Treibhausgasemissionen zu reduzieren, die Ozeanversauerung umzukehren und die Meeresumwelt zu verbessern. Helfen Sie auch dabei, marginalisierten Küstengemeinden einen nachhaltigen Lebensunterhalt zu sichern.

M. Ganesan, ein Meereswissenschaftler der Regierung, sagte, dass Algen einen möglichen Weg nach vorne bieten, da Küstenlebensräume und Feuchtgebiete fünfmal mehr Kohlenstoff absorbieren als terrestrische Wälder. „Sie ist in vielerlei Hinsicht eine Wunderpflanze, sie ist umweltfreundlich, sie verbraucht weder Land noch Süßwasser. Es absorbiert während der Photosynthese im Wasser gelöstes Kohlendioxid und versorgt das gesamte Meeresökosystem mit Sauerstoff“, sagte er.

Indien, das über eine 8,000 Kilometer lange Küstenlinie verfügt, plant nun, die Produktion bis 30,000 von derzeit 2025 Tonnen auf über eine Million Tonnen pro Jahr zu steigern.

Nutzen Sie sowohl die Umwelt als auch die Landwirte

Lakshmi Murgesan ist Teil eines Frauenteams, das zusammen daran arbeitet, auf Bambusflößen Algenwedel zu kultivieren, bevor sie geerntet und getrocknet werden. Das Produkt wird dann über AquAgri, ein privates Unternehmen, das den Algenanbau in Indien fördert, landesweit sowie in die USA und nach Australien geliefert.

„Algen werden hauptsächlich als Biostimulans für Pflanzen verwendet, um die Produktivität zu steigern und die Pflanzen widerstandsfähiger gegen klimabedingte Belastungen zu machen. Es wird auch als wichtiger Bestandteil in der Fleisch- und Lebensmittelverarbeitung verwendet“, sagte Abhiram Seth, Geschäftsführer von AquAgri, gegenüber AFP.

Herr Seth betont, dass sowohl die Umwelt als auch Landwirte wie Frau Murgesan davon profitieren können. „Algen reinigen das Wasser. Gleichzeitig erhalten Algenzüchter ein nachhaltiges Einkommen, ohne dass sie zur Arbeit in die Städte umziehen müssen.“

Wissenschaftler warnen jedoch davor, dass die Landwirtschaft auch Nachteile hat. „Algen zu viel zu ernten hat seine Nachteile, weil sie die Nahrung für viele Riffbewohner wie Seeigel und Rifffische bilden“, sagte die Meeresbiologin Naveen Namboothri von der Dakshin Foundation. „Und zu viel Extraktion kann das Riff stören.“

Im Bewusstsein dieser Risiken arbeiten Frau Murgesan und die anderen Bauern nur 12 Tage im Monat und ernten nicht während der Hauptfischbrutzeit zwischen April und Juni. „Wir bauen nur so viel an, wie wir brauchen, und zwar auf eine Weise, die den Fischen weder schadet noch sie tötet“, sagte sie.

„Ich tue das für meine Kinder. Es erfordert viel harte Arbeit, aber ich kann mit etwa vier Monaten Arbeit gute Gewinne erzielen“, sagte sie und erwähnte, dass sie jeden Monat 20,000 Rupien (265 US-Dollar) verdient, wenn sie die Makroalgen züchtet.

„Wir sind vielen Gefahren ausgesetzt, aber diese Arbeit hat mir und meiner Familie etwas Würde gegeben“, sagte sie und fügte hinzu: „Unser Lebensstandard hat sich verbessert und jetzt wollen auch andere in meinem Dorf Algenbauern werden.“

Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Erlaubnis erforderlich, Artikel in ihrer Gesamtheit nachzudrucken. Muss eine Copyright-Erklärung und Live-Hyperlinks enthalten. Kontakt david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet akzeptiert unaufgefordert eingesandte Manuskripte und übernimmt keine Verantwortung für die Gültigkeit von Ansprüchen in eingereichten Editorials.

Werbung
Algametrics-Anzeige

Abonnieren

Stellenbörse für die Algenindustrie

Produkte

Women in India Embracing “Eco-miracle” Seaweed Farming

 Seagriculture EU 2024
Seaweed Farming woman

A woman collects seaweed in the waters off the coast of Rameswaram, in India’s Tamil Nadu state. Photo: courtesy AFP

Abhaya Srivastava reports for Agence France-Presse that while India is the world’s third largest carbon polluter, behind China and the United States, it has yet to set a target date for its emissions to reach net zero. Nonetheless, authorities are looking into how seaweed farming can help. Help to reduce the impact of greenhouse gas emissions, reverse ocean acidification and improve the marine environment. Help also in providing a sustainable livelihood for marginalized coastal communities.

M. Ganesan, a government marine scientist, said seaweed provides a possible way forward as coastal habitats and wetlands absorb five times more carbon than terrestrial forests. “It is a miracle crop in many ways, it is eco-friendly, it doesn’t use land or fresh water. It absorbs carbon dioxide dissolved in water during photosynthesis and oxygenates the entire marine ecosystem,” he said.

India, which has an 8,000-kilometre coastline, is now planning to boost production from the current 30,000 tons to more than one million tons each year by 2025.

Benefit Both the Environment and Farmers

Lakshmi Murgesan is part of a team of women who work together to cultivate fronds of seaweed on bamboo rafts, before harvesting and drying them. The product is then sent to markets nationwide as well as to the US and Australia through AquAgri, a private company that promotes algal cultivation in India.

“Seaweed has a major use as a crop bio-stimulant for increasing productivity and making the crop more resilient to climate induced stresses. It’s also used as an important ingredient in meat and food processing,” Abhiram Seth, managing director of AquAgri, told AFP.

Mr. Seth stresses there is potential to benefit both the environment and farmers like Ms. Murgesan. ”Seaweeds clean up the water. At the same time seaweed cultivators get a sustainable income without having to relocate to urban areas to find work.”

However, scientists warn that there are downsides to farming. “Overharvesting seaweed has its drawbacks because it forms the food for many reef dwelling creatures like sea urchins and reef fish,” said marine biologist Naveen Namboothri, from Dakshin Foundation. “And too much extraction can disturb the reef.”

Conscious of these risks, Ms. Murgesan and the other farmers work for only 12 days a month and don’t harvest during the main fish breeding season, between April and June. “We only grow as much as we need and in a way that doesn’t harm or kill the fish,” she said.

“I am doing this for my children. It requires a lot of hard work, but I am able to earn good profits from about four months of work,” she said, mentioning that she makes 20,000 rupees (US$265) each month farming the macroalgae.

“We face a lot of hazards, but this work has given me and my family some dignity,” she said, adding: “Our living standards have improved and now others in my village also want to become seaweed farmers.”

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Seagriculture USA 2024
AlgaeMetrics

Subscribe

Breaking-News

  • April 22, 2024: New England Kelp Harvest Week, a project started by the Sugar Kelp Collective in 2021, runs from April 20-30 this year. The group of kelp farmers and activists works with restaurants, bakeries, and fish markets to create special dishes and menus that use the sea vegetable, which grows in winter and is harvested in the spring. Across Connecticut, this provides an ideal opportunity for people to explore dishes and cocktails made with kelp. READ MORE...
  • April 19, 2024: Hospitalized COVID-19 patients who took spirulina had a lower risk of death than those who did not, according to results of a randomized controlled trial recently published in Frontiers in Immunology. READ MORE...
  • April 17, 2024: A research team exploring the untapped potential of seaweed farming for carbon sequestration is positioning Taiwan to play a role in offsetting global carbon emissions. READ MORE...
  • April 15, 2024: Somater, a French manufacturer of plastic and polymer primary packaging for cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, food, and industry, has partnered with French start-up Eranova to create a 100% bio-based line of packaging from green algae collected on the banks of a brackish water lagoon near Marseille, in the south of France. READ MORE...

Algae Europe 2024

A Beginner’s Guide