藻类女性,Symbrosia 的 Alexia Akbay 访谈

海藻网   藻类妇女

I在本期《海藻女性》中,Felicity Broennan 与 Symbrosia 创始人兼首席执行官 Alexia Akbay 进行了交谈。 Akbay 女士长期以来一直对人类和环境健康充满热情,她讨论了她如何对藻类产生兴趣,将其作为解决世界当前许多危机的有力解决方案,特别是对 Asparagopsis Taxiformis 的兴趣,因为它具有减少牲畜甲烷排放的能力。 从阅读科学论文的个人兴趣开始,这导致她撰写了一笔小额赠款以确定可行性,现在她一直在经营一家公司,为 Asparagopsis Taxiformis 建立和种植可行的种子库存,并扩大作物规模,以在饲料添加剂行业。

牲畜排放的甲烷占全球温室气体排放量的 8-10%。 在饲料中添加 1 公斤藻类可减少 90% 以上的排放。 她希望生产这种饲料添加剂能够对全球气候产生重大的积极影响,尤其是在 IPCC 最近关于气候危机的报告之后。

她谈到的一些挑战是从实验室转移到开放池塘并扩大产品规模。 农业行业和麦当劳等公司正在寻求减少其生命周期温室气体排放的方法,因此,使用该产品是有益且受欢迎的。

Symbrosia 还提供甲烷抵消作为其商业模式的一部分。

版权所有。 全文转载文章需要获得许可。 必须包括版权声明和实时超链接。 接触 david@algaeplanet.com。 Algae Planet 接受未经请求的手稿以供考虑,并且对提交的社论中提出的主张的有效性不承担任何责任。

广告
算法广告

订阅

海藻行业工作委员会

档案库

Women of Algae, Interview with Symbrosia’s Alexia Akbay

algaeurope.org   Women of Algae

I​n this installment of Women of Algae, Felicity Broennan speaks to Symbrosia founder and CEO Alexia Akbay. With a long-time passion for human and environmental health, Ms. Akbay discusses how she became interested in algae as a powerful solution to many of the world’s current crises and specifically in Asparagopsis Taxiformis for its capacity to reduce methane emissions from livestock. Starting from a personal interest in reading scientific papers, that led to the writing of a small grant to determine feasibility, she has now been running a company to establish and grow a viable seed stock for Asparagopsis Taxiformis and to scale the crop for higher impact in the feed supplement industry.

Livestock accounts for 8-10% of global greenhouse gas emissions by emitting methane. The addition of 1 kilogram of algae to their feed reduces over 90% of their emissions. She’s hopeful that producing this feed additive can have a major positive impact on the global climate, especially in the wake of the recent IPCC report on the climate crisis.

Some of the challenges she speaks of are moving from the lab to open ponds and scaling the product. The agricultural industry and companies such as McDonalds are seeking ways to reduce their life cycle greenhouse gas emissions, and thus, the use of this product is helpful and welcome.

Symbrosia also offers methane offsets as a part of their business model.

All rights reserved. Permission required to reprint articles in their entirety. Must include copyright statement and live hyperlinks. Contact david@algaeplanet.com. Algae Planet accepts unsolicited manuscripts for consideration, and takes no responsibility for the validity of claims made in submitted editorial.

Advertisement
Algametrics Ad

Subscribe

Seaweed Industry Job Board

Archives